Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL

Herbatint® Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel has more conditioning lasting colour with Aloe Vera. No ammonia and no Parabens. 100% grey cover. Herbatint is the finest most natural permanent hair colouring gel free of harsh chemicals and Ammonia. Herbatint offers a safe gentle and effective way to colour your hair and cover grey with just 1 application. Depending on the length of your hair Herbatint can be used for 1 application or can be saved for a second application when the colour has grown out. Herbatint can be used even if a chemical dye has been used to colour your hair and if your hair has just been permed. It’s easy to use and has no smell! Herbatint contains herbal extracts to provide nourishment protection and conditioning to both the hair and scalp including:. Aloe Vera - rich in vitamins enzymes panthenol and natural minerals to protect and nourish the hair while colouring;. Meadowfoam - rich in Vitamins E and F ensures better colour cover and long lasting colour results;. Witch Hazel - treats the scalp and rich in essential oils;. Betula Alba (White Birch) - an effective hair tonic and;. Echinacea - hydrates the hair.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Review 1 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iola
frommartinsville, va
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great hair color
 September 16, 2013
"I have never used this before, but wanted to try a product with less chemicals. It takes a bit longer than other hair color I have used in the past, but so far I love it. The color is great and my hair feels really good & healthy. This gives lots of shine too. It hasn't been long so I'm not sure how good the color with stay with me. But as of right now, if the color holds, I will be buying again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
musicisme
fromChicago, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A Natural Alternative for Hair Coloring
 July 26, 2013
"I really like this product. I tried this on a whim, looking for a natural hair coloring. This product is easy to use, covers very well, doesn't smell like a medicine cabinet. Is great for grey hair and the color stays for a very long time before you have to put more in. I highly recommend it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RORYSMOM
fromWYOMING, PA.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
HERBATINT HAIRCOLOUR
 July 8, 2013
"Outstanding product. Better than anything I've used. Easy to apply, lasts longer. Non-Toxic! That's a selling point."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CyJo
fromMission Viejo,CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great for My Hair's Health, Texture, and Color
 May 10, 2013
"I use this product because it is natural and it is very good for my hair. I love this color because the reds in it are not orangish. I mix it with dark blond to lighten it just a bit since I am getting a lot more gray. My hairdresser always complements me on the color, coverage, and health of my hair. I've used other "professional" products and found them to be quite harsh. This product does not cover those "virgin" grays around my face as well as I'd like, but until I am forced to use something else to cover them better, I will keep using this product. I've used it for several years. Also, the Royal Cream conditioner that comes with it is awesome! In fact, I just colored my hair an hour ago. My husband loves it as much as I do--soft and shiny hair he likes to touch. Yep, I do like this product. I gave it a 4 star rating because of the less than ideal grey coverage. Some of the colors cover gray better than others however."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stormyg1
fromChicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Completely covers Gray
 September 23, 2012
"I tried this product because my sister recommended this particular website because she buys her vitamins from here. I had dyed my hair several months ago and the gray was coming back like gangbusters. I decided to go darker than my last color and am very pleased. The selection of colors in the red shade was a little daunting but I think I chose the right color and will continue to purchase from this site. The only thing is that when I rinsed my hair it felt like it had been stripped and felt very dry. The conditioner that came with it was wonderful. It put the moisture back in my hair and I loved the smell. I wish I could purchase it separately for every day use. If it becomes available I would be interested in buying it. Also, the price is so much better than at drug stores."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
roseberrytea
fromNew York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Too Dark
 September 11, 2012
"I'm very disappointed. My hair is light brown. This color made my hair look black! It's so dark, it DOES NOT look "light" or "chestnut" at all, it looks black...I also tried the 5N and 5G and they were both very dark too. I also noticed that my hair is so much more damaged and dry after using these products over the past 2 years. next time I'm buying a much lighter color."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sueph
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Safe and good product for hair
 May 18, 2012
"This hair color contains no harmful chemical and make your hair shine. Highly recommend!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rivkin
fromGA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Herbatint hair color
 January 17, 2012
"Very pleased with product. I used to henna dye my hair but for last 1 year it was not giving me good coverage and I had streaky red and black hair. So I used Herbatint as it has less chemicals. Color stays 4 weeks. It does make my hair stiff and I have to use a conditioner which I never did with henna. Also causes some itchiness in the scalp. Its best with Royal cream conditioner and overall I am happy with it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
herbluv8
fromut
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
turns out great!
 November 19, 2010
"i really like this hair color and am always receiving compliments!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
meowshouse
 May 8, 2010
"Good product, and no ammonia smell! Covers greys nicely, and stays on for at least 3 weeks, depending on how often hair is washed. I like it, and it's pretty easy and quick to use at home."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CarefullyConsidered
fromNebraska
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
So many compliments!
 November 7, 2008
"I have been combining 1/2 and 1/2 of Herbatint's 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut with 5N Light Chestnut for several years now, and have received so many compliments on my hair color! It has a rich sheen and lasts far longer than other brands I've tried in the past. It stays on my head rather than watching it pass down the drain as I wash my hair.
Although I use the "light" chestnuts, the color turns out quite dark and gives a rich auburn effect. I wouldn't want to go darker. I've tried using just the light mahogany by itself, but it turns out too red.
I just mix half of each color (1 ounce each) in a plastic application bottle you can buy at a beauty supply store; then add one complete bottle of activator that comes in the box, and shake well. Then I save the leftover colors for next time by combining them into one color bottle, and waiting until I'm ready to use it before adding the activator as I did before.
You'll love the result!"
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product