Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(558)
Algae(871)
Amino Acids(2,067)
Bee Pollen(327)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(100)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(183)
Choline(142)
CoQ10(2,490)
Coconut Oil(4,042)
Collagen(328)
Colostrum(181)
D-Mannose(48)
DHEA(437)
DMAE(65)
EFAs(3,660)
EpiCor(36)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,599)
GABA(189)
GLA(8)
Gelatin(17)
Glycine(10)
HGH(43)
Iodine(58)
Krill Oil(749)
Lecithin(273)
Letter Vitamins(12,205)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(393)
Lycopene(105)
MSM(439)
Melatonin(1,227)
Minerals(8,794)
Multivitamins(12,839)
NADH(52)
Omega-3(5,223)
Pectin(22)
Probiotics(6,078)
Propolis(78)
Pycnogenol(150)
Quercetin(135)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(12)
Relora(2)
SAMe(613)
Silica(19)
Soy(79)
Spirulina(110)
Yeast(62)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Plus Acetyl L-Carnitine or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules

Powerful antioxidant combination provides anti-aging nutrition and may help promote healthy cardiovascular and cognitive function.*. What is Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl? Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl is a combination formula featuring two well-known antioxidant nutrients. Antioxidants are substances that help protect healthy cells throughout the body from free radical damage.*. Alpha lipoic acid (ALA) has been called a “universal antioxidant” because it is effective as an antioxidant in water-based substances such as blood while its reduced metabolite dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA) is effective in protecting fatty tissues and membranes.*. Acetyl L-Carnitine is the acetyl ester of carnitine an amino acid derivative and is distributed throughout the central and peripheral nervous system. ALA and ALC are known as mitochondrial antioxidants that can provide anti-aging nutrition.* Mitochondria are the “power plants” of cells providing the energy necessary to fuel a broad range of cellular processes. How does Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl support health? ALA may promote cardiovascular health by protecting against free radical damage.*. ALA and ALC can help to maintain blood pressure levels already within the normal range.*. ALC has been shown to reduce both physical and mental fatigue associated with aging.*. ALA enhances the antioxidant activity of vitamins C and E and coenzyme Q10. ALC is a precursor to the important brain neurotransmitter acetylcholine which contributes to the support of cognitive function and memory.*. Why choose Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl? Combines two antioxidant nutrients on one convenient formula. Contains 60 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
41 out of 42(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gigity
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great combo
 November 8, 2015
"I have used both individually, as I take alpha lipoid daily because it's a huge antioxidant, also great for the skin and I would come & go with taking acetyl carnitine HCI...I am back to taking it because it helps with memory. I like this combo because it's more convenient. The serving size is 2 daily, but I usually take 1 daily (occasionally taking 2) it seems to work"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catladymarsha
fromCalifornia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I love this combo
 October 29, 2015
"The reason I know these supplements work is when I run out and don't replace right away I don't feel as good as I usually do. It took me a while to realize that was what was going on and now I try to never run out of them. I have taken them for at least 10 years and I plan to take them for the rest of my life"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
itaymor
do the work
 October 29, 2015
"good results"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
zelly
fromBoston, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Jury's Still Out
 June 16, 2015
"I say "yes" i would recommend this product based solely on reputed benefits of these two supplements. But so far, after just a couple of weeks of 2/day, I haven't noticed any effect one way or the other. Time will tell."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hollyu
fromNew York City area
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great combination of two essential nutrients
 April 30, 2015
"Once I hit 50 years young, I really focused on supplements that would keep my energy up and help with my skin as well. These two supplements are part of my 'war chest' and they are given in just the right combination. Couldn't be more pleased."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wayne535
fromMONTICELLO, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
GREAT!!!!
 March 9, 2015
"GREAT PRODUCT !!!! WORKS GREAT !!!!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HealthySr
fromNorthern California
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Outstanding quality - Best price
 August 20, 2014
"I've been using this product for quite some time and recommend it highly."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thayil
fromIndia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Excellent product....
 July 1, 2014
"I have been searching for the right product with affordable price. I could notice the difference in my condition within short period. Vitacost products highly recommended."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lbh22
fromCA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product!
 June 26, 2014
"I love it that Vitacost has an all inclusive ALA supplement instead of having to purchase everything separately. As far as quality goes, I feel this is a quality product."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jlircs
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great product and better price
 April 16, 2014
"I have used this supplement for many years and found it at the best value and potency per milligram here at Vitacost. I wish I had known this when I began taking this product. I could have saved some serious $ and also been taking a quality supplement to boot."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
clmart
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Anti-aging Product
 April 10, 2014
"This product was recommended to me by a friend for anti-aging purposes, (keeping your skin youthful) So far I love the product, I also seem to have more energy taking it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DebF
fromVenice, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good product
 January 28, 2014
"price is right."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spanbelle
fromCA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent
 December 24, 2013
"Good supplement to promote health."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
autopuppet1
fromsf ca
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl --
 December 1, 2013
"I could not find a better price or combination of such at this price on the web.
Shipping *****
thank you
autopuppet1
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigLagoonGal
fromFlorida Panhandle's Gulf Coast
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent value
 June 13, 2013
"Have been recommended by my nutritionalist & alternative med MD to take both supplements. What I like best is it is in one capsule that has the higher levels of each included."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mode
fromTyler, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Daily must have
 June 12, 2013
"Started using when going back to school in my 50's. Must have for jump start of brain power at older age"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Busa
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good
 February 1, 2013
"This Alpha Lipoic does well"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
majic
fromWesterly, RI
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Add this to your anti aging products!
 November 12, 2012
"Compare to some similar Dr's anti aging supplements. These amino's are important for brain cells as well as others. Will not be without this one the price is great!! The dosage is good.!!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
valhalla
fromMilwaukee,WI.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
wakes up the brain- I need it!
 September 17, 2012
"I feel more with it taking this-- I can tell when I run out"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yogaluv
fromNew Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good price and value.
 August 27, 2012
"Good product and cheaper than similar products."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next