Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(488)
Amino Acids(1,285)
Calcium(3,254)
CoQ10(2,222)
Coconut Oil(2,838)
EFAs(3,290)
Fish Oil(1,385)
Iron(493)
Krill Oil(672)
Magnesium(1,526)
Melatonin(959)
Multi-vitamins(10,403)
Omega-3(4,474)
Probiotics(4,444)
SAMe(520)
Spirulina(74)
Vitamin A(116)
Vitamin B(4,054)
Vitamin C(2,436)
Vitamin D(2,146)
Vitamin E(442)
Vitamin K(225)
Whole Foods(1,016)
Zinc(323)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Fiber or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)

An easy way to add natural fiber to your diet! Supports colon health and cholesterol and blood sugar levels already within normal range.*. What is Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder? Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder is an easy way to add natural fiber to your diet. Simply mix into beverages such as water juice milk rice milk or soymilk. . Psyllium husk powder is derived from the seed coverings of the Plantago ovato plant. It contains a high amount of soluble fiber. Beneficial bacteria utilize soluble fiber to “fuel” the colon helping improve the natural elimination process of the body. The health of the colon like all body systems is dependent on energy. Psyllium also slows absorption of foods and holds water supporting healthy normally formed bowel movements.*. How does Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder support health? Promotes colon health.*. Promotes healthy formed stools.*. Supports proper elimination and normal bowel movements.*. When added to a diet low in saturated fat and cholesterol psyllium can help promote healthy cholesterol levels.*. Supports healthy blood sugar levels within the normal range.*. Why choose Vitacost Psyllium Husk powder? Supplies 5000 mg of psyllium husk power per tablespoon serving. Easy to use. Mix into water juice and other beverages. Contains 250 servings per bottle. Incredible value! NOTE: This supplement should be consumed with at least a full glass of liquid. Consuming this supplement without enough liquid may cause choking. Do not use this product if you have difficulty swallowing. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.708 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
62 out of 65(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeerJo
fromWI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works excellent
 March 21, 2014
"Have had troubles for years with going number 2!!!
Have tried all sorts of things to help.
I came back to the psyllium husk & glad I did.
I had never used the Vitacost brand before but am glad I tried it.
This is the brand I will always buy!
Works best of any I have used before & is priced right.
Also no additives & no sugar.
NEVER have a problem any longer!!!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
linda394
fromOH
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 November 18, 2013
"Great stuff for natural fiber!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DocPeanut
fromSanta Barbara, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
A moving experience.
 November 8, 2013
"Although the product does not mix really well with water and therefore a bit difficult to swallow, it none the less works well and consistently provides for a moving experience."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goatwoman
fromMt Gilead Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 November 5, 2013
"love this product, would recommend it to any one, works just as good if not better then what u buy in the stores. I am a bargan shopper and was paying an outrageous price for the same product, truly glad I found it thro vitacost. :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HNSpro
fromCT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Easy to mix, does the cleaning trick.
 November 4, 2013
"Vitacost's psyllium seed husk powder is easy to mix with water and is a great fiber to help with regularity. The price is great.
I recommend it to all my fitness clients to add fiber to their diets and keep the colon healthy.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyPaddler
fromTroy, New York
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Does the job
 August 15, 2013
"I stir this product into my orange juice every morning and it certainly does the job. I recommend it to everyone who needs more fiber in their diet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeggieKaren
fromOrlando, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product at an unbeatable price
 July 18, 2013
"All unflavored psyllium husk powders are basically the same, so what it really comes down to is price. And the price of this one is unbeatable. Combine it with a Vitacost Bogo sale, and the value is amazing.
I add this to to my morning smoothies every day. And like all Vitacost products, the quality is absolutely first rate.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sucaba
fromToronto Canada
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product is excellent and does what it says.
 July 10, 2013
"I take it for specific healt reasons and it helps me maintain regular bowel movements which is essential to overall health."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
davgar40
fromSan Francisco Peninsula, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
The best price and great quality.
 June 18, 2013
"I have been using this fiber for a few years now and it has always worked well. You can't beat the price either."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
organic50
fromOH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
keeps me regular
 June 10, 2013
"I use psyllium husk every night as recommended by my doctor to keep me regular and now my husband use it as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rhetse4kids
fromSouthern California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great value, healthy choice!
 April 19, 2013
"After both my husband's and my doctor recommended that we take fiber supplement, we found this to be of best value and a great, effective choice!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
conusha
fromsouth plymouth,ny
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
exactly as discribed
 March 22, 2013
"got the best price for this,hard to find anywhere else."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dino01
fromNY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works
 January 18, 2013
"Good value with size and price. Works well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AverageCustomer
Just as described
 January 14, 2013
"This product is exactly as described, and it does what is supposed to do. As it turns out, "intaking" the material in the powder form is very difficult I ordered another batch, this time in capsule form, and they work perfectly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
McKayla
fromRoanoke, Virginia
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I have ordered several products--all are great.
 January 13, 2013
"The products are great and the service is tremendous. You order, and it seems you turn around and they have arrived."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lambkins
fromTennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Effective
 December 27, 2012
"I put some an even Tbsp in my smoothie each morning, partly for its thickening effects, but mostly for its digestive benefits. Used to buy psyllium elsewhere, but when I discovered the price on VitaCost, I've stuck with it ever since.
p.s. Even with drinking 2+ quarts of herbal tea a day, I found that using more (than mentioned above), e.g., 2x, tended to stuff me up, rather than improve the flow. YMMV.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perchie
fromTallahassee, FL
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Can't live without it.
 December 22, 2012
"I have been using this psyllium fiber for about three years and love it. I was getting the flavored stuff but decided I didn't want all the sugar they add to it to make it taste like Tang. I mix this with water and a little cranberry juice for flavor. I use a shaker bottle so it mixes well and fast, otherwise it will thicken pretty quickly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cmomage46twoyounggirls
fromOklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good deal
 December 4, 2012
"We were running out of similar product different brand. It looked like a good deal, so i purchased it. We haven't used it, yet."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rcprdh
fromPA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
:)= +++
 November 15, 2012
"GREAT PRODUCT AT A GREAT PRICE"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Psyllium Husk Powder -- 5000 mg per serving - 44 oz (1250 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bisou
fromSomers, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent product + the secret to no lumps
 November 6, 2012
"I have been searching a long time for psyllium powder without sugar or artificial sweeterners. Whole Foods has a few varieties but they all have very large flakes and are fairly expensive. Vitacost is a fine powder which mixes up smoothly. The price is hard to beat.++ I have seen complaints about lumps. The secret to mixing this or any psyllium powder is to use very little liquid initially, making a slurry or paste. Gradually add more liquid. Anyone making gravy or using cornstarch to thicken a soup will know this method.++ Also, try this. I usually mix my powder with apple cider. Once I was called away for a few minutes just as I had finished adding the cider. When I came back I had something that looked and tasted exactly like applesauce! (This was with approx 2 Tbsp of powder and 8 oz. of cider.) This would work with any juice you have. Experiment!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next