Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Honey or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz

USDA Certified Organic. 3 times the bioflavonoids and 7 times the antioxidants of wildflower honey. Not pasteurized or force filtered. Multi-floral great-tasting rich Wild Rock Bee honey. Economically supports India's native Soliga Tribe. Himalaya has engaged the Soliga Tribe to collect certified organic honey from the tropical evergreen forests of South India.  In turn Himalaya buys honey from the Soligas so they may build better lives for themselves. The Soligas believe human life is intertwined with the natural ecosystem leading to the practice of sustainable harvesting where the wild bee colony and comb are not destroyed.  Hundreds of different flora gives this honey a unique flavor and robust aroma.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Review 1 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hollie2009ad
fromFitchburg, Mass.
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Not your usual honey:
 January 17, 2013
"This has a different taste than American honey, so I will have to get use to it. I like to eat honey from the jar by the spoonful, but, not this one yet; but it should be very good in tea. +JMJ+"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cater
fromnyc
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
finger licking good
 December 30, 2012
"this is like no other honey--very unique"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RyaninPP
fromPinellas Park, Florida USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great flavor with lots of perks!
 July 15, 2012
"Was a little apprehensive to "step" outside the normal honey routine. Although I use, or attempt to use organic honey, I was not too sure how this Soliga honey would compare. It was more than I anticipated and I even went to the extent of allowing friends to dip in and taste the flavor. I mix the normal organic honey with a multigrain oatmeal, chia seed, walnut, cinnimmon mixture I eat in the mornings. The Soliga OF Honey not only added a intriguing flavor to this, but seemed to accent the other flavors involved as well. I will be purchasing this over and over again...Hey Viticost...is there a larger size?"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
trinity33
excellent taste
 June 7, 2012
"best honey i ever tasted; really good...the only thing that would make it better is if it were raw."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taste:
2 / 5
2 / 5
purplelday
fromElkhart, IN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
odd taste
 January 19, 2012
"This honey has astrong taste of molasses. Maybe it is my imagination but it does not taste like honey."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenInSacTown
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Yummy!
 November 19, 2010
"It is sweet but has a less floraly taste, kind of woodsy/grassy/earthy, but not over the top and gross. If you like strong and dark honey, this one is for you. The adults ate it straight out of the jar or put it on toast. It didn't last long. Organic and provides income to indigineous people to boot."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RushWoman
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Interesting flavor
 July 9, 2010
"This has a strong, robust flavor that I appreciate for a great change of pace. It is a marvelous thing to pour from the jar into the smoothie blender, then lick the spoon. Really amazing flavor! I think it is sweeter, too, than my previous honey but now I simply use a bit less. I really, really like this for a great change of pace from clover. If you like robust flavor, give this a whirl."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amzonian
fromSan Jose,CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Honey
 June 20, 2010
"Nicely packaged and great taste. Himalaya products are quite popular worldwide."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ExplorerSpiff
fromS Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
More than a DIFFERENT & BOLD Flavor
 February 11, 2009
"This honey tastes different than any other I've tasted- the color is darker -which also could describe the flavor...it is woodsy - with a sort of sour bite to it, definitely not floral. It's been great for cooking -I used as a brushed on fish & chicken instead of egg before lightly seasoning & a dash of grated cheese. I also appreciated the jar, lid & the little tag with the story: "this organic honey supports the Soliga Tribe of S India... via sustainable harvesting...wild bees & comb are not destroyed..." It's uplifting & educational- This will make a great gift for earthy & green conscious friends."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colli
fromSan Francisco
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
delicious!
 September 13, 2008
"A special honey! I will definitely buy it again. And, the round jar is neat, worth saving to reuse."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
zihazel
Great taste
 April 2, 2008
"Taste is distinct, but mild enough to not overpower everything it touches. However, it does compete a bit with subtle flavors; it's best on plain food, such as toast. Great in all kinds of tea as well (both herbal and black). Plus, you can feel good about your purchase since this honey is fair trade and benefits an indigenous tribe."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Himalaya Herbal Healthcare Soliga Organic Forest Honey -- 8.8 fl oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product