Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz

Premium 100% Semolina™. Couscous needs no cooking.  It is a pre-cooked pasta of North African origin made from semolina durum wheat flour.  This tiny pearl-shaped pasta is infinitely versatile and combines beautifully with vegetables meats and sauces.  Try Casbah couscous with our quick and easy recipes for delicious exotic surprises.  Come to Casbah - natural foods in good taste.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 10(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Review 1 for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
choosing2bhealthy
fromCape May, NJ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
smooth & tasty!
 November 22, 2014
"I haven't really used couscous, but tried this, as I wanted something different. I liked that it's whole wheat, which is hard, if not impossible to find in the local grocery store.
It cooked up very quickly & easily, & is smooth & delicious. I will certainly use it again.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
educator4kids
fromTennessee
Best couscous I have ever tried!
 August 20, 2014
"This really is the best couscous I have ever had. It is much moister than other brands I have tried and does not have the gritty whole-wheat taste other whole-wheat brands do. I use vegetable stock instead of water to give it a flavor boost, but the taste, texture and consistency of this product are top notch!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
JS12
fromDel Mar CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Whole bad taste
 May 4, 2012
"I'm a whole wheat seeker and thought I'd try this as other Couscous are not whole wheat.
Kernels are too tiny and made for a sour mush.
Will not order again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
melinar
fromHouston
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
A great alternative to rice
 June 22, 2010
"I love couscous, but Vitacost is the only place I have been able to find plain, whole wheat couscous. I use it in the place of rice, especially as a bed for vegetable stirfry dishes. One box makes a huge amount, and you can't beat this price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
melinar
fromHouston
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
A favorite!
 June 20, 2010
"Vitacost is the ONLY place I have found 100% whole grain couscous. Not even my health food store carries it. The price is low, and the box says it makes 8 servings, I think, but one box makes a HUGE amount of couscous. You can make real Moroccan couscous (great recipe on box) or use it in the place of rice, which is what I do. It cooks in 5 minutes, and you only boil water. Cheap, convenient, simple, and delicious!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KittyBee
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Product
 June 18, 2010
"I always have coucous in the house and I really like this whole wheat kind. Great substitute for rice or other grains."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LhasaApso
Live on it!
 June 17, 2009
"This stuff is insanely easy to make, tasty, filling (7g of fiber) and can be flavored any which way or added to practically everything. A must for my home!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
curleyhair
fromKent, WA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
fine product
 July 19, 2008
"I am so happy to have at last found a good place to purchase whole grain couscous. We've gone through several boxes and found it to be of excellent quality, and amazingly, the postage was not prohibitive to buy it on line. Thanks for making it so easily available to us."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
haveFaithnGod
fromall 4 seasons
Age:25-34
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love!
 May 13, 2008
"This was the first time I've ever eaten Couscous and I love it. It is great mixed with some butter and eaten just like that. I cooked up some chicken strips (like the ones used in salads) in some olive oil then cut them up into bite-sized chunks. Then I cooked 1 serving of couscous and let set. I opened a can of garbanzo beans (chick peas) and a can of corn, mixed them then heated them up. Drain. Mix all this together while hot and add some shredded cheddar or fiesta cheese. Honestly, we like this even better the next day eaten cold out of the fridge. It is the bomb. Will definitely be ordering more."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Casbah Organic Whole Wheat Couscous Original -- 10 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
0not0
fromCA
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
quickest pasta ever & whole wheat!
 February 1, 2008
"Cooks in 5 minutes, versatile, tastes yummy, my kids love it, & whole grain. What more could you ask for?"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.