Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL

Herbatint® Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel has More Conditioning Lasting Colour with Aloe Vera. No Ammonia and No Parabens. 100% Grey Cover. Herbatint is the finest most natural permanent hair colouring gel free of harsh chemicals and Ammonia. Herbatint offers a safe gentle and effective way to colour your hair and cover grey with just 1 application. Depending on the length of your hair Herbatint can be used for 1 application or can be saved for a second application when the colour has grown out. Herbatint can be used even if a chemical dye has been used to colour your hair and if your hair has just been permed. It’s easy to use and has no smell! Herbatint contains herbal extracts to provide nourishment protection and conditioning to both the hair and scalp including:. Aloe Vera - rich in vitamins enzymes panthenol and natural minerals to protect and nourish the hair while colouring;. Meadowfoam - rich in Vitamins E and F ensures better colour cover and long lasting colour results;. Witch Hazel - treats the scalp and rich in essential oils;. Betula Alba (White Birch) - an effective hair tonic and;. Echinacea - hydrates the hair.
Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
78 out of 81(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Review 1 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
7Chana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice and Natural
 November 19, 2014
"Love this hair color!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lynnster
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product lacks mixing bottle and brush
 November 9, 2014
"The color of this product is nice, but there is no mixing bottle included in the package like Naturtint has. The least they could do should be to include an applicator brush. Cheap and messy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
okjj
fromKiel, Wi
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love It
 November 5, 2014
"I wasn't going to color my hair because of all the chemicals in hair dyes. I did research and found this product to be the best for me. I finally felt comfortable with the ingredients in a hair dye product. It lasts about 4 weeks. I stretched it to 5 1/2, not bad if you can style your hair to cover the outgrowth. Will keep ordering."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
omfbabm
fromMontreal, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Always the best
 October 22, 2014
"We have been using this product since we were living in Europe and we are happy to be able to buy it in America, moreover at a lower price with Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
creator168
fromLa Puente, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 September 18, 2014
"This is a great product. I don't lose lots hair like other similar haircolour. I will continued using this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yogaloving
fromAustralis
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
NO SMELL!
 September 17, 2014
"I LOVE HERBATINT. There is no scalp irritation or no harsh smells! I do recommend that you only leave it on the recommended time as I find the colours darker than the box and the product can dry out on the hair. Use lots of conditioner and you will benefit with glossy couloured hair, even the greys are wonderfully coloured."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
shoespaz
fromNorthern CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good stuff
 September 4, 2014
"I think it's a little less damaging than other at home hair colors, however it doesn't cover grey, especially at temples and around my face in general, very well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
erdly
fromGrand Rapids, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Almost 2 shades too dark
 August 10, 2014
"I really struggle with giving this product a 3 star rating, more of a 2.5 for me. I can't give it too low of a rating, because it does cover really well and it looks very glossy. However, it's about 2 shades darker than I expected. I have used 5N & 6C shades, from different companies, for years. This is more of a 3.5N on me. I have naturally light golden brown hair, but don't typically use a 5D because I have so much brass that comes through. I previously used the Herbatint 6C, Dark Ash Blonde, and was pleased with the results. I wouldn't consider that a blonde, definitely darker, but I expect that from an ash. I did not expect such a drastic difference between the 6C & 5N! I would also note that I don't remember getting a rash from the 6C, but the 5N made my skin red everywhere it touched. It went away, but that was a red flag for me. Also, with every other brand I've used, I can use one box for 2 colorings, but have to use almost all of the whole box of Herbatint. It does seem to last 2 weeks longer than Naturcolor and Tints of Nature, but I'm not sure that's enough of a reason for me to use Herbatint again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous73
fromLong Island, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
BE PREPARED: NO MIXING BOTTLE OR GLOVES!!!!
 July 17, 2014
"I found out too late & had to Mix & Stir the 2 Bottles w/Contents in a Kitchen Bowl & apply it with a Wooden Spoon & my Gloved Hands! - (Gloves I use just for Coloring - they're actually dishwashing gloves. Playtex, I think. I find they work best) - Wasn't pleasant, but it worked. I used a Detangler Comb to help separate sections. I wish I would have known, so I could've been prepared. I took for granted there would be a larger Bottle to pour the other contents in, to be shaken & applied ( you know, like MOST Hair Colors? ) So, Crisis averted Lol! I'll invest in a Mixing Bowl & Brush for future applications. Also, for me, there wasn't any left for future uses. I made sure to use it all!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tigertoo
fromCharleston, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Colors very well
 July 13, 2014
"This is one of the better products I have used for hair coloring."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vbgnyc
fromnyc
Great product!
 July 3, 2014
"I've been using Herbatint for several years now. I'm always trying new colors. Despite being called permanent, the product does not leave a hard line the way chemical products do, so it's easy to experiment with colors without looking streaky. The colors do fade over 6 weeks, making it a very forgiving product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ambasoder
fromNorth Bloomfield,Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great Product
 June 19, 2014
"This product works great"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SDMOGal
fromMissouri
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great produt!
 May 8, 2014
"I like this product because the color lasts, it does not make my head itch like other colors I have used, and it doesn't have harsh chemicals in it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raleighmom
fromN. Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product
 April 22, 2014
"I love that this haircolor is all natural and that I am not putting chemicals on my head. The color comes out really nice, the only problem I do have is that you have to order 2 different colors to get the color you need. I think they should come up with a different formula that allows you to buy only 1 box at a time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mammone
fromAustralia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great coverage
 April 11, 2014
"Leaves hair feeling great"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glzdham
fromHuntington Beach, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product at a great price!
 March 26, 2014
"I've been using Herbatint for three years & it would be a tough sale to get me to switch to any other product. This covers my grey completely, and always leaves my hair shiny & healthy looking."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coffeechic1
fromMissouri
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Awesome
 March 24, 2014
"Absolutely love this product and is so easy to use. Won't use anything else. It does color darker than I expected. Started out using 2 tones darker the first few times and found this one is perfect for dark brown hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thereview
Have been using for many years
 March 6, 2014
"Have tried many of the more natural non commercial hair dyes and the ingredients in this to me seem the best. One important note the conditioner that comes with it I give away. It leaves my hair so dry. But if I use my own conditioner it's fine. Also I find if I rinse my hair for a couple of minutes and then shampoo it is better. I also use my own gloves. And I bought a hair dye bottle and reuse that. Rather then a bowl and brush. It is a bit harder to use then a dye with built in shampoo but I believe the ingredients are better and I have nice results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cinp
fromEaston, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great results!
 January 5, 2014
"I have used this hair color for years, and absolutely love it! It
leaves my hair soft and shiny! I even called the number on the box and was instructed on which colors to mix to get the perfect color for my hair.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5N Light Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rbemom
fromFL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Covers grey well and natural looking.
 November 15, 2013
"This product covers the grey completely, looks like my natural color, and leaves my hair looking and feeling healthy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next