Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz

Smooth Shiny Touchable Soft Results for Norman to Dry Hair. Gentle Effective Plant-Based Shampoo made with Organic Botanicals & Essential Oils. Contains Organic Ingredients. No GMOs Vegan & Biodegradable. No Parabens Harsh Sulfates or Preservatives Synthetic Colors or Fragrances Phthalates or Animal Testing. Strong healthy hair comes from simple healing ingredients found in nature. For hair that is normal to dry a medley of Lavender Essential Oil Quinoa Protein Aloe Babassu Oil and Vitamin E work together in harmony to cleanse and nourish every strand. The result: hair is soft smooth and shiny. Avalon Organics is grounded in the knowledge that all beauty begins within the Earth. Guided by the wisdom of nature each product is thoughtfully crafted for optimal effectiveness while meeting a strict organic standard. Formulas contain carefully selected botanicals that are nurtured by the elements then tenderly harvested to nourish the body from the outside in. Deep rooted beauty is at the heart of the Avalon Organics Guiding Principles – ensuring that every product reflects a deep reverence for the planet and all it provides and contributes in its own small way to a holistic lifestyle of health wellness and sustainability.
Overall rating:
4.359 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(145 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 145 reviews
5 Stars
97
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
8
1 Star
7
125 out of 145(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pcfolks
fromPlain City, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo
 January 28, 2016
"I love this shampoo. It is so gentle and when I wash my hair with it, my hair actually "squeaks" - squeaky clean! I also use the conditioner and love it. I have no flaking or dry scalp either."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lele1
Smells so good!
 January 17, 2016
"My kids use this and their hair always looks clean and smells good. The price is great too!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sportspack
fromRound Lake IL
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender
 December 18, 2015
"Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz is an awesome product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
PhylMer
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good product
 November 27, 2015
"I really like the scent of the lavender and use this all the time. It doesn't lather a lot so if you want lots of bubbles, you won't get them here."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wisewoman2
fromSanta Monica, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Healthy, great shampoo
 November 10, 2015
"This shampoo has no parabens or sulfates---great, healthy and organic ingredients which leave my hair shiny and soft. Always get lots of compliments on my hair. Have been using it for several years and haven't found another shampoo that is equal to it! Smells wonderful, too! Highly recommended."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
holtshopper
fromlos angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great fragrance, thick texture, gentle on hair
 October 13, 2015
"I use this every day. My hair is frizzy/curly and tends to dry out with every other shampoo (not just Neutrogena). My scalp is never itchy. Despite the daily shampooing, my hair grows about eight inches each year (I keep track because I donate to Locks of Love every year and a half). The fragrance is nice, without being pungent."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
plbroker
fromFL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 September 13, 2015
"This shampoo cleans well, has enough suds to feel it is working, smells nice, just like lavender."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
KVandermelt
average
 August 11, 2015
"I bought this product looking for a new shampoo + conditioner combo that had little to no chemicals. The scent was great...I always love lavender. However, I feel like the shampoo does not lather as well as I was hoping. I realize that this is partly due to not having certain chemicals in it, but I have tried other brands before which I felt had a better lather to it. I may try some other brands before I would come back to this one."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ilaj
fromSouth FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Does the job
 May 30, 2015
"I've been ordering Avalon Organics Nourishing Shampoo Lavender for about four years, using it once a week. I like the clean fragrance that doesn't linger in the shower, as fake chemical fragrance would. This lathers well and rinses off without drying out my uncolored hair. I like the large size, which lasts a long time. Reasonably priced. My 81 yr old mother, who dies her hair, also likes it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LAfun
fromRiverside, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 May 8, 2015
"I have used this shampoo for about 4 yrs now. It is very good and it's the only shampoo that doesn't dry my hair out, which is why I keep buying it.
It cleans very well and the price sold here it's a very good deal so I usually order in bulk. Great product.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
farm38
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great shampoo
 April 21, 2015
"This is a wonderful shampoo! It lathers great! I use one squirt, lather, then rinse and then do the process one more time. So two squirts lathers great. My hair is to the middle of my back.
It smells great.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Anonymous
fromVermont, VT
Meh - too many chemicals for me
 January 11, 2015
"Made my hair dry - somewhat on the shorter side and it is not even color treated. Am using the rest as hand soap.....Had also bought the Acure organics Moroccan Argan Oil shampoo (for dry hair, which mine isn't - BUT it smells fantastic and I didn't need to condition afterwards)"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Committment
fromSummerville, South Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent
 January 7, 2015
"I love this product, it is good for all hair types. With this shampoo, I don't need extra conditioning. your hair is nice and soft.
I will purchase this shampoo from now on!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tresor
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Practical pump, huge bottle!
 January 5, 2015
"Great shampoo, great smell, suds well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lucie247
fromAnaheim
Age:25-34
Love this scent
 December 31, 2014
"Love the scent of lavender!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
evesbk
fromDallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great price for value!
 December 30, 2014
"The shampoo and conditioner does not lather well, and the conditioner to this shampoo is also very simple. You have to use a lot to get it through your hair, however, its smells amazing and you get a lot of product for the price, additionally its organic and cruelty-free so it makes me feel good knowing I made a smart choice is buying it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
deetz
fromny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
nice price, nice smell, happy with product
 December 26, 2014
"nice price, nice smell, happy with product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
MySakura
fromBergen County, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
good for oily hair not normal to dry
 December 23, 2014
"I like the smell, size, price and organic about this product, but I can not use it every day. I do not feel any moisture in this shampoo. Every time I use, not only my scalp get dry, also my fingers and palm of my hand. I have to put Eucerin after bath. I recommend it to oily to normal, but not dry hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MJKO
Good... if it works for you
 December 3, 2014
"I've purchased the Lavender Shampoo & Conditioner a couple of times over the years but always found myself returning to the evil but effective Pantene line. But since becoming pregnant I've renewed my determination to purchase healthier, less toxic products and hence, here I am with the jumbo sized bottles of Avalon Organics.
Just as background, I have medium length, straight Asian hair, that I've taken to washing only every other day since my hairstylist scolded for washing daily. I rarely blow-dry my hair and almost never use styling products.
The shampoo works well and rinses very cleanly. One pump is more than enough. However, I find that I need a double dose of the conditioner to get enough coverage for my hair. If you're used to all the junky coating chemicals of traditional conditioners, you will be as underwhelmed as I was when applying this conditioner. I leave it on for as long as instructed and give my hair a quick rinse when ready to step out of the shower.
The first day I used this combo (in this most recent phase) I found myself immediately regretting the jumbo purchase. But now, three weeks into it, I am pretty satisfied with the products. My hair feels clean and soft, and looks shiny, even on the second day. (I don't have that icky, matted down feeling that I used to when I used the traditional stuff.) It has a light but lovely lavender scent that's probably only noticeable while my hair is still damp, but that's okay. I also reserve my intense work-outs for hair-washing days, and keep to the light yoga on the birdbath days.
There's no doubt that you're going to have some tradeoff when you purchase these "natural, organic, cruelty-free" products. And I concur with other reviewers who have said that this isn't for everyone. The combo gave my husband, being prone to dry scalp in the first place, a serious case of flakes, like the "before" shot of a Head & Shoulders ad. But he finds it okay if he uses the shampoo paired with a different conditioner, or just the conditioner on its own. As for me, I'll be glad to use it for as long as it lasts, which at this rate, the shampoo should last me until my baby is old enough to take the SATs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Avalon Organics Shampoo Nourishing Lavender -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JuliaL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 October 2, 2014
"Finally an good shampoo in a big affordable format. Love it"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next