Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL

Herbatint® Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel Has More Conditioning Lasting Colour with Aloe Vera. No Ammonia and No Parabens. 100% Grey Cover. Herbatint is the finest most natural permanent hair colouring gel free of harsh chemicals and Ammonia. Herbatint offers a safe gentle and effective way to colour your hair and cover grey with just 1 application. Depending on the length of your hair Herbatint can be used for 1 application or can be saved for a second application when the colour has grown out. Herbatint can be used even if a chemical dye has been used to colour your hair and if your hair has just been permed. It’s easy to use and has no smell! Herbatint contains herbal extracts to provide nourishment protection and conditioning to both the hair and scalp including:. Aloe Vera - rich in vitamins enzymes panthenol and natural minerals to protect and nourish the hair while colouring;. Meadowfoam - rich in Vitamins E and F ensures better colour cover and long lasting colour results;. Witch Hazel - treats the scalp and rich in essential oils;. Betula Alba (White Birch) - an effective hair tonic and;. Echinacea - hydrates the hair.
Overall rating:
4.578 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
43 out of 45(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Review 1 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chick21
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
It's good!
 July 10, 2014
"I love this product! Makes my hair shinny and the color tunt out great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Magothy
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Rich color yet gentle and safe
 July 8, 2014
"I've been using Herbatint for over 5 years, I love that it's so gentle to the hair. It makes my hair shiny and soft, too, plus the rich color makes it so vibrant. The only downside is I have to reapply every 3 weeks when my gray roots begin to show. But I wouldn't settle for any other brand, it's Herbatint for me!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meglee
fromMinnesota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 June 11, 2014
"I mixed this color with blonde and the color was still a little dark for me, I normally like the light brown color. But the product overall I liked very well, no smell and no burning and color lasts."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MMFF
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Do not go by the name of the color!
 May 20, 2014
"Natural Brown is Jet Black. It covered all my greys. I had healthy previously colored hair. Right after using this product my hair lost all volume and was dry, but still had shine. I went and purchased a good shampoo/conditioner and after about 2 weeks my hair seems to be close to what it was before, and the color has faded a bit, but still too dark. I would use this product again, but not this color."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hapahaole
fromRye, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Doesn't have a bad odor
 April 30, 2014
"I don't like the smell of standard hair color products and Herbatint works at covering the gray and doesn't have or leave a smelly odor. I've been using this product for 5+ years."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromLake Worth, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Healthier Hair Color Alternative
 April 22, 2014
"I've been using Herbatint for years, now. Gone is the horrible smell that comes with ammonia based colors. You do have to keep this on your hair longer (up to 50 min.) than more chemicalled colors, but to me, it's worth it. I blend several browns to get a color more to my liking. Most of these colors are very rich, and dark, and on me, go 'reddish' quickly. Blending several colors and then adding a light ash chestnut help to cut down on the red effect. If you don't have a problem with traditional hair colors going red on you, then Herbaltint probably won't give you any problems. This is just something I experience for some reason. BTW, my natural hair color is white at this point, and you'd never know it by the coverage. Wen hair cleanser really helps to hold the color, too. Hope this helps."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lilyflowers
Very good
 April 13, 2014
"I have been using this one for about 2 years. Like it very much. My scalp does not feel sting like the other hair color products. Got a lot of compliments for my hair color. Thanks."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
goldentrees
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love the color
 March 31, 2014
"I like how it covers the gray hair and doesn't damage my hair like others hair color products do. The color looks so natural too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
flood
Excellent product
 March 26, 2014
"Have used for years. Highly recommend."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trista23
fromRedmond, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Perfect once blended
 December 29, 2013
"I prefer custom blending this colors and my ideal mix is:
2 parts 2N Brown
1 part 6D Dark Golden Blonde
1 part 4N Chestnut
It comes out a nice rich dark brown without being too harsh or dark. My original hair color is a very deep dark brown, close to black. This is slightly lighter than my hair color and is lovely, natural and non-toxic coverage that lasts and looks natural. Although I have young looking skin, and am only 52 years old, I have at least 70 percent gray hair, and this makes me look much younger than my years. I grew out the gray and lived with it for about 6 years before coloring recently and I'm glad I did go back to brown. I had my hair colored in the salon before re-discovering this product and it burned my scalp. This product is completely gentle but as effective as the professional dyes."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LalyG
fromJacksonville, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent Product! Highly Recommended!
