Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz

SlimSweet...Made from fruit! Tastes like sugar! 100% natural! Low Glycemic! SlimSweet is a great-tasting all-natural sweetener made from Lo Han a carefully harvested fruit found only in China. SlimSweet is a healthy alternative with a naturally sweet taste. Now available in convenient single-serve packets or one pound jars.
Overall rating:
3.786 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
10 out of 14(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Review 1 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DAYTONABELLE
fromPORT ORANGE, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
MY DOCTOR GAVE ME THE THUMBS UP ON THIS
 June 23, 2012
"I love this "safe" sweetener. There is NO aftertaste like you get with artificial sweeteners, nor is there any bitterness like you get with plant based sweeteners. I carry this size with me to work and refill it from the 1 lb size I keep at home. It is a little expensive, but when you think of the "unsafe" alternative, it is well worth it. Also, since you use just a little bit it lasts a long time. I can finally enjoy my daily coffee without the aftertaste or bitterness!! I showed it to my doctor this week, and he gave me the thumbs up (I am diabetic)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NRGee
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best natural no-calorie sweetener
 June 14, 2012
"Love this stuff!
Tastes like sugar but none of sugar's issues. I would give it 5 stars if it didn't clump and turn hard soon after it's opened.
I have figured out, though, that instead of trying to use the little shaker holes, if you leave the foil seal partly intact so that when you unscrew the lid to get the product out and then and press the seal back into place before replacing the lid AND keep it in a thick zipper-type plastic bag, it stays dry and free-flowing much longer.
I find that it's worth the hassle!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Winterset
fromMarshall, Minnesota
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Poor choice
 May 9, 2012
"I found this product very bitter and I have ordered a different product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
reselene
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Worst product ever
 February 11, 2012
"I was excited to try a new natural sweetener. However, touted to be more sweet than sugar, I found it metallic tasting and use the same amount as sugar. I use another natural sweetener that is less expensive and will continue to do so. With using the same amount as sugar the cost is very exhorbitant."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RedRocks
fromSaint George, UT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Reasonable Sugar Substitute
 September 25, 2010
"Nice flavor. If you avoid sugar, and miss sweet, this makes a good alternative. It's a little expesive, but not nearly as expensive as in the stores."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
relivkaren
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good product
 September 9, 2010
"Slim sweet is a good product if you are looking for a sugar substitute that is not chemically altered. I use it in tea and to sweet fruit. I have tried to bake with it because it would be expensive to use that much at one time. Overall, it's a good sugar substitute"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taste:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Losyt
disapointment
 August 12, 2010
"I read great things about the main ingredient in this sweetner. Maybe it's better in another brand but this one has a bitter taste and the powder solidified into a clump in very little time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PurplePrincess7
This works great combined with stevia extract.
 June 14, 2010
"This product tastes best when combined with stevia extract (also available through vitacost). Either one of them used alone, doesn't taste quite right. The ratio I use is 1.5 Tbsp SlimSweet with 3/4 tsp of stevia extract equals about 1 cup of sugar. I use it to bake with regularly. These two alternative sweeteners seem to be tolerated by me the best. I cannot use sugar alchohols like maltitol, sorbitol, or xylitol, etc.
Another tip when using these in baking is that l have to add more flour and more oil or butter or fat substitute to take up the space the sugar was suppose to fill in the recipe. I also use a smaller amount (1/8 to 1/4 tsp) of this blend (in the ratio mentioned previoiusly) of SlimSweet and stevia extract to sprinkle on oatmeal.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SilverBrumby
fromToccoa Falls, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
good stuff!
 April 1, 2010
"I like this stuff but personally I have to use way more of it than sugar for something to taste sweet. By itself it's very good! My husband likes it just fine. I just tend to like stuff much, much sweeter than other people can handle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DRWings08
fromYakima, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best substitute sweetener
 September 16, 2009
"I have tried other sweeteners and this is the best one I have tasted. Nice 'sugar' quality even though sometimes it will retain moisture. This is the only sugar substitute I am buying."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Taste:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pauli
fromKey West, Fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not that great
 September 13, 2009
"This is the second time I give this product a try. It actually has a decent flavor close to the real thing, but you need to use much more than recommended on package. The worst part is that if you live in a humid climate as I do, it just doesn't last. It turns hard as a rock in its bottle and then you have to throw out whats left. I don't even recommend anyone trying it because of the cost factor and how much you waste."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sowo
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent flavor
 June 24, 2009
"No funky flavor or after-taste. Disolves easily. Only drawback is that it absorbs atmospheric moisture RAPIDLY, & lumps. The bulk packaging might be fine if you're in a nice dry climate, but in a humid area I recommend sticking with the single-serving packets."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Belisimo
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best no-calorie sweetener
 April 29, 2009
"This is now my favorite no- calorie sweetener. The only two no-calorie sweetener I would take is stevia or lo han. Lo han has more a natural taste and is not as sweet as stevia. I would not take Aspartame, splenda/sucralose, or nutrasweet as I've heard/read about the bad side effects."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TriMedica SlimSweet Natural Sweetener -- 2.82 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dexter
fromPhoenix, MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Not sugar, but good taste
 February 11, 2008
"I've used this for awhile and really like it. I went cold turkey off the sugar in tea and coffee using this product. I am now ordering more. It's not sugar. To me, the only thing that really tastes like sugar is sugar! This tastes a little fruity - sweet and without an annoying aftertaste or anything else unpleasant. My only problem is that SlimSweet is hygroscopic and doesn't like my Mid-Atlantic summers without air conditioning. Annoying, but you can work around this one feature. On the plus side, this probably is why it dissolves so nicely in liquids. Also available in bulk size container. Overall, my choice for non-sugar sweetener."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.