Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps: 18-in-1 Hemp Tea Tree Pure-Castile Soap. Made with organic oils. No foaming agents. Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! Guaranteed pure potassium castile soap. Dr. Bronner's TEA TREE Pure-Castile Soap has our most controversial label as it includes Dr. Bronner's ecstatic love poetry. When the Almond-Castile label is rhythmically recited while bathing and breathing in the almond-scented steam-misted waters of the inner bath-tub sanctum people enter deep dreamy mystical trance states of super-sensuous luxuriousness and consciousness and emerge from their bath as if from the Fountain of Life--reborn renewed refreshed and ready to help unite the human race! All-One! All One! Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.839 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
30 out of 31(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyMustang
fromWoodbridge, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I love this soap!
 April 23, 2014
"Organic, clean-smelling, tea tree oil, excellent lather, long lasting, this soap is really nice to irritated skin. It can also be used as a shampoo if your scalp is irritated."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bbur
 February 20, 2014
"Great product, I just am not crazy about this particular scent is all."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1mamac
fromFlorence South Carolina
Age:35-44
Excellent Product
 August 10, 2013
"I use this soap to wash in and to clean with .....a great all purpose soap."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TizTaz
fromDetroit, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good product
 April 14, 2013
"I love to use this soap as a body wash. It smells great and cleans well. I've tried to use it as a shampoo, but found it to be too drying. I haven't used it for a household cleaner yet, but I think that it would work. I'm happy with it so far."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
srf122
fromGrand Rapids, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good Stuff
 December 14, 2011
"Very powerful soap but is easy to rinse... Smells like any other tea tree product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MayaS
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great soap
 April 22, 2011
"I love this soap. The only complain is about the packaging - if it was a pump it would be much more convenient to use it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JordMor
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it!
 April 9, 2011
"You can never go wrong with products from this company. I love the tea tree oil smell!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitallyfeelinggood
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Stuff
 September 8, 2010
"I have used this product for a long time and just recently have been buying it from Vitacost. It's a deal and it makes skin feel really clean!
I have used it all through my home, not just the shower.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ashlex
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
I use it with additives
 July 16, 2010
"I make my shampoo with it. Did not succeed to perfection this time around, but that soap's ingredients list works for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovestohavefun
fromBinghamton, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:30-60 days
Dr. Bronner's tea tree liquid soap
 July 6, 2010
"I use Dr. Bronner's tea tree liquid soap in the shower, and my skin feels squeaky clean. Also use it to wash my hair. Am going to try use it to clean my shower. Good product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
speldoc
fromGA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Value, Great For Hand Soap Pumps
 July 6, 2010
"I love this. I have tried the lavender version and love it as well. My intention is to try all of the Dr. Bronner's soap varieties. This is great to put in a soap pump, foaming only otherwise it will clog the pump. You only need maybe 1 part castille soap to 10 parts distilled water for an 8oz soap bottle. I think this is by far the best variety for hand soap because of the tea tree oil which is a natural antiseptic and bacterial killer. I wash my hands a lot and unlike sodium laureth sulfate based soap, this doesn't dry my hands out. Also on a whim I tried it as a clothing detergent. I was suprised it worked really well! It didn't fade the colors, not even on my delicates and it made my whole laundry room and kitchen smell like a spa! Absolutely wonderful and very green friendly for mother Earth!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamarophe
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love it!!
 June 22, 2010
"I absolutely love this soap! I use it for more than just a body wash. I put a little in my all purpose spray and clean the counter tops, table, floor, bathtubs, sinks, etc. with it. It's a great antibacterial soap without all the nasty chemicals involved."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
elficklin
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Very economical
 May 2, 2010
"This has proved better than my bleach, based bathroom cleaner. With less than a teaspoonful of liquid soap on a wet sponge I can practically wipe away dirt and grime from my bathtub and sink.
If you plan to use this for sponge bathing, closely follow the directions on the bottle. DO NOT add to bath water. This product is very strong and can irritate delicate tissues! Try the bar soap version instead.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sami
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love This Soap!
 April 10, 2010
"Wonderful ingredients...Leaves skin soft and refreshed...Smells good...Lathers Very Well."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlueMaui51
fromWaterford MI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
A Staple in my House
 December 15, 2009
"We use the tea tree castile soap for everything. It's antiseptic properties are good, and Dr. Brenner products are pure and safe to use - even on my dog."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DolceBella
fromMichigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
It's great!!
 October 21, 2009
"This is the first Dr. Bronner product I've used, and I gotta say I'll never be without it again. I wasn't too sure about the smell at first, which was very strong, but after using it for a few weeks, I grew to like it. I use this one on my face, body, as a shampoo, and even once as a detergent. It leaves skin very soft. Plus, I love the fact that is all natural, what's better than that?
I will be trying the other liquid soaps next, like the peppermint and lavender.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeHisChild
fromColorado Springs, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great product for skin
 October 5, 2009
"Great product for sensitive skin. Works well for acne prone skin. Would buy it again!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
snedmom
Not a body soap
 September 12, 2009
"I purchased this to use as a body soap and couldn't get past the odor. I use it for cleaning my toilet and it works well for that."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aloishous
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Soap
 July 13, 2009
"I was not too sure of this scent at first because I had been using the original peppermint soap for years, but it has since grown on me, and is just as effective as the original."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balancing162
fromThe Hot and Steamy Gulf Coast
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Makes skin happy
 March 16, 2009
"The castille soap is very gentle for sensitive skin, but be careful: DO NOT GET INTO EYES, or other sensitive areas!! Rinse quickly, and remember not to do that again! Despite the warning on the front label, I use a pump dispenser to reduce waste, but I've found the "foaming" pumps don't clog as bad as others. The tea tree scent is an acquired one....I mix it with peppermint and eucalyptus for that, and other, reasons."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next