Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL

Herbatint® Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel Has More Conditioning Lasting Colour with Aloe Vera. No Ammonia and No Parabens. 100% Grey Cover. Herbatint is the finest most natural permanent hair colouring gel free of harsh chemicals and Ammonia. Herbatint offers a safe gentle and effective way to colour your hair and cover grey with just 1 application. Depending on the length of your hair Herbatint can be used for 1 application or can be saved for a second application when the colour has grown out. Herbatint can be used even if a chemical dye has been used to colour your hair and if your hair has just been permed. It’s easy to use and has no smell! Herbatint contains herbal extracts to provide nourishment protection and conditioning to both the hair and scalp including:. Aloe Vera - rich in vitamins enzymes panthenol and natural minerals to protect and nourish the hair while colouring;. Meadowfoam - rich in Vitamins E and F ensures better colour cover and long lasting colour results;. Witch Hazel - treats the scalp and rich in essential oils;. Betula Alba (White Birch) - an effective hair tonic and;. Echinacea - hydrates the hair.
Overall rating:
4.717 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
44 out of 46(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Review 1 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christ77
fromLA, California
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great product
 September 30, 2014
"love it and use it for many years!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohaI
fromVirginia
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it
 September 17, 2014
"Covers greys very well, and I'm very happy with the ease of application (it's almost a gel-like consistency when mixed)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LVNVmom
fromLas Vegas, NV
Great product
 August 15, 2014
"I had been looking for a product that was less harsh on my hair than some of the drugstore products as well as a product that wouldn't leave a severe line between what was dyed and new hair growing in. I used to use Naturtint, but after a year or so, my hair started feeling really damaged. I read through lots of reviews for alternatives and decided to try Herbatint. I've used it for over a year now, and I'm very pleased with the color and how relatively healthy my hair still feels. The color is very natural and slowly fades, so that when I get new growth, it looks very natural as well. I especially love the fact that you can use a portion of the dye and save the rest for another time. This means I can just dye my roots without having to waste an entire package. Some reviews complained that the package didn't include an applicator bottle, but really an applicator brush is just a few bucks, so you make up the cost easily if you use a package for two dye jobs. Very pleased with this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
themama4
No smell!
 May 22, 2014
"Not only is this awesome and effective, but it's not smelly! It was the only one I felt fine using when I was pregnant - not at all stinky."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KMOD
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Chemical free, great coverage
 March 6, 2014
"Get this for my hubby, seems to work well. Def better than the other chemical/toxic dyes out there."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
rosienyc
fromNY NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product does not last
 December 28, 2013
"Wanted to go without all the chemicals. Problem here is after two shampoo's the color was gone and GREY was back. Waste of money"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yuan123
fromMiami, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
a good choice
 November 1, 2013
"This hair color has totally no smell. I really like it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JSNJ
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Quality product and easy to use!
 September 25, 2013
"Herbatint is a quality product that leaves my hair with no smell, no damage and full of shine and vitality. It is also very easy to apply with no mess. All in all, a wonderful experience!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imlucky
fromTexas
Dark Chestnut 3N Herbatint
 September 23, 2013
"I use Herbatint because I get 100% coverage of grays and it has been gentle to my scalp and skin and doesn't totally fry my hair. There is no discernible odor in the dye, which I like, though the conditioner that comes with it is very fragrant. I've substituted different conditioners for the packet that comes with and I've had super results each time. A+ product."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Japanesecustomer
fromAlabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for retouch.
 August 13, 2013
"I really liked this product. You can save the leftover for the next time to retouch the roots. I have dark hair but I still think 3N was too dark for me. It looks almost black.
The gray coverage is perfect even though it takes 40 minutes to color your hair. I have reordered several more already.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sukhi
fromRichmond,Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love the price and product
 July 4, 2013
"I been using 3N and 4N mixed together for a long time now almost for more than a year,love it,no burning itching,no chemical smell,no hair loss. Vitacost prices, no other can compete, believe me I shopped around a lot."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sourpunch
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product
 May 22, 2013
"it does not smell horrible, and easy to apply. Color came our great and it lasted about 3 months til I could see it slightly fading. I am def going to use this product for my next touch up!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cincilady
fromCincinnati, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very Pleased!
 March 19, 2013
"I've been hesitant in the past to try this product, but I must say I was surprised and pleased with the results. My few grays are at my temples and around the face. The Roark chestnut covered them beautifully. No irritation to the scalp whatsoever. I will continue to use this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
havehope
fromSouthern California
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Beautiful, easy to use color!
 January 15, 2013
"Darker than expected, but overall a very nice, natural shade. I have naturally dark hair with reddish highlights and wanted to cover the red. Covered completely! Wonderful product. Hair doesn't feel or look dry. Will purchase again! Thank you Vitacost for keeping the price reasonable!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lvgddeals
fromPacifica, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Beautiful, safer hair color
 January 14, 2013
"I've used Herbatint numerous times, & my experience has been very good overall. My hair tends toward bronze/brassy shades with most dyes, so I have begun using darker shades to counteract this. Dark Chestnut is so close to black you probably wouldn't see a difference; it looks dead black for the first week or so, but after each successive wash the color brightens & begins to look much more natural & very shiny. I have gone as long as 2 months before re-coloring but 6-7 weeks is probably best. Definitely milder on my hair & scalp than any of the commercial hair colors & much safer ingredients; also quite easy to apply."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
94501Mom
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great alternative to traditional hair coloring!
 January 12, 2013
"It works just like the nasty chemical stuff I had been using without all the side effects and bad odor. Doesn't smell nice but the smell is less pungent. It lasts just as long as the chemical based ones, the color is great, a very natural medium brown (I use the Chestnut)."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Naturally2
fromBremerton, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair has no bad smell after using Herbatint
 December 19, 2012
"I've used Herbatint hair coloring for the past 3 years. It is a natural product with no ammonia. It covers my gray well. I've used 2N, 3N, and 4N. The color tends to be darker than you would expect so I would recommend going with a lighter color than you would normally choose. My husband loves this hair coloring because it doesn't leave a smell on my hair afterwards!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
YvonneSS
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great coverage
 September 24, 2012
"I've used this product a few times and have been pleased each time. Easy and complete coverage (even the gray hair) and the best aspect of the product is it contains no harmful chemicals. I would recommend this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nhcc
frommichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Covers grey
 August 29, 2012
"I have dark brown hair and lots of grey. This matches my hair and works beautifully. Better than the store bought poisonous kind. this smells pleasant enough and doesn't irritate my scalp. I leave it on for about 40 min though, because my hair is course and tough to take color."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 3N Dark Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marman11
fromNew York, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
You will get compliments!
 August 26, 2012
"Beautiful color, gentle on hair and scalp. I always get compliments! Vitacost offers the best price and the fastest delivery."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next