Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL

Herbatint® Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel has more conditioning lasting colour with Aloe Vera. No ammonia and no Parabens. 100% grey cover. Herbatint is the finest most natural permanent hair colouring gel free of harsh chemicals and Ammonia. Herbatint offers a safe gentle and effective way to colour your hair and cover grey with just 1 application. Depending on the length of your hair Herbatint can be used for 1 application or can be saved for a second application when the colour has grown out. Herbatint can be used even if a chemical dye has been used to colour your hair and if your hair has just been permed. It’s easy to use and has no smell! Herbatint contains herbal extracts to provide nourishment protection and conditioning to both the hair and scalp including:. Aloe Vera - rich in vitamins enzymes panthenol and natural minerals to protect and nourish the hair while colouring;. Meadowfoam - rich in Vitamins E and F ensures better colour cover and long lasting colour results;. Witch Hazel - treats the scalp and rich in essential oils;. Betula Alba (White Birch) - an effective hair tonic and;. Echinacea - hydrates the hair.
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 out of 22(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Review 1 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugeyes
 February 26, 2014
"I love this product. It covers the grey and easy to apply."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chemistry
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great coverage
 January 16, 2014
"Amazingly this product provides better coverage and longer coverage of gray hair then very expensive chemically loaded popular one. No fumes or ammonia smells. Gentle and effective. Like it a lot."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
noverdly
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
LOOKING GOOD IN ME
 December 3, 2013
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"i always recommend Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL because it looks good in me it compliments my skin type so i feel pretty.thus, in life,,most important is healthy and feel young with HERBATINT."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Moe50
fromCt
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 June 30, 2013
"Good coverage and nice color but the product came with no applicator and it was difficult to apply the solution."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tfst
fromMA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 June 21, 2013
"great natural color that lasts. love that I can use just half a box @ a time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
TXquilter
fromArlington, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Hard to apply
 March 23, 2013
"I bought this hair color because it was a couple of dollars cheaper than the one I used before. First you have to pour bottles in a bowl and you can use any amount, how do I know how much to use. Then you need a brush. I am not a hair dresser, I don't have this brush. I am use to pouring one bottle into another and squeezing in on my hair. This is a mess. You can't see the back of your head to use a brush on the roots. I had hair color on my hair, on me and the bathroom. The product is okay, but the application is terrible."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Huladancer
fromHollywood Beach, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The ONLY haircolor I use!
 January 27, 2013
"This uses vegetable dyes, provides great color, no carcinogenic coal tars, no ammonia, and no animal testing."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
McBear
Age:25-34
Natural and non fading
 January 15, 2013
"The color came out great! It has stayed true to color for weeks. Non irritating too. One box was enough for fine/thick hair, 6in past shoulders."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fluffinstuffma
fromNewport News, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 December 26, 2012
"This hair color is very nice, very natural, nice color. It may be difficult to apply, though, as it does not come with an applicator."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PatAnnB
fromVirginia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Herbatint 5D
 December 4, 2012
"I like Herbatint because it is easy to use and I can use it a couple weeks after my body wave without having any breakage. I like the light golden chestnut. I have tried the other chestnut colors but found them to be too dark. I keep it on for about twenty minutes and use color holding shampoos. I use it every two to three months."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
naturelover79
fromsalem. ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this stuff!!
 September 29, 2012
"This was a little darker than I thought it would be when I received it but after washing my hair a few times I really like it. It's great being able to color my hair without the harsh chemicals and horrible smell. It seams like this color stays in MUCH better than the store bought brands I use to use. I LOVE this stuff!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lol37
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
No Stains on my face and scalp
 May 10, 2012
"This is the only hair dye that does not leave stain that last for days on my head. I also love the color. Good at covering grays."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AICLIA
hair color
 January 14, 2012
"As a former colorist...I can truly say this is the best commercial hair color I have ever used. I am 70% grey and it colors beautifully. Great dimensional color, not one flat shade..very natural....and it stays....minimal fading."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yoli
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best!
 April 26, 2011
"I combine 1/3 5D with 2/3 6D for the color I am currently enjoying. Super great grey coverage. Have been using this brand for at least 10 years. Thanks Vitacost for the great prices."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carole
fromIndian Hills, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good value/good product
 June 24, 2010
"This product put a nice/good amount of color on my hair and covered the gray--must leave it on for the specified amount of time, though. Very good coverage and color!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gee1
Great product!
 March 4, 2010
"I recommend this product. Covers and lasts as long as the chemical products and makes hair look healthy and shiny and my hair seems to be getting fuller since chemicals aren't burning the hair off my scalp."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
stephyp
fromFairborn, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
colors gray
 February 16, 2010
"I like this product. Covers gray and has no harsh chemicals."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
penelope34205
fromConnecticut
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Purchase
 December 15, 2008
"Lasting, non-fading color. Leaves hair soft. I would highly recommend this product."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 5D Light Golden Chestnut -- 135 mL
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product