Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Buckwheat or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz

Gluten Free. Wheat Free. Whole Grain Flour. Dairy Free. Rich In Fiber. Low Fat. A Sodium Free Food. Vegetarian. BUCKWHEAT (Buck-wheