Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL

Herbatint® Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel has More Conditioning Lasting Colour with Aloe Vera. No Ammonia and No Parabens. 100% Grey Cover. Herbatint is the finest most natural permanent hair colouring gel free of harsh chemicals and Ammonia. Herbatint offers a safe gentle and effective way to colour your hair and cover grey with just 1 application. Depending on the length of your hair Herbatint can be used for 1 application or can be saved for a second application when the colour has grown out. Herbatint can be used even if a chemical dye has been used to colour your hair and if your hair has just been permed. It’s easy to use and has no smell! Herbatint contains herbal extracts to provide nourishment protection and conditioning to both the hair and scalp including:. Aloe Vera - rich in vitamins enzymes panthenol and natural minerals to protect and nourish the hair while colouring;. Meadowfoam - rich in Vitamins E and F ensures better colour cover and long lasting colour results;. Witch Hazel - treats the scalp and rich in essential oils;. Betula Alba (White Birch) - an effective hair tonic and;. Echinacea - hydrates the hair.
Overall rating:
4.756 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 90 reviews
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
86 out of 90(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Review 1 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlankSpace
fromNew Jersey
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Makes your hair feel great.
 June 14, 2015
"I've tried other natural hair colorings but this is the best."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Umani
fromnew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It is easy to use.
 June 2, 2015
"Because it is liquid it is easy mix compared to cream haircolors."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eeekj35
fromPennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Covers very well and no burning smells.
 April 27, 2015
"This is such a safe product to use. It didn't have fumes or burning of the scalp. The color turned out great and it covered all of the grays."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tera55
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Natural Look and Feel
 March 17, 2015
"Many people compliment me on my hair! The coloring looks so very natural; it isn't like other hair colors that leave your hair dull looking. Mine has shine and volume. While I still wish there were a shampoo in available, this does the job! It lasts about 9 days and needs to be redone. It would be nice if there were a root touch up with a mini brush in between hair coloring for temple areas."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roxy59
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Better for You
 February 13, 2015
"I have been using Herbatint chestnut and light chestnut for several years and the only thing I don't like about it is the smell. It isn't bad enough to stop me from using it though. There are no parabens or ammonia and no animal testing with this product. The color is true to the color chart and lasts as long as advertised. It leaves my hair shiny, soft and covers the grays."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
fromEscondido, CA
Doesn't work
 January 5, 2015
"I took this product to my hair stylist and she mixed it and applied it, but it was watery and dripped and didn't cover the roots. I won't purchase it again."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chemistry
fromCelina, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
long lasting
 December 23, 2014
"No chemical smell or feel. Easy to apply and holds long."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BettyJK
fromMt. Shasta, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Very Natural Color
 December 7, 2014
"I've been using this product for about 15 years. I always get compliments on how natural the color looks. I am chemically sensitive so can't use products with ammonia in them, and honestly those products do not look even close to as natural as this one does. There is some odor, but it dissipates pretty quickly. However, I do not use the conditioner that comes with it because there is something in which has an odor that does bother me as a chemically sensitive person."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
7Chana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice and Natural
 November 19, 2014
"Love this hair color!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lynnster
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product lacks mixing bottle and brush
 November 9, 2014
"The color of this product is nice, but there is no mixing bottle included in the package like Naturtint has. The least they could do should be to include an applicator brush. Cheap and messy."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
okjj
fromKiel, Wi
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love It
 November 5, 2014
"I wasn't going to color my hair because of all the chemicals in hair dyes. I did research and found this product to be the best for me. I finally felt comfortable with the ingredients in a hair dye product. It lasts about 4 weeks. I stretched it to 5 1/2, not bad if you can style your hair to cover the outgrowth. Will keep ordering."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
omfbabm
fromMontreal, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Always the best
 October 22, 2014
"We have been using this product since we were living in Europe and we are happy to be able to buy it in America, moreover at a lower price with Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
creator168
fromLa Puente, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 September 18, 2014
"This is a great product. I don't lose lots hair like other similar haircolour. I will continued using this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yogaloving
fromAustralis
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
NO SMELL!
 September 17, 2014
"I LOVE HERBATINT. There is no scalp irritation or no harsh smells! I do recommend that you only leave it on the recommended time as I find the colours darker than the box and the product can dry out on the hair. Use lots of conditioner and you will benefit with glossy couloured hair, even the greys are wonderfully coloured."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
shoespaz
fromNorthern CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good stuff
 September 4, 2014
"I think it's a little less damaging than other at home hair colors, however it doesn't cover grey, especially at temples and around my face in general, very well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
erdly
fromGrand Rapids, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Almost 2 shades too dark
 August 10, 2014
"I really struggle with giving this product a 3 star rating, more of a 2.5 for me. I can't give it too low of a rating, because it does cover really well and it looks very glossy. However, it's about 2 shades darker than I expected. I have used 5N & 6C shades, from different companies, for years. This is more of a 3.5N on me. I have naturally light golden brown hair, but don't typically use a 5D because I have so much brass that comes through. I previously used the Herbatint 6C, Dark Ash Blonde, and was pleased with the results. I wouldn't consider that a blonde, definitely darker, but I expect that from an ash. I did not expect such a drastic difference between the 6C & 5N! I would also note that I don't remember getting a rash from the 6C, but the 5N made my skin red everywhere it touched. It went away, but that was a red flag for me. Also, with every other brand I've used, I can use one box for 2 colorings, but have to use almost all of the whole box of Herbatint. It does seem to last 2 weeks longer than Naturcolor and Tints of Nature, but I'm not sure that's enough of a reason for me to use Herbatint again."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous73
fromLong Island, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
BE PREPARED: NO MIXING BOTTLE OR GLOVES!!!!
 July 17, 2014
"I found out too late & had to Mix & Stir the 2 Bottles w/Contents in a Kitchen Bowl & apply it with a Wooden Spoon & my Gloved Hands! - (Gloves I use just for Coloring - they're actually dishwashing gloves. Playtex, I think. I find they work best) - Wasn't pleasant, but it worked. I used a Detangler Comb to help separate sections. I wish I would have known, so I could've been prepared. I took for granted there would be a larger Bottle to pour the other contents in, to be shaken & applied ( you know, like MOST Hair Colors? ) So, Crisis averted Lol! I'll invest in a Mixing Bowl & Brush for future applications. Also, for me, there wasn't any left for future uses. I made sure to use it all!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tigertoo
fromCharleston, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Colors very well
 July 13, 2014
"This is one of the better products I have used for hair coloring."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vbgnyc
fromnyc
Great product!
 July 3, 2014
"I've been using Herbatint for several years now. I'm always trying new colors. Despite being called permanent, the product does not leave a hard line the way chemical products do, so it's easy to experiment with colors without looking streaky. The colors do fade over 6 weeks, making it a very forgiving product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ambasoder
fromNorth Bloomfield,Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great Product
 June 19, 2014
"This product works great"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next