Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Treatments or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz

Vegetable Based Grandpa's Thylox Acne Treatment Soap with Sulfur. Grandpa's Thylox Acne Treatment Soap with Sulfur acts four ways to improve blemished skin:. Softens the hard shell of acne blemishes (keratolytic action). Helps dissolve and remove blackheads. Washes away excess oils which may cause blackheads. Freshens skin by its thorough cleansing action
Overall rating:
4.26 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 77 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
65 out of 77(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Review 1 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Voltaire
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
It works!
 June 29, 2014
"Mediocre results the first few months.
I have found the longer I use this soap the better my skin gets.
Been using this for years now and I am very happy with it.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeLanna
fromIndiana countryside
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Grandpa's Bar Soap w/ Thylox for Acne
 May 31, 2014
"The smell is not pretty on this bar soap however it does not linger at all. I have not been disappointed. The severity and frequency of breakouts has been significantly reduced over the past month of use. I started out only using once every other day, and now use it near daily. I have not experienced any excessive drying or irritation, and I have very sensitive skin. Blackheads have been significantly reduced! As always, Vitacost offers the best prices!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
myuch
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product
 May 26, 2014
"Leaves the skin very clean, I love the smell too."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carrie3
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
After only 3 weeks, my face look's amazing!
 May 11, 2014
"I've always gotten ugly pimples and blackheads on my face and I've used products like ProActive, but they dry my face so bad that it peels (no matter how much moisturizer I used). Grandpa's sulfur soap has cleared my skin without drying it and makes my face feel great! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
taurusgrl
fromaustin tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
very clea.
 February 24, 2014
"This soap has a very clean scent and leaves my skin feeling very clean and soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hawthrone
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Supporting a legacy
 February 22, 2014
"I had been using this soap for a long time and had noticed some improvements but the stresses of everyday life didn't help my acne and changed my diet no fast foods. After reviewing this product again, I read several articles online, I can't explain it but didn't show up when I did my research but the information was helpful and decided to use a different product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheeky7
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
teenagers will rave!
 February 19, 2014
"Sent this to both my teenage college girls away at college and both raved about this soap. Sure beats the high price of Clinque. My one daughter says it softens the hardness of acne bumps and reduces the redness as well. The name isn't fancy, or is the packaging, but works wonders! Ordering again!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LizLosAngeles
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
just great!
 November 23, 2013
"I only use this soap at night since it can be a little drying, but its great at cleaning out pores and keeps your skin nice and fresh!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
whitsett5
fromflorida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
does not work
 November 21, 2013
"I have combination skin with random times of blemishes. This soap dried out my skin and did not decrease any blemishes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoseMom
Where have you been all my life?
 October 23, 2013
"Adult life that is, I have not been able to find a cleanser for my face that would control my acne like this one. I use it with the Derma E TeaTree and E Antiseptic cream and it has pretty much cleared my acne. I will be stocking up on this product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromOrlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
My acne is almost gone
 October 9, 2013
"Cheap and super effective, I've battling with adult acne, and has definetely help, and for this really low price, I use with burts bees GardenTomato Toner."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
xRiley01x
AWESOME!
 October 1, 2013
"This stuff works like magic. Give it a week and you will see amazing results, as your acne clears up to get the smooth face we all want! THANKS VITACOST!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ginas
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for Acne
 July 14, 2013
"I love, love this soap. It is easy to use, makes my skin feel soft and is so reasonably priced. It has really helped my skin problem."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toni4000
fromTx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My daughter uses nothing else
 July 5, 2013
"Once I read that this soap could help with the acne on my teenage daughter's legs, I bought some, it works great, I buy several bars at a time, and she uses nothing else. Great product at a good price."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Soulsistah
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
HORRIBLE SMELL!! OVER-THE-TOP!
 June 27, 2013
"If you like the smell of *cheap* dime store perfume, then this is for you. If you want something that works better than Thylox, then I recommend Enzymatic Therapy DermaKlear Acne Treatment 3 oz bar soap. It has 5% sulfur and the ingredients are healthier. IT WORKS and the smell is natural with NO added fragrance."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
goolia1
fromTX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works as promised!
 June 7, 2013
"I cannot remember the last time I reviewed something. But this product deserves a positive review. Considering it only costs $3-$4 I thought it would be worth a try. Can't hurt, might help! And it definitely works to clear skin of blackheads. The smell is pretty bland which is good if you're using it on your face. I've been using it for three to four weeks and my skin has improved greatly. I haven't experienced any drying out or any other negative affects. Try it-you won't be disappointed! :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AllyOfExcuses
fromSt. Augustine, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great and affordable!
 June 2, 2013
"I'll just put it out there: I have terrible skin. Everyone in my family has always had pretty blotchy skin covered in blemishes, even as adults. Trust me when I say I've tried just about everything out there from Proactiv to salicylic acid cleansers to vitamins and herbal supplements and even strange unheard of soaps from around the world.
I recently got into a kick of buying more natural products. I first bought Dr. Woods' Shea Vision Black Soap. I liked it immediately. I paired this soap with vitamin C and E creams as well as retinol (vitamin A) cream in lieu of normal moisturizers. My skin was actually clearer than it has been in a long time, but it wasn't until I used THIS product that I really noticed a big difference. I've only been using it a few weeks, but I really hope the effect lasts! My skin hasn't made a miraculous change, but it's very noticeable and I haven't felt so good about my skin in a long time.
To the point: This product is cheap and effective; It can't hurt your wallet to at least try! Not everything works for everyone, but there is little risk here."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
vickyveritas
Gender:Female
Did not help my acne
 April 11, 2013
"I did not notice any improvement in my acne, but at least it did not worsen my condition either. It does have a sulfur smell (which is the active ingredient) and does not bother me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
nosun
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
very good product
 March 31, 2013
"For damaged skin this is a good healing product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Thylox Acne Treatment with Sulfur -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
morningdew511
fromMemphis, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Acne control, Lightens blemishes
 March 22, 2013
"I saw a difference in the first couple of days of my teen-age daughter using it. We have tried a lot of products and I really saw a huge difference with this one. We added this to her daily cleansing, twice a day, and a toner afterwards and it got her acne under control. I use it also, just to try it out because I have skin problems also (minor breakouts and oily skin). It makes your skin look and feel clean. It even lightened up my daughter's blemishes! I will be purchasing it again."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next