Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz

100% Grey Cover. With 8 Certified Herbal Extracts. Natural and Healthy Shine. Vibrant Long-Lasting Color. NO Ammonia • Alcohol • Parabens. Herbatint Permanent Haircolor Gel coves your grey effectively while taking care of your hair thanks to: A Gentle And Unique Formula.  . A carefully balanced formulation result of rigorous testing achieving for each shade the perfect color result in the most gentle manner possible.  . Natural Ingredients. The 8 organic herbal extracts specifically selected to nourish and protect your hair and scalp enhance your hair's color intensity and leave you with a natural long lasting result.  . Aloe Vera. Protects and nourishes hair during coloring. Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam). Moisturizes and adds shine to the hair. Betula Alba (White Birch). Toning and soothing properties. Cinchona Calisaya. Strengthens and protects the scalp. Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel). Rich in flavonoids and essential oils protects the scalp. Echinacea Angustifolia. Natural purifying agent and moisturizer. Juglans Regia (Walnut). Intensifies colors purifying agent. Rheum Palmatun (Rhubarb). Color enhance and skin conditioner.  . Your Color is Rich and Deep Your Hair Looks Beautiful and Healthy
Overall rating:
4.761 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
88 out of 92(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Review 1 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
orlu
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Easy to use
 November 20, 2015
"Good grey coverage, easy to use and no bad smell. I will definitely buy it again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magalit
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
excellent product
 September 20, 2015
"I have very sensitive skin and I'm sensitive to chemicals. This product is very gentle it is very effective. the color is nice and the smell is not bothersome at all - nothing like the chemical smell that you get with the products that you buy at the store. It does not sting your scalp. And it makes your hair really soft. This stuff is great. And for touch ups you don't even have to use the whole thing, you can save some for the next time. Love it love it love it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlankSpace
fromNew Jersey
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Makes your hair feel great.
 June 14, 2015
"I've tried other natural hair colorings but this is the best."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Umani
fromnew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It is easy to use.
 June 2, 2015
"Because it is liquid it is easy mix compared to cream haircolors."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eeekj35
fromPennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Covers very well and no burning smells.
 April 27, 2015
"This is such a safe product to use. It didn't have fumes or burning of the scalp. The color turned out great and it covered all of the grays."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tera55
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Natural Look and Feel
 March 17, 2015
"Many people compliment me on my hair! The coloring looks so very natural; it isn't like other hair colors that leave your hair dull looking. Mine has shine and volume. While I still wish there were a shampoo in available, this does the job! It lasts about 9 days and needs to be redone. It would be nice if there were a root touch up with a mini brush in between hair coloring for temple areas."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roxy59
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Better for You
 February 13, 2015
"I have been using Herbatint chestnut and light chestnut for several years and the only thing I don't like about it is the smell. It isn't bad enough to stop me from using it though. There are no parabens or ammonia and no animal testing with this product. The color is true to the color chart and lasts as long as advertised. It leaves my hair shiny, soft and covers the grays."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
fromEscondido, CA
Doesn't work
 January 5, 2015
"I took this product to my hair stylist and she mixed it and applied it, but it was watery and dripped and didn't cover the roots. I won't purchase it again."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chemistry
fromCelina, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
long lasting
 December 23, 2014
"No chemical smell or feel. Easy to apply and holds long."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BettyJK
fromMt. Shasta, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Very Natural Color
 December 7, 2014
"I've been using this product for about 15 years. I always get compliments on how natural the color looks. I am chemically sensitive so can't use products with ammonia in them, and honestly those products do not look even close to as natural as this one does. There is some odor, but it dissipates pretty quickly. However, I do not use the conditioner that comes with it because there is something in which has an odor that does bother me as a chemically sensitive person."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
7Chana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice and Natural
 November 19, 2014
"Love this hair color!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lynnster
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product lacks mixing bottle and brush
 November 9, 2014
"The color of this product is nice, but there is no mixing bottle included in the package like Naturtint has. The least they could do should be to include an applicator brush. Cheap and messy."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
okjj
fromKiel, Wi
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love It
 November 5, 2014
"I wasn't going to color my hair because of all the chemicals in hair dyes. I did research and found this product to be the best for me. I finally felt comfortable with the ingredients in a hair dye product. It lasts about 4 weeks. I stretched it to 5 1/2, not bad if you can style your hair to cover the outgrowth. Will keep ordering."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
omfbabm
fromMontreal, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Always the best
 October 22, 2014
"We have been using this product since we were living in Europe and we are happy to be able to buy it in America, moreover at a lower price with Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
creator168
fromLa Puente, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 September 18, 2014
"This is a great product. I don't lose lots hair like other similar haircolour. I will continued using this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yogaloving
fromAustralis
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
NO SMELL!
 September 17, 2014
"I LOVE HERBATINT. There is no scalp irritation or no harsh smells! I do recommend that you only leave it on the recommended time as I find the colours darker than the box and the product can dry out on the hair. Use lots of conditioner and you will benefit with glossy couloured hair, even the greys are wonderfully coloured."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
shoespaz
fromNorthern CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good stuff
 September 4, 2014
"I think it's a little less damaging than other at home hair colors, however it doesn't cover grey, especially at temples and around my face in general, very well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
erdly
fromGrand Rapids, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Almost 2 shades too dark
 August 10, 2014
"I really struggle with giving this product a 3 star rating, more of a 2.5 for me. I can't give it too low of a rating, because it does cover really well and it looks very glossy. However, it's about 2 shades darker than I expected. I have used 5N & 6C shades, from different companies, for years. This is more of a 3.5N on me. I have naturally light golden brown hair, but don't typically use a 5D because I have so much brass that comes through. I previously used the Herbatint 6C, Dark Ash Blonde, and was pleased with the results. I wouldn't consider that a blonde, definitely darker, but I expect that from an ash. I did not expect such a drastic difference between the 6C & 5N! I would also note that I don't remember getting a rash from the 6C, but the 5N made my skin red everywhere it touched. It went away, but that was a red flag for me. Also, with every other brand I've used, I can use one box for 2 colorings, but have to use almost all of the whole box of Herbatint. It does seem to last 2 weeks longer than Naturcolor and Tints of Nature, but I'm not sure that's enough of a reason for me to use Herbatint again."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous73
fromLong Island, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
BE PREPARED: NO MIXING BOTTLE OR GLOVES!!!!
 July 17, 2014
"I found out too late & had to Mix & Stir the 2 Bottles w/Contents in a Kitchen Bowl & apply it with a Wooden Spoon & my Gloved Hands! - (Gloves I use just for Coloring - they're actually dishwashing gloves. Playtex, I think. I find they work best) - Wasn't pleasant, but it worked. I used a Detangler Comb to help separate sections. I wish I would have known, so I could've been prepared. I took for granted there would be a larger Bottle to pour the other contents in, to be shaken & applied ( you know, like MOST Hair Colors? ) So, Crisis averted Lol! I'll invest in a Mixing Bowl & Brush for future applications. Also, for me, there wasn't any left for future uses. I made sure to use it all!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 4.56 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tigertoo
fromCharleston, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Colors very well
 July 13, 2014
"This is one of the better products I have used for hair coloring."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next