Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Massage or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz

Castor Oil Cold Pressed and Cold Processed. Pure natural emollient oil. Softens and nourishes the skin. Ideal for use in Cator Oil Packs. Excellent for massage into joints and muscle. Hexane Free. Castor Oil is a natural emollient that penetrates the surface layers of the skin making it softer and more supple. The effects of externally applied Castor Oil can be enhanced through the use of a "castor oil pack" - a piece of wool flannel saturated with the oil and applied to the body. Use of a pack allows the greatest penetration in a specific area of the body. The application of heat further increases this penetration allowing the oil to better impart its qualities to the body.
Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ambitious18
fromPhiladelphia, Pa
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Really good for natural hair
 July 11, 2014
"I love using this on my natural 3c/4a hair. It's great to help regrow thin edges or bald spots. Be cautious though because it is a very heavy and sticky oil, so I like to dilute it with water or other oils such as coconut or jojoba oil. Overall, this is a great oil with many uses and I would definitely recommend it."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
specialtame
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
So so great
 May 4, 2012
"This product so great for my transitioning hair. It leaves my hair soft and silky. You don't need much and it goes a long way. I apply it in my conditioner also use in as a hot oil with other oils and use alone. This product is a keeper."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
phoenixmountain1
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great product
 March 2, 2011
"Great product great price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scoots
fromDenver, CO
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
A Great Product
 August 24, 2010
"This is absolutely the very best castor oil on today's market. It is made from the oil of castor seed ~ is cold pressed, cold processed ~ no hexane, no parabens! Can't ask for better than that. Skin, hair, whatever you use it for, you won't be disappointed."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
potato4U38
Not for Internal Use
 October 1, 2009
"I purchased this to take internally. After the third dose, I decided to look on the side for the calorie content and saw that it was not to be taken internally! I made it through the night and nothing really happened. I guess I need to read labels better."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bria
fromHenderson, Nevada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great value
 May 28, 2009
"I use this product for making soap and body oils for my business. Buying vitamin E this way makes it very easy and much neater to measure out for my recipes. The price was cheaper and a larger volume than any competitor offer that I could find."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
onest
fromCA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
best price
 March 29, 2009
"I use it against gophers in my garden,but I know it is helpfull for hair grown"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
UGAchic
fromStatham, GA
Great product
 February 5, 2009
"This is a very good value for the money. I use it to seal in moisture in my hair and it works great!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
missygirl
fromOlympia,WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best moisturizer
 July 14, 2008
"I had very dry skin before Iused castor oil no matter what I used. It goes on kind of sticky because it is a really thick oil, but it keeps your skin soft and supple all day long."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Home Health Castor Oil -- 32 fl oz
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
3 out of 4 recommend this product