Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz

Fortified with Awapuhi mango calendula and wheat protein for soft vibrantly rehydrated and manageable hair. Infuses dry brittle hair with intense hydration. Cleans without stripping moisture. Restores a healthy moisture balance in hair and scalp. Strengthens to protect ends without weighing hair down
Overall rating:
3.886 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
31 out of 44(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Review 1 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FauxBLasian
fromNew York NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Helped my very dry hair!
 July 10, 2013
"I discovered this shampoo via a blog I frequent for natural Black hair care. I had been trying to figure out why my hair always seemed so abnormally dry, even after applying moisturizing products when I read that it might be due to the Ph of my hair. This shampoo's first ingredient is aloe vera juice, a natural Ph balancer. This stuff is awesome! Before I even got out of the shower my hair felt moisturized and while I was styling it, it didn't dry out like my hair usually does. I love this shampoo and will keep purchasing it. I just ordered the conditioner and I look forward to using it as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chicken13
fromSouth Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for Curly Hair
 June 23, 2013
"I have curly hair and live in S. Florida, so dryness and frizz are major problems. I've tried many products, including "curly hair" specific, but this does a great job moisturizing and keeping the frizz at bay. I use with the related conditioner."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
veruschka
fromcalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
disappointed
 April 23, 2013
"i wanted to like this shampoo & conditioner since i'm trying to eliminate all palm oil derivatives out of our daily life, and the price of these is great. i personally really like the scent of these products, but i do not like my hair after using them. it's dull and feels weird and frizzy. as some other reviewer says, the conditioner feels like you can't even rinse it out properly. i'm aware that natural products lather less, but this product hardly lathers at all. i filled some in an empty bottle and mixed it with water to get some decent lather which works, but after the wash my hair was totally unmanagable. will keep on hunting."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4ourhealth
fromNorth Hills, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful product!
 March 12, 2013
"Love this fragrance, leaves a non-filmy feeling, and great price too! Totally recommend for someone who loves to feel clean after a shower.
It's actually a shampoo, however, I also use it as a shower gel and it's quite pleasant :)
Enjoy and be pleased with your purchase!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
snowmonkey
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells great
 January 29, 2013
"I have curly frizzy and dry hair.
This shampoo and the matching conditioner work and smell great. I love mango flavor and get it all the time. Whoever is stating that this item does not smell like mango needs to go cut open a ripe mango.
I definitely get a whiff of mango over any orange or other citrus flavor. Besides that the stuff works great at cleaning my hair and making it super soft. The reason I gave it a 4 star is that the shampoo does not suds up well the initial time, so I have to shampoo a second time.
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pottergirl
fromMoffat, Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Moisturizing shampoo??
 January 12, 2013
"Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo did not work for me. I have color treated hair and not sure if that is the issue or not. My hair was like straw after using it. I could not get a brush through it.Conditioner of the same brand did not help. Waste of money for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WhollyBeautiful
Age:35-44
Tried a lot of natural shampoos
 November 2, 2012
"When switching to natural beauty products, I tried about 5 different shampoos. This is the only one my hair really likes. Leaves it soft, less frizzy on my naturally curly hair and not oily. I've noticed less damage and less build-up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
ramblingfamily
frommilitary
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
meh
 May 21, 2012
"I was hoping this shampoo and conditioner would help balance and moisturize my long, but frizzy, hair. The shampoo is nice: lathers well, smells wonderful, but leaves my hair very tangly and feels stripped. When I follow with the conditioner it does nothing to detangle and seems to coat my hair in something that makes it dull when dried. I've tried very small amounts to very large amounts; I've tried immediate rinsing and combing and I've tried letting the conditioner sit for 5 minutes. It always seems to be the same. In addition, I've had itchy scalp issues off and on. After using this my scalp seems itchier than before. I will put this same review for the conditioner since I've only used them together.
I have tried a few shampoo/conditioner from Avalon organics now with little success. I LOVE their facial care, though."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lexigirl
fromlexington, ky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango
 February 25, 2012
"Free of all the stuff that is not good for the skin. Really good on my hair. Good value too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
noel33
Natural feel
 January 8, 2012
"Smell natural, must used with conditioner together"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
blissgirl1
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great
 January 4, 2012
"This shampoo has been great for my hair. It makes it soft, shiny and feels healthy. Have bought it twice, will continue using it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tandam
fromWollongong, NSW Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Your hair will thank you!
 January 4, 2012
"I have Very Long, curly, thick, coloured, dry hair. I'm always looking for good products and never buy anything besides professional products. I spend a fortune having so much hair. Recently my hair become even more unmanagable and no matter what I did or used, the cuticle just wouldn't close. Grasping at straws and looking everywhere, I come across this product and was impressed with other reviews. What value for money that leaves you with shiney healthy looking and feeling hair. It's really great! If your hair sounds like mine, you have nothing to loose by trying this shampoo, and conditioner. Smell fades quickly, but I'm sure most people use a leave-in or styling product anyway that smells nice."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
MyOpinionOnly
Avalon Shampoo
 October 30, 2011
"This shampoo and condition leave your hair look dull - takes all shine out."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lillybug
fromShasta Lake
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
 October 4, 2011
"I love this shampoo and conditioner. I was a little leary about natural products being able to make my hair look and feel like it did with the products I was using. My families hair looks better than ever."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WritersLife
fromLos Angeles County, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Does it all!
 July 25, 2011
"This shampoo leaves my hair soft, manageable and with body, so it is easy to style. Clean, shiny hair is what I like, and this does the job."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
blueunicorn5
for the price, it is very good
 April 4, 2011
"I thought this product is comparable to some of the expensive shampoos, I have bought in the past. The product has a really good smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jrncyn5
fromChula Vista, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Does wonders for my hair
 January 18, 2011
"I have very thick, course hair and this has really calmed my hair down. It makes it feel super soft and manageable! The scent is OK, doesn't really smell like mango, but is more of a citrus smell. I will continue to use this along with the conditioner because it'd made my hair and healthier."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
dms1126
fromMechanicsburg, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
oh the smell!
 January 8, 2011
"I honestly didn't get to use this product enough to find out if it's effective or not. I couldn't get past the smell. I gave up after three attempts (each time breathing through my mouth in the shower!). Very disappointed."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MJ14
fromChicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Soft Hair
 August 23, 2010
"I've tried other Avalon Shampoos and they work great except that they don't smell very nice. This one has a nice smell, however, and leaves my hair feeling soft!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Avalon Organics Moisturizing Shampoo Awapuhi Mango Therapy -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
ARoseB
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Straw Hair
 July 20, 2010
"I first tried the Biotin version. My hair felt like straw. Since I believe in the company, I figured the moisturizing version would be much better. It was just as bad. It was like the product sucked all the moisture out of my hair. I hate to give a bad review, however I know I am not alone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next