Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz

Shikai® natural moisturizing shampoo restores shine and softness to dry or damaged hair.  This formula provides extra moisturization for dry damaged or brittle hair.  Aloe combined with vegetable glycerin restores shine and softness while natural soap and detergen-free Shikai Extract provide gentle cleansing.  The botanical extract obtained rom the fruit of an East Asian acacia tree provides rich dense gentle lather and leaves hair shiny and manageable.
Overall rating:
4.591 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 22(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bearreview
fromNew Mexico
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
best for my hair
 October 18, 2013
"For my particular hair I've found this product to work better than other shampoos I've tried. From time to time I try others hoping to find something better, but always come back to this."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mommaof3
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo!
 August 25, 2013
"Works great. I had a severe problem with dandruff a couple years ago. Tried everything. Even steroids nothing helped. Now I use this and Natures Gate Aloe conditioner and my hair has grown back and is healthy as ever."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyBee
Gender:Female
this is great for my hair & sensitive skin
 April 4, 2013
"My scalp breaks out with little itchy bumps if I use hair products with SLS or other harsh detergents or chemicals. I've found several shampoos that don't irritate my scalp, but they usually make my hair feel filmy or dry or otherwise not great. Shikai shampoos work really well for both my hair - it feels clean and looks bouncy and shiny - and they don't irritate my scalp at all. This moisturizing formula works well for me during the dry winter months when my hair tends to need more moisture. Love this shampoo brand!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
uxium
fromWisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Super nice shampoo, but not moisturizing for me
 February 12, 2013
"Love the fragrance in this powerful shampoo...a little dab will create mounds of foam. However, I gave a 3 star rating as I find it more on the harsh side than on the moisturizing side. I have fine hair and look for a little moisture to control flyaway. I will use this lovely fragranced shampoo on occasion but not everyday."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balancing162
fromThe Hot and Steamy Gulf Coast
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Shikai Scents are Super
 February 12, 2013
"I have very long and curly hair which tends to frizz. Since I only use the littlest bit of other products to tame that, I need a 'moisturizing' shampoo to hold things together, not strip them. This product seems to do a good job of gently cleaning, especially with a second run-through. I only wash my hair once a week, but it never looks/feels greasy or weighted down. The Shikai scent lingers for a few days - slightly fern-foresty, with a hint of orchid (?). For those with sensitive skin - no worries. Mine never itches after using this shampoo, likely due to the limited ingredients - but be careful because most of them are botanical. I am also happy Shikai offers this in an eco-friendly size - the reason I purchased the smaller version to make certain I'd want it hanging around. The verdict - Yes!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
1happyday
fromTioga Co. PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Stings the eyes badly
 January 20, 2013
"Otherwise it is a very moisturizing and acceptable shampoo. But just the vapors from this shampoo can sting one's eyes terribly... more than any shampoo I've ever used in 49 years. I could never recommend "stinging" shampoo to anyone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
1curlygirl
 October 6, 2012
"This is not a particularly mild shampoo, despite being sold as for dry hair. My husband has oily hair, and he likes it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freda
fromSt.. Louis
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
very good moisturizing shampoo
 September 28, 2012
"Moisturizes without weighing down fine, fly-away hair,. I find use of this shampoo is not drying. I use a moisturizing cream rinse (leaving a little in rather than completely rinsed out) and get excellent results.
Not a harsh shampoo, no drying chemicals!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dafdafadsf
fromBoston,MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Nice shampoo
 January 9, 2012
"I love this shampoo because it has no harsh ingredients and it makes my gray hair nice and soft. I also use the Shikai Daily Moisture conditioner afterwards. Very nice products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morg
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Smells Divine!
 December 15, 2011
"I finally found the Shikai shampoo that smells soo divine ! I tried this almost 20 years ago and I could not forgot how good it smelled but never managed to find it again until now. I am waxing poetic about a shampoo I know- but this one is very special."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FourPeas
fromVirginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great for Dry Hair
 September 30, 2011
"I have used another high-end product to keep my colored hair soft. The other product was not natural. My hair felt like straw as I washed it. The Shikai product feels great as a wash it and leaves my hair soft once it is dry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leidydi
fromSydney Aust.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Best Shampoo
 June 24, 2010
"From the first wash, my hair felt so soft and silky, each time it feels even better. I don't use conditioner just some leave in moisturiser and the result is fantastic. I have unhappy hair due to health problems but this Shikai puts a smile back into my hair."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lobsteress
fromDurham CT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Awesome product!
 June 20, 2010
"I've been using the Moisturizing Shampoo along with the Everyday Conditioner and it has corrected my dry hair problem permanently. I knew the first time I used it that it was going to work. I would recommend these products highly. I've wasted so much money on high end products before finding this!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cherish1
fromNew Jersey
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 March 28, 2010
"I only used the product about 4x and my hair is soft and shiny. The best thing is that it is unscented. I have been looking for a shampoo without fragrance because I am very sensitive to fragrance. It triggers my allergy with some kind of scent."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jbut1
Gentle and smells nice!
 April 23, 2009
"This shampoo is very nice to use. It does not dry my hair out and is so gentle and you don't need to use a lot. That is saying a lot for my thick, long hair. It's is great because it really cleanses my hair without stripping it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vitashopper
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
So Glad I Tried This~
 January 27, 2009
"I have curly (biracial) hair that is recovering from pregnancy and dry heat, etc. I took a chance on this product because of the reviews and I will use it forever! INCREDIBLE lather -- I had no idea it was possible. My hair feels soft, manageable, and healthy after using this. Love the light, sweet scent. All around a great buy for a great product!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smile
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 October 21, 2008
"Great shampoo! It's perfect for my hair (and I am quite picky). Suds nicely, and leaves my hair feeling soft and clean - not flat or greasy, or not moisturized enough. Gentle scent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pokeytoo
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
good lather
 October 8, 2008
"I like this product. I have used many natural shampoos and hate that they don't produce lather. This one has a nice lather and doesn't dry out my scalp. I'd recommend it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denver
fromDenver, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love the lather!!!!!
 August 12, 2008
"this stuff smells great, lathers up really REALLY well, is thick, very moisturizing, works well with the nature's gate aloe vera conditioner I'm using it with (this shampoo has aloe in it as well). Love this stuff and look forward to trying other products of this brand!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shikai Natural Moisturizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Vicktron
fromConcord, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not very moisturizing!
 June 18, 2008
"This shampoo dries out my hair! I don't reccommend it. The everyday shampoo works so much better to clean and moisturize my hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next