Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Evening Primrose or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels

Pure & Unrefined. Nurture and Nourish Your Body With Barlean's Evening Primrose Oil for your vibrant health and energy. EPO is revered for providing relief from symptoms associated with PM and menopause such as craps hot flashes breast tenderness and moodiness.
Overall rating:
4.826 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
22 out of 23(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Review 1 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bloosteel
fromPalo Alto, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This product is a quality oil.
 August 8, 2014
"Very happy with how fast I received this product in the mail. Also very happy with the quality and packaging."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
happyy
frompa.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
In a dark capsule.
 July 3, 2014
"Just started using product. I have a no problems with it. Getting use to the dark capsule."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ToniAnn
fromlighthouse point, floria
great healtth benefits
 May 17, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maliona
fromHawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
best primrose oil
 October 1, 2013
"I rally trust Barleans and think this is the best primrose oil available"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
emmiek
fromohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
The best evening primrose oil
 May 29, 2013
"I have tried other brands but will continue to use only Barlean's Organic. This works great for menopausal symptoms."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CheffK
fromSouth Central, Alaska
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent product!
 March 3, 2013
"I have been using primrose oil for a couple of years off and on mainly because my mother uses it. I read the reviews of the Barlean's in one of the journals of medicine though and they specifically recommended this brand over others due to the purity and the quality of the product. I have now taken this for a year and the difference is amazing. We live in a very dry northern climate wherein we are plagued with dryness for about 5 months of the year. This has made a tremendous difference in keeping my skin more supple and hydrated. This is a huge ordeal as after taking a shower during the winter, one had to slather on lotions to keep feeling like you were not a snake with a molting issue. As for mood swings or other female related conditions, I do not notice a huge difference there but I haven't stopped taking this product either.
Well done Barlean's! Placing another order very soon.
"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Workingmom3
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Better Than Expected
 February 6, 2013
"I am months away from 50 years old, and in overall good health. I have not gone through menopause, but in the last few months, experienced daily hot flashes and nightly sweats. I did a fair amount of research before buying it and determining the dose, and thought it was worth a try. I take two pills a day--one in the morning and at bedtime. Although I recognize that the science hasn't been proven, this product has proven my hypothesis.
In a matter of two weeks, the symptoms have disappeared. I now sleep through the night again. Really. As a side note, I trust the Barleans's brand.
"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jenp13
Age:35-44
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Great for female health
 February 5, 2013
"Have been using this product myself for years and recently started using it with my daughter-drastic improvements in PMS-breast tenderness, acne, mood changes, and cramping with menses."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
TLJk
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
use caution when using this product
 November 9, 2012
"I could not not take this product it makes my stomach very upset!!!! ( I was told this would help with hot flashes)"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Honeysuckle
fromKnoxville, TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
This is Good
 July 2, 2012
"I like this product. I will order it again. I see an improvement in my skin."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philippians4628
fromUpstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Just what I needed
 June 22, 2012
"I was looking for an organic evening primrose oil product to help me with my perimenopause symptoms of nighttime hot flashes and found Barlean's here at Vitacost. I have been using this product for about a month and have seen a vast improvement in my hormone levels. I no longer have the hot flashes and I can sense that my hormones levels are better. I will be purchasing these again."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
run4ever
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best than other products
 August 4, 2011
"I had bought several primrose but not working for me not like Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil is the best I ever have since 6 years ..... I try to look for less cost in different brands but all are not working for me only this brand is best the cost is highly but it worth it my reccommendation do not change stick with this one. :~)"
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Myles
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great product
 November 8, 2009
"As per the advice of a friend, I've been using this product for almost a year now and it helps with my my dry skin and other PMS symptoms. I highly recommend it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magdalenna
fromSeattle, WA
Gender:Female
Great for women, love this stuff!
 September 14, 2009
"No diff the 1st month, my menses the second month are massively improved. Virtually no cramps, bloating, breakouts etc. I LOVE this stuff. Going on month 3 and still feeling great. Cycles normalized and shortened too, from a 34 day cycle w/ 7 days bleeding to a 28 day cycle w/ 4 days bleeding."
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HolisticMommy
fromLong Beach, ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Purchase
 January 19, 2009
"Evening primrose oil is always on my list to purchase. It's another very important EFA. My skin and hair look better, and if you know all the other benefits you would never stop taking it :)) Barleans' is one of the best ones I bought for the purity of its oils."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geocacher
fromMissouri
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
High Quality Oil
 August 29, 2008
"My OB-GYN had recommended that I supplement my diet with Evening Primrose Oil for breast tenderness and cramps. I had tried other brands without noticing any changes, resulting in my ceasation of the oil. This year, I discovered Barlean's. After taking them for at least one month, I noticed less cramps and tenderness. In addition, I have had an overall more calm demeanor. Evening primrose purportedly can naturally enhance breasts. I do not know if the oil can increase their size, but I have noticed that my breasts seem a little more firm."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Barlean's Organic Evening Primrose Oil -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product