Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Amino Acids or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)

Strengthen and defend yourself against stress and muscle fatigue! What is L-glutamine?  . L-glutamine is an amino acid found in a proportionally high amount in the body compared to other amino acids. Scientists consider L-glutamine to be a conditionally essential amino acid meaning its intake is not normally required in the diet. L-glutamine is the most abundant amino acid in blood plasma and a major transporter of nitrogen. It is an important precursor for protein synthesis and it supports cellular functions of all types. L-glutamine is also a precursor of L-glutamate (an amino acid involved in energy metabolism). How does L-glutamine support health? Assists in the process of exercise recovery and helps maintain nitrogen/ammonia balance for better muscle metabolism.*. Helps maintain normal function of the entire gastrointestinal tract.*. Under physiological stress L-glutamine may have to be supplied by diet to maintain normal gut liver immune and muscle function.*. Why choose Vitacost L-Glutamine? Delivers 4500 mg of L-glutamine per 1-teaspoon serving. Mixes easily with water or juice; no blender required! Contains 111 servings per container. High quality at an incredible value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.561 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
54 out of 57(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tisko
fromSydney, Auustralia
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Top Glutamine!
 May 4, 2013
"great stuff but tastes 'slighty' bitter. Other than that it's great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweetbread
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best deal!
 April 28, 2013
"The best deal you can get for the price!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lalalacr
fromNew Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 April 19, 2013
"Great product and at a great price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ralves7372
fromBrasilia-Brasil
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
One of the best
 March 10, 2013
"Fair price and great product."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
Vitacost BCAAs L-Leucine L-Valine L-Isoleucine -- 5000 mg per serving - 10.5 oz (300 g)
3.6 out of 5(87)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doctor
Great!
 January 14, 2013
"Powerfulness!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smuggler
Product works well
 December 22, 2012
"Great price for an excellent product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JustJai
fromAustralia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Awesome
 October 26, 2012
"Best value for money ... get this over the capsules for sure!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
studyhard
fromChattanooga, tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Taste
 September 22, 2012
"This product had the most awful aftertaste. I hated to throw it away after only 2 servings, but the taste was that bad. Almost made me feel the product went bad."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamaMac
fromAustin, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great value, good product
 September 10, 2012
"I appreciate that I can get 4,500 mg of product in only 1 teaspoon. Mixes well with my morning Emergen-C and other mixable products. Seems to work well - I feel recharged when I take this after exercising."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cdogg12220
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great price and effective
 August 8, 2012
"Excellent Amino Acid for your post workout and if you are having issues with ulcers, particularly duodenal, this product helps restore the tissue in your gut.
Vitacost has it priced aggressively for the same formulation as the nationally branded products. Save your money, buy the Vitacost brand"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LisandraBeFit
fromChappaqua, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Lisandra McGrath loves Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder
 July 29, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Great product, great price, great site. I'm an ACE certified Personal Trainer, an ACE certified Lifestyle and Weight Management Coach, and a figure bodybuilding competitor. I take numerous supplements to support my very active lifestyle and I order ALL OF THEM from Vitacost. I recommend this site to all my friends, family and clients.
As for the Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder, I use 1 tsp 3-4x/day. Great product. I highly recommend it."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NYFL
Great product
 June 16, 2012
"Mixes well and the taste is not noticeable. You cant ask for more from L-Glutamine."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mdpalagi
Very satisfied.
 May 27, 2012
"Great value. Mixes well, no taste. Would order again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissD33
fromPittsburgh, Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best L-Glutamnien!
 January 13, 2012
"I have tried several L Glut powders, this one only that mixes in very well to anything, no taste at all. Some others I have tried get chunky and taste horrible. This works well to rebuild muscles, Will buy again, Great price"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
photoartist2828
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
static problem
 June 11, 2011
"The plastic jar creates static electricity in the powder."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chris59
fromCarlsbad
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This stuff works
 May 31, 2011
"I tried using L-Glutamine and it worked but I stopped for some reason. I recently bought so more and it's working. How do I know? Recovery is much faster. That is huge in my opinion. Plus you can't go wrong with NSI."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lonnie77
 March 4, 2011
"All the capsules were stuck together! I'm going to send it back."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
erman24
fromNew England
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Very fine
 January 26, 2011
"I've been quite pleased with this. It seems to be a top-notch product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
beverlyann
fromAtlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 November 25, 2010
"Great for the gut. Be sure to take it on an empty stomach or you will just be wasting your money."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost L-Glutamine Powder -- 4500 mg per serving - 1.1 lbs (500 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dispatch
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Better Recovery after workouts
 September 21, 2010
"I have been adding this to my protein shakes daily and have noticed a small, but noticeable change in recovery time. DOMS does not seem as bad when I add this regularly (a long with eating a proper diet)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next