Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz

Shikai® natural color care shampoo revitalizes and protects color-treated hair. Gently cleans color-treated or bleached hair without stripping or fading the color.  Two special UV filters provide added all day protection while natural soap & detergent-free Shikai Extract provide gentle cleansing. Plant based. Low detergent extra mild. no animal ingredients. no animal testing
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
16 out of 18(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ms68598
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
God shampoo/Makes my scalp itchy
 July 9, 2014
"I use it because I color my hair. However more recenlt I notice that my scalp gets very itchy"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leathea
A very good shampoo
 June 27, 2014
"I am very satisfied with this product, it seems to have pretty good ingredients and it provides gentle care for my hair.
If you use oil or heavier products on your hair, you probably need to use more of Shikai Shampoo to rinse it out because it's very gentle, but overall I think it does it's job well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
curious777
fromVA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nice smell
 June 9, 2014
"I like this shampoo because it doesn't have yucky chemicals. I've been using paraben and sulfate-free products for a few years now and this one of shampoos on my list (I like to rotate them). It foams nicely and cleanses your hair pretty well without stripping it of the color too much."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daniela1983
Excellent!
 May 4, 2014
"Good for oily hair, gives hair gloss and volume!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ru682640
fromGray Court, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works well for my fine & oily hair.
 April 5, 2014
"I was not expecting it to work for my oily/fine hair because its creamy consistency. But it works great!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RSG3
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 January 29, 2014
"I was looking for a shampoo for my color treated hair. I normally use only organic products, but this one is close enough and it works. I would recommend."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chocolotty
 August 4, 2013
"Great shampoo... doesn't leave any film on your hair or scalp like many other natural shampoos"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Auga
fromBennington, VT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
smells great
 April 12, 2013
"I love this shampoo! My hair feels so nurished and it smells clean and fresh. I particularly like the longevity it gives my color."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
canuck
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great for colour-treated hair..
 January 16, 2013
"A little goes a long way....leaves my hair feeling soft and clean. This is a good shampoo."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunkitten
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great everyday shampoo
 August 6, 2012
"I started using this after my old shampoo, which claimed to be gentle but really wasn't, left my hair stripped of color only a couple of weeks after visiting the salon. I love that this is a natural, gentle shampoo, but that it still lathers well and really gets my hair & scalp feeling clean. It doesn't weigh down my hair at all. I do definitely need to use conditioner with this, though."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
kactuskim
fromTucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not happy
 August 13, 2011
"Bought this product after reading the reviews. Would not recommend for anyone who has fine hair. Mine is shoulder length with a body wave. Hair felt like straw once it was washed and I had a heck of a time getting it detangled. Had to spray a leave in conditioner to help."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
carlaskis
fromMaryland
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Nice shampoo
 July 6, 2011
"Good lather, nice scent. Gentle on dry hair. Love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
happymar
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Terrific Shampoo!
 April 29, 2011
"I love this shampoo. It gives my hair a lot of body and volume. I like the fact it is natural and it makes my hair very soft and manageable."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JingleG
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Smells great!
 May 26, 2010
"This shampoo is very gentle and smells nice. I've used Shikai for a couple years and alternate between this brand and Alba Botanics."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rocklin
fromRocklin, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great shampoo
 May 10, 2010
"I recently ordered my second bottle of this shampoo. The fragrance is milder than I prefer, but it leaves my hair shiny and soft. I have oily hair and use it daily. I use Naturtint to dye my hair and this shampoo works well with it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sueshi
fromNY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Does the job-great price!
 May 31, 2009
"I only use semi-permanent hair color so I was looking for a mild everyday shampoo and this was the only one I could find at the store that met my criteria. I use other Shikai products and have been very happy with them. I was happy to find this product online."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bargain
fromfl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Just average
 February 24, 2009
"Did not see any difference compared to other shampoo"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Shikai Natural Color Care Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product