 November 19, 2013
"I am so happy I finally found a hair color that does not hurt my scalp! :)...I tried all brands sold at stores, all claimed to be "amonia-free", and still my scalp itched so bad since the first moment I applied them, and then I had to spend at least 1 week with the skin of my scalp peeling off (which looked like I had a bad case of dandruff!) it was so embarrassing!..I have like 25% of my hair with grays, and I'm only 32, so I continued to dye my hair besides the bad effects on my scalp.
I bought this a month ago to give it a try, and I love it!! It didn't burn my scalp, and covered all the grays 100%! It is an awesome product, will buy more and continue to use it!
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Callisandra
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
A bit dark
 October 28, 2013
"I feel like I have experience with most hair colors... so I ordered the brown, thinking that's what the color it would be. Now, the PICTURE is black, but the color description is brown. I went by the word, when I should have gone by the picture.
The smell is much better than chemical filled brands and your hair feels much healthier afterwards, but I am very pale and have had my hair a boring brown for a long time because, well, it works. This definitely came out black and I missed a few spots, not as familiar with the gel/brush process. This resulted in my making a fast salon appointment (expensive) to correct it.
So, my advice is to go by the picture and the not the wording, and to put the dye into a bottle, not use a brush. Otherwise, pretty solid product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gameplayer
fromCranberry Township, Pa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Super Shine
 April 26, 2013
"I purchased this product simply because the gray was showing and I couldn't get out to the store. What a surprise. This was fantastic. Believe it or not, people were stopping me and asking me how I got my hair so shiny. I didn't use any other products. And it really looked natural and left my hair feeling soft. Great purchase."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
boojum
fromHayward, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 March 30, 2013
"Have used Herbatint hair color for over 5 years after trying many different brands. Herbatint has got to be the gentlest and most effective hair color."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ydna
fromGeorgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great coverage and long lasting
 March 18, 2013
"I really like this hair color. It covers well and isn't as harsh as typical colors."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
magnoliahill
Great product, haven't found anything better!
 February 23, 2013
"I've been using this product for the last 4 years, the color matches my hair, so it doesn't look like I did anything to my hair. One box will last me at least three applications. I reapply every 3-4 weeks with a small paintbrush. Vitacost makes it very affordable, thank you."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sparky1937
Age:75+
Gender:Male
 February 21, 2013
"My wife likes the product. She likes the way that the color covers the grey and that it rinses out easily . She especially likes that it is easy to get off her skin."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
suzieblackhair
fromohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
do not recommend
 February 15, 2013
"wanted plain brown hair
bought brown hair color
i have very black hair
"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VitaCost4Me
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Bye-Bye Gray!
 January 27, 2013
"I have thin hair and probably about 80% gray I'm naturally brunette and I'm 44 years old. I have not had success with my attempts at going to a salon even after paying $300 for a color! Herbatint is very gentle and easy to use. I have even called them on the phone in Italy for suggestions! Read the instructions, look at the colors and even blend a few. I experimented and just use the brown which has been working for me as my gray picks up a lighter shade resembling a highlight and almost a little red which I like. I use a brush and a little mixing bowl and one box is usually 2 applications for me so I measure out equal parts well blended prior to applying. I usually have a paper towel handy if I get a little on my forehead so it doesn't leave a dark spot. I don't put a cap on or heat but let it settle on my roots for about 20 minutes (you may need more time). The application is important as well as rinsing which the instructions and diagrams will show. Once I'm in the shower I partially rinse and work it through the rest of my hair for a few minutes before I shampoo. Very important not to get it into your eyes. The conditioner that comes inside the box has a low ph which helps to soften the hair. I usually don't wash my hair the second day either. My hair looks natural afterwards and my husband says it takes off 10 years, and I agree. Like anything you have to find a technique but most importantly this by far is the best product I have ever used. It does not have a foul smell and I used it while I was pregnant as it doesn't have the harsh chemicals that the others have. I am not saying to use it while you are pregnant, just that I felt it was safe."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Herbatint Permanent Herbal Haircolour Gel 2N Brown -- 135 mL
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Angels75
fromEl Paso, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
nice color but messy
 December 5, 2012
"I have tried many hair colors and the ones you buy at the store burn your hair and loose hair. So, I tried this one and it is somewhat messy to put on and if you get it on your forehead it is hard to take off, so if you are planning on coloring your hair and going out FORGET IT. If you try and remove the dye from your skin with soap and other stuff you end up taking off the color, so in the long run I think it should be cheaper since its a mess to put on and to remove it from your skin. :("
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next