Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Ashwagandha or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules

Nutritional support for times of physical and mental stress.*. What is ashwagandha extract?  . Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) popularly known as Indian ginseng is plant that’s been used in Ayurvedic medicine for more than 2500 years. Its roots have been used in folk medicine as an adaptogen and geriatric tonic.* The major active compounds are alkaloids and lactones in a class of constituents called withanolides.  . How does ashwagandha extract support health? Along with a standard multi-vitamin asgwagandha supports a healthy mood.*. Antioxidant properties aid in protecting against free radical damage.* . May promote healthy levels of sex hormones.*. Why choose Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract? High-quality standardized extract (standardization ensures consistent levels of active ingredients in each dose). Supplies 470 mg of ashwagandha standardized to 1.5% withanolides per single-capsule serving. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
23 out of 24(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lbgardener
fromIllinois
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
quality product
 October 19, 2014
"Quality product at a good price. I take ashwagandha in my regimen for thyroid health."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Naturalammaw
fromAnna, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Husband has never slept better
 May 8, 2014
"I ordered this product and a few others to make my husband an all natural sleep cocktail. He takes it 1/2 hour before bedtime and sleeps like a baby."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Itsoof
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Good purchase
 March 10, 2014
"Really good adaptogen, relaxing me after training."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
nitahealth
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
 February 24, 2014
"Just started using this a few months ago, so cannot give a five until later. Glad it is offered at vitacost."
-9points
2of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaddySax
fromOmaha, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Okay Product
 January 14, 2014
"The only reason that I would say okay for this product is that I'm not sure of the full results that it has given me. It appears to have me retain a good mood...not currently using any other kind of mood supplement so it seems to help with possible mood issues."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bellah8
fromOrange County , CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Seems to work well
 November 20, 2013
"I have had good experience with all my Vitacost purchases in the past and this one continues that string."
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trytobefeelgood
fromHuntsville Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
To help immune system
 October 19, 2013
"I learned that Ashwagndha supposed to help your immune system. It does seem good for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reiner13
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 October 13, 2013
"This product really helps me improve my mood."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NewMexicoGlo
So Far, So Good
 July 22, 2013
"After researching different herbs to help combat low energy levels, I found that Ashwagandha was recommended for what I was experiencing. Having already been a VitaCost customer, I started my shopping there for this herb and was pleasantly surprised by the price. I did do some additional browsing at a number of other websites, but found that, as usual, Vitacost offers a great product for a very reasonable price. After using the product for around 3 weeks now, I do seem to have quite a bit more energy and require less sleep than before I started taking it, even after decreasing the dosage to only 1 capsule per day. When I first started taking the Ashwagandha I was taking one capsule in the morning, one in the evening. I started having trouble sleeping more than a very few hours per night within a few days of starting the regimen. I now take just one in the morning with breakfast and it seems to be working perfectly, giving me plenty of energy to get through the day and I no longer need an afternoon nap.
Over all, I would highly recommend the Vitacost Ashwagandha. The star rating I gave is strictly because I've only been using the product for a few weeks and have no long term experience to confirm that this product is specifically responsible for the improvement in energy levels."
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thig
fromPortland, Oregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Awesome product!
 June 23, 2012
"I was very glad to procure this product from vitacost!"
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CareToShare
fromPennsylvania
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Calming effect when overwrought
 January 6, 2012
"Easy to swallow, no unpleasant side effects"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jrgpsych
fromJacksonville, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Ashwaganna reserve judgment
 September 22, 2010
"Uncertain of overall value..."
-17points
0of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PAmama
fromCa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great herb
 December 29, 2009
"I've been taking this for 2 years now and it really does help me get through the day with more energy without wiring me up like caffeine does. When I don't take it, I do feel a difference in my energy level. I strongly recommend this herb to most of my patients."
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
JEdwards
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
No difference
 September 16, 2009
"I took this under the reccomendation of a friend. She said it just makes you feel more balanced out in the mind. Maybe I take too many supplements and something in those counteracted this one. Maybe it works for others, but not for me unfortunately...sorry I can't be more help."
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tallgirlwithguitar
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Ahhhhh...that's better.
 July 2, 2009
"I ordered ashwagandha after I learned that it de-stresses. True to its reputation, I found out for myself that it does.
It doesn't make me drowsy or dopey; it's just that things that usually irritate me don't bother me so much. I just experience a sort of even-temperedness that smooths out my day. It's also a great antioxidant. I'm glad I discovered it, and plan on taking it indefinitely."
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tazman
fromcharlotteville,va
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
stress reducer adaptogen
 April 27, 2009
"good adaptogen"
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SKATEGIRL
fromSeattle, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
excellent product!!
 March 26, 2009
"I definitely noticed a difference after using Ashwagandha. I use it at night, and completely fall asleep faster, as well as stay asleep. Whether it's making me less stressed...still waiting on that one!!"
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
reviewer2008
fromEast Tennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Work so well
 February 6, 2009
"This is just a great product to add to the supplements I need."
-14points
1of 16voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Ashwagandha Extract - Standardized -- 470 mg - 120 Capsules
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product