Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Dry & Cold Cereals or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz

29g Whole Grain per serving. Good Source of Fiber. Kosher. Vegan. Whole Grain Cereal. Low Fat. Grown without potentially harmful Synthetic Pesticides. Made with No Genetically Engineered Ingredients. A Cholesterol Free Food.  . Foods made from whole grains contain all the essential parts and naturally occurring nutrients of the entire grain seed. Low fat diets rich in whole grain foods and other plant foods may reduce the risk of heart disease and certain other diseases.
Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
11 out of 13(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skiplong
fromAuburn, WAshington
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
A nice dry cereal
 June 23, 2015
"I like the buckwheat flakes a little better they have a little more flavor. This would be my second choice. They are not quite as sweet as the buckwheat flakes but they still taste good. Like everything else it just comes down to a personal choice so if you like your cereal a little less sweet this would be an excellent choice."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PebaD
fromNewport News, VA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
QUICK, HEALTHY BREAKFAST
 June 15, 2015
"I love the taste of these flakes. I keep them on hand for those times when I am running late, and don't have the time to cook my favorite old fashioned rolled oats. You can have a quick, healthy breakfast, and all you have to do is add fresh fruit and a little milk."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
reader999
fromKansas City, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Flavorful, healthy, and "light" on the stomach
 February 12, 2015
"One can readily taste the unique Amaranth flavor in every bite. Amaranth is a grain with high natural protein.
A bowl of Amaranth flakes in cow's milk tastes good by itself, yet I think it needs a little sweetening. (Whether I use Stevia or Splenda, I can still taste the Amaranth.) I like the product's low sugary sweetness because each of us can control the quantity and type of sweetener we use.
When having a bowl of it with Almond Milk, the milk's sweetness complements the Amaranth giving a robust flavor that easily satisfies my hunger for 3-4 few hours. I find myself snacking a little less on days that I eat Amaranth flakes. Enjoy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jsnaz
fromny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste
 January 31, 2015
"Love this cereal and I mix it with other gluten free cereals ( eg, Van's or kind granola). It is not too sweet either. I think it can also be used in baking when grounded or as part of a crust."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iremembered
fromOcala, Fl.
Age:75+
Gender:Female
A Gluten Free/low carb cereal I recommend
 October 19, 2014
"As someone who tries to avoid the Gluten in foods I find this cereal to be quite satisfing & it is low in carbs. I recommend this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mantha
fromKingman, Arizona
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A fine alternative grain cereal
 August 2, 2014
"My husband adores this cereal. He says it is very delicious especially with almond mild. A great healthy alternative to the usual flake cereal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jewelrylady
fromNortheast Tennessee
Age:65-74
 July 4, 2013
"tastes great, non GMO"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TiJai
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This 'cold cereal' is HOT!
 September 2, 2011
"Thanks Arrowhead Mills for this organic tasty crunch flake cereal. The amaranth oat blend delights me in taste and texture; supports my healthful lifestyle. Amaranth grain cold cereal is rare and this one is made with great care. I absolutely enjoy it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Taste:
2 / 5
2 / 5
tstearns
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not gluten-free!
 May 18, 2010
"I mistakenly thought this cereal was gluten-free (my own fault for not reading more carefully), so please don't purchase if you thought this might be a nice GF alternative. The ratings are based on the one accidental bowl of cereal. I found the taste to be extremely bland, and the texture of the flakes was almost crumbly (in a bad way). Even if this was GF, I would not purchase it again. There are much better cereal alternatives out there."
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WhiteRosebud
from48316
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Wonderful and crispy
 July 2, 2009
"Great product to consume in the morning. My child loves it and so do I. It is fresh and crispy. Nice yellow flakes create a good morning every time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Inka
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 July 28, 2008
"These are delicious and are a good source of fiber."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Arrowhead Mills Organic Amaranth Flakes -- 12 oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product