Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz

Organic Superfood. Delicious Shake Mix. 5 g Fiber. 10 g Protein. Non GMO Project Verified. USDA Organic. Kosher. Nutiva® Hemp Protein is an energy-packed addition to shakes and smoothies - the perfect meal replacement or snack. Each serving is full or organic raw protein phytonutrients and fiber and contains no trans fats dairy or lactose.  . Hemp Yourself. Hemp is a high-quality plant protein with branched-chain amino acids that are vital for good health. It contains 66% edestin a bioactive protein found in no other plant - and is super easy to digest!  . Superfood Facts. A single serving of this organic superfood has 10 grams of raw protein 20% of the RDI of fiber and the bonus of good-for-you essential fatty acids (2 g per serving). Add 3 Tbsp of Nutiva Hempseed for 10 more grams of protein and 13 more grams of omega-3.  . People & Planet. Certified-organic hemp is the Earth's premier renewable resource! Unlike most non-organic soy proteins this hemp protein is not processed with hexane a harsh solvent. It's also vegan and comes in a non-BPA container.
Overall rating:
4.162 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
56 out of 68(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
tshook
fromSouth Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
bold flavor
 April 23, 2014
"This is ok, not much different from other mixes on the market. It has a very strong dark chocolate flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Girby7
fromBuckeye, AZ
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Just what I was hoping for. Yummy and easy to use!
 December 17, 2013
"I purchased this for my breakfast smoothies, and I really enjoy it. It is a little sweeter than my last powder I purchased...but not grossly sweet. You get used to the taste, and it blends right in with yogurt and some fruit.
I was disappointed it didn't come with a scoop, so luckily I still had mine from my last powder I had purchased.
Good quality ingredients, and a great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OrganicMama2
fromTexas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love It!
 October 15, 2013
"I orginally purchased this product at my local grocery store but it was significantly more expensive than through Vitacost. I read an article from Food Babe about protein shakes and this one stuck out a good one. After trying it and loving it we decided to order it regularly from Vitacost for about $7 less per bottle!
I love that it is all organic and "clean" and most important to me Non-GMO project verified!!
My husband and I have it daily for breakfast. I did find the 3 Tbsp recommendation to be quite gritty with only 8 oz of milk so I decreased it to 2 Tbsp.
I don't get hungry until about 4 hours after drinking this which is reasonable in my opinion.
I will say there is a LOT of fiber in this which is a good thing but I have noticed signifacntly more gas since drinking this, not painful just present. But nothing bad enough that I'm willing to stop using this porduct. My husband has not had this problem.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
rlane14
fromAshland, Wisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Doesn't mix well with liquids
 August 25, 2013
"It tastes good, makes me feel full, but doesn't mix well after shaking..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
TexasCG
fromTexas
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Doesn't fill me up like other shakes
 July 7, 2013
"I use and have tried MANY different protein shakes. I love them! I always mix them with half of a frozen banana, 5 ice cubes and some water or sometimes some almond milk. This shake doesn't taste great but I can get past that. The problem I had with this shake (and the vanilla because I bought both) was that it did not fill me up or give me the energetic feeling I usually get after protein shakes. In fact it made me sluggish. Good price but I will not be buying again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jubaby
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This has a wonderful consistency and great taste.
 April 14, 2013
"This tastes good but does have a little mocha flavor to it. I mix mine with almond milk and a frozen banana and it is great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamajen
fromCharleston, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great taste and texture
 January 16, 2013
"I mix this with just almond milk and it tastes like chocolate milk, it is that good! The texture is very nice and thick and I love that it is high in protein."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EcoCitizen
fromMesa, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is my favorite protein powder.
 December 17, 2012
"I am a 30-year vegan and drink protein drinks daily. I have tried many, and this is my favorite. It is organic, tastes great, does not have a lot of "extra" ingredients (which I prefer to add myself), and is reasonably priced."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
littledab
fromtulsa ok
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
this product has great features
 October 3, 2012
"have ordered this item twice now. i like the flavor, the fiber, its organic and great dose of protein."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyMom3
fromNorfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Organic Protein alternative
 September 25, 2012
"I was looking for a protein shake that my sensitive stomach could digest easier than whey protein. I mix 3 Tablespoons of this organic Hemp shake with 8 oz of unsweetened almond milk and one ripe banana in the blender and it tastes very yummy!! Great product!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jeninmi
fromMichigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Super Flavor
 July 15, 2012
"I mix this with my plain organic whey protein to give me the extra EFA's and a great chocolate flavor. I love it and recommend it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vken
A must try product
 June 1, 2012
"This is an excellent product. I make a protein shake out of it every morning & it has a very good flavor. I brought (2) containers to start. After receiving it and finding out how good it really was, I re-ordered (4) more of the chocolate flavor. Not only does it have protein in it, but it also has a good amount of potassium and very low on sodium. I absolutely love it! If your sick of the swelling belly with other protein drinks, then this is the one for you. I would highly recommend this to others."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BryanPT
Love it!!!
 April 30, 2012
"It the simply the best vegetarian protein shake that I have tasted. The chocolate flavor is fantastic and it mixes easily in a shaker. I am glad I found this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Navara
Hemp shake
 March 30, 2012
"I did not like the taste of this shake, in fact it is quite horrible. It is passable if you mix with banana flavored milk and eat with a piece of fruit.
I did however make me feel good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
123xx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
A Tasty Shake
 February 21, 2012
"This is a healthy way to do a shake. I have mixed in frozen berries, frozen bananas, yogurt, and or peanut butter. All add a bit of variety to the basic recipe. I have used varies liquids and find it works well with almond mild to keep the calories down. It has a mild chocolate flavor and the texture is fairly smooth and not gelatinous. It is not an overly sweet Starbuck latte or full fat chocolate shake. If that is what you're hoping for this will not to the trick. If you are seeking a healthful smoothie, I'd say give this one a try."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
HMast
Gross
 February 9, 2012
"My husband and I both tried this product and it tastes and smells like medicine. Terrible."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
GeeCee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Worst tasting chocolate shake ever!
 January 12, 2012
"Thought I've give something else a try instead of my usual brand. Yuck! This is the grossest shake I ever tasted and I've tried a lot of them. It has a bitter chemical taste to it. I use a Bullet blender to mix all my shakes and if you don't choke this down immediately you end up with a layer of sludge in the bottom of your glass. I would give this zero stars if I could. I'm going back to Whey Factors."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Zimalove
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great ingredients
 January 4, 2012
"The taste is not that great that is why I gave it 3 stars."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SeizureMonte
fromLas Vegas
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Delicious
 December 27, 2011
"This is delicious especially when mixed with almond milk. If you are not used to having fiber in your diet start off slowly with this. I have this as my snack between breakfast and lunch and as a post exercise snack."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein Chocolate -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoseB
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Delicious!
 September 28, 2011
"I bought the plain hemp shake before and wasn't so crazy about it. I LOVE the chocolate!
I use many Nutiva products including their organic virgin coconut oil.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next