Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Liquid Iron or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz

A Unique Blend Maximizing Absorption Safety and Flexibility. Non-GMO - Contains No Genetically Modified Ingredients. Verified Vegan. Gluten Free. Ionic Iron is a rich concentrated liquid dietary supplement that provides iron in an ionic form - the form most widely recognized by the body. Research indicates that iron plays an important role in proper enzyme and cognitive function energy production and optimal immune system maintenance. Also contains over 72 naturally occurring ionic trace minerals from ConcenTrace® a trade name for concentrated sea minerals from the Great Salt Lake.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
18 out of 21(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Review 1 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph36
fromFrance
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Excellent energy booster
 May 6, 2015
"I am a vegetarian and probably have some iron deficiency. As soon as I had my first dosage I felt an great increase of energy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DoctorH
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
GOOD FORMULA
 January 8, 2015
"I am a person who knows my body, like when my iron levels are low. I stopped taking iron supplements when I reached menopause, as I was no longer menstruating, but discovered that as you age, your need for iron returns, but not like when having periods, so to be able to measure your iron level with this dropper, is great. You can get what you need without overdoing it like with the pills or capsules. The capsules work great too, but at some point you have to stop taking them because you can't measure them to get a lower dose. It would be good if someone did formulate a 10mg dosage of iron in capsule form. Until then, I'll use this. Would've given it 5 stars but the taste is horrible. Works well in juice."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissMary71
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Amazing Product!
 December 8, 2014
"I wish I had known about this product years ago. It's so much easier to take compared to other liquid iron products that are usually syrupy and/or sweet. On top of that the other products make you swallow teaspoons and teaspoons of their iron liquid per day. Yuck!
This product comes with a dropper so it's a much smaller amount to take per day. Just put the recommended amount in some orange juice and that's it. Some reviewers say it has a strong taste, but it won't matter once it's taken with juice. I haven't noticed any bad taste taking it this way.
**Also, for people who have to take iron almost everyday, don't take this with any dairy or calcium related products because calcium blocks your body's ability to absorb the iron. I did not know this for a long time and since I've made this change I can tell my body is absorbing the iron better. Wait a few hours after or before taking iron, before consuming any dairy or calcium products."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cindyrella
fromWisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Exactly what doc ordered
 August 15, 2014
"Yes this is excellent - just a little and feel the slight anemia I have shown to have be gone. Put in smoothie - slight flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dalton1234
Works well
 July 22, 2014
"It tastes like iron which is not good but it seems like it's being absorbed by my body really well. My iron level is finally going up."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clean04
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product!
 May 29, 2014
"My iron levels and energy were very low, I was fatigued beyond belief. After taking this product for a few days I noticed my energy coming back. Great product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JDunn
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
My new favorite iron supplement
 May 18, 2014
"Haven't used this for long enough to know if it is helping my iron stores, but I do love taking this over a tablet form. I feel like the liquid will absorb better. It is so easy to add to water (just tastes a little metallic, but I suck it down), no need to buy juice unless you really want to. Small and doesn't have to be refrigerated, so I can travel with it, unlike the liquid elixirs. The price is also great! Will likely buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cartoonist
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Absorption
 January 16, 2014
"Probably the most absorbable iron supp on the market due to the other minerals present."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AkronOH
fromAkron OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Product/Good Price
 January 7, 2014
"I use this product because the iron pills cause constipation for me."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meli03
fromMI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent
 December 16, 2013
"I've been anemic since I was a pre-teen and have struggled to find a decent iron supplement that actually works for me. This is the only supplement that I've tried that has had a noticeable effect. Within a day or two I noticed a difference in my energy level.
Do not take it straight- mix it with some orange or grapefruit juice and it masks the taste well. Great product, I'm so glad I finally found it and tried it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sons
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
constipation
 May 4, 2013
"good price I just wish it was sold in larger bottle. went to pharmacy to get the right liquid amount to match iron pill."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NicP
fromClearwater, fL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good Iron
 March 21, 2013
"This is a great product. I prefer liquid or powdered vitamins due to easy absorption. I put it in grapefruit juice and do not taste the bitter iron at all. I have noticed a difference in feeling less fatigued when taking it. I highly recommend it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
letigre
fromON, Canada
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Very good product
 January 11, 2013
"This product is easy to take, just a few drops in my juice and I get an excellent dosage of iron. The price is low and affordable. I highly recommend it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lior
fromCanada
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
The best source of Iron
 December 12, 2012
"I tried to find Ionic Iron and it is not easy, all the rest irons are not fit me and my family, we are vegans so it is the best for people that need to get Iron, Best product and best price"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vegetarian101
fromPepeekeo, HI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Works very well.
 June 26, 2012
"When I took this with a cup of juice, it did not have any after taste."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
NYVegan
Foul tasting
 January 10, 2012
"I gave this to my son straight out of the box. He made a horrible face, but didn't say anything. Next day, same thing. On the third day, he told me he hated it, but I attributed that to the fact that it wasn't flavored like most children's supplements. On the fourth day, he ran from me when I tried to give it to him. I tasted it myself and found it to be one of the most foul substances I'd ever tasted, and I had to apologize to my son for making him take that awful stuff. I suspect it was oxidized. We'll never try it again."
-11points
2of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous9
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good supplement but tastes horrific.
 January 30, 2009
"This supplement has not made me nauseous like other iron supplements have. I wouldn't recommend taking it straight. It's like licking a rusted-out, iron beam. I usually mix it with a little bit of orange juice. I can still taste it a little, but it is much more bearable. When I run out of the bottle, I believe I'm going to try to find something comparable in pill form."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crunchie
fromTN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Results
 December 25, 2008
"Trace Minerals Ionic Iron delivers great results. I started using it with the World Organic Liqui-Kelp Iodine. It took about 3 or 4 days and I noticed increased energy. I was always feeling cold and that started going away after about 4 days too. I love it. I mix it with orange juice and there is no taste at all. I tried it with cola once and it was ok. I tried once with tea and that was not good. OJ is the best."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jazzfan1
fromUtah
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
good liquid form of iron
 November 6, 2008
"I noticed a review about this product where the individual took it straight. You are supposed to mix this with water or juice and not take it straight. It is a good, highly absorbable, form of iron. When you mix it how you are supposed to, taste isn't a concern. This product has a great cost as well for a 48 day supply!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Trace Minerals Research Ionic Iron as Ferrous Sulfate Blend -- 22 mg - 1.42 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lemonade
Terrible!
 July 9, 2008
"This is the most horrible tasting supplement I have ever tried. Not only does it have the very strong iron taste, but they then add a heavy dose of salt. Even though I squirted it it in the very back of my throat, it still took about half a liter of water to get the horrible taste out of my mouth. This may be a good for you form, but the taste is so bad you can't even take it. While it costs much less than most of the other iron supplements, since it tastes so bad, I can't even take it, so it was a total waste of money."
-14points
0of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 next