Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL

100% Grey Cover. With 8 Certified Herbal Extracts. Up To 2 Applications. Natural and Healthy Shine. Vibrant Long-Lasting Color. No Ammonia Alcohol or Parabens. Sensitive Skin. This package contains:. 1 bottle herbatint haircolor gel 60 ml/ 2fl oz. 1 bottle developer 60 ml/ 2 fl oz. 1 sample of Royal Cream 15 ml/ 0.5 fl oz. 1 leaflet containing directions for use and gloves. 40 Years of expertise dedicated to beauty and health of colored hair.  . Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel covers your grey effectively while taking care of your hair thanks to.  . A gentle and unique formula. A carefully balanced formulation result of rigorous testing achieving for each shade the perfect color result in the most gentle manner possible. Natural Ingredients:. The 8 organic herbal extracts specifically selected to nourish and protect your hair and scalp enhance your hair's color intensity and leave you with a natural long lasting result.  . Aloe Vera: Protects and nourishes hair during coloring. Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Moisturizes and adds shine to the hair. Betula Alba (White birch) Toning and soothing properties. Cinchona Claisaya Strengthens and protects the scalp. Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) rich in flavonoids and essential oils protects the scalp. Echinacea angustifolia Natural purifying agent and moisturizer. Juglans Regia (Walnut) Intensifies colors purifying agent. Rheum Palmatun (Rhubarb) Color enhancer and skin conditioner.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Review 1 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mmaria
fromVirginia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Really works well
 April 12, 2015
"For a more natural color, it really works"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
exna3
THE BEST OF THE BEST !!!!!
 June 30, 2014
"HERBATINT FIRST ALL IS ORGANIC ALL NATURAL RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE TO USE .IN THE SUMMER TIME YOUR HAIR WILL STAY THE SAME COLOR SHINE BRILLIANT COLORS, PLANT OF COMPLIMENT I LOVVVVE IT...."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alwaysorganic
Gender:Female
 May 2, 2014
"easy to use, I really recommend this brand, the scent is ok, no problems. The "mahogany" color is dark, I will use two different colors next time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iola
frommartinsville, va
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great hair color
 September 16, 2013
"I have never used this before, but wanted to try a product with less chemicals. It takes a bit longer than other hair color I have used in the past, but so far I love it. The color is great and my hair feels really good & healthy. This gives lots of shine too. It hasn't been long so I'm not sure how good the color with stay with me. But as of right now, if the color holds, I will be buying again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
musicisme
fromChicago, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A Natural Alternative for Hair Coloring
 July 26, 2013
"I really like this product. I tried this on a whim, looking for a natural hair coloring. This product is easy to use, covers very well, doesn't smell like a medicine cabinet. Is great for grey hair and the color stays for a very long time before you have to put more in. I highly recommend it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RORYSMOM
fromWYOMING, PA.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
HERBATINT HAIRCOLOUR
 July 8, 2013
"Outstanding product. Better than anything I've used. Easy to apply, lasts longer. Non-Toxic! That's a selling point."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CyJo
fromMission Viejo,CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great for My Hair's Health, Texture, and Color
 May 10, 2013
"I use this product because it is natural and it is very good for my hair. I love this color because the reds in it are not orangish. I mix it with dark blond to lighten it just a bit since I am getting a lot more gray. My hairdresser always complements me on the color, coverage, and health of my hair. I've used other "professional" products and found them to be quite harsh. This product does not cover those "virgin" grays around my face as well as I'd like, but until I am forced to use something else to cover them better, I will keep using this product. I've used it for several years. Also, the Royal Cream conditioner that comes with it is awesome! In fact, I just colored my hair an hour ago. My husband loves it as much as I do--soft and shiny hair he likes to touch. Yep, I do like this product. I gave it a 4 star rating because of the less than ideal grey coverage. Some of the colors cover gray better than others however."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stormyg1
fromChicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Completely covers Gray
 September 23, 2012
"I tried this product because my sister recommended this particular website because she buys her vitamins from here. I had dyed my hair several months ago and the gray was coming back like gangbusters. I decided to go darker than my last color and am very pleased. The selection of colors in the red shade was a little daunting but I think I chose the right color and will continue to purchase from this site. The only thing is that when I rinsed my hair it felt like it had been stripped and felt very dry. The conditioner that came with it was wonderful. It put the moisture back in my hair and I loved the smell. I wish I could purchase it separately for every day use. If it becomes available I would be interested in buying it. Also, the price is so much better than at drug stores."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
roseberrytea
fromNew York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Too Dark
 September 11, 2012
"I'm very disappointed. My hair is light brown. This color made my hair look black! It's so dark, it DOES NOT look "light" or "chestnut" at all, it looks black...I also tried the 5N and 5G and they were both very dark too. I also noticed that my hair is so much more damaged and dry after using these products over the past 2 years. next time I'm buying a much lighter color."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sueph
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Safe and good product for hair
 May 18, 2012
"This hair color contains no harmful chemical and make your hair shine. Highly recommend!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rivkin
fromGA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Herbatint hair color
 January 17, 2012
"Very pleased with product. I used to henna dye my hair but for last 1 year it was not giving me good coverage and I had streaky red and black hair. So I used Herbatint as it has less chemicals. Color stays 4 weeks. It does make my hair stiff and I have to use a conditioner which I never did with henna. Also causes some itchiness in the scalp. Its best with Royal cream conditioner and overall I am happy with it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
herbluv8
fromut
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
turns out great!
 November 19, 2010
"i really like this hair color and am always receiving compliments!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
meowshouse
 May 8, 2010
"Good product, and no ammonia smell! Covers greys nicely, and stays on for at least 3 weeks, depending on how often hair is washed. I like it, and it's pretty easy and quick to use at home."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CarefullyConsidered
fromNebraska
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
So many compliments!
 November 7, 2008
"I have been combining 1/2 and 1/2 of Herbatint's 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut with 5N Light Chestnut for several years now, and have received so many compliments on my hair color! It has a rich sheen and lasts far longer than other brands I've tried in the past. It stays on my head rather than watching it pass down the drain as I wash my hair.
Although I use the "light" chestnuts, the color turns out quite dark and gives a rich auburn effect. I wouldn't want to go darker. I've tried using just the light mahogany by itself, but it turns out too red.
I just mix half of each color (1 ounce each) in a plastic application bottle you can buy at a beauty supply store; then add one complete bottle of activator that comes in the box, and shake well. Then I save the leftover colors for next time by combining them into one color bottle, and waiting until I'm ready to use it before adding the activator as I did before.
You'll love the result!"
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel 5M Light Mahogany Chestnut -- 135 mL
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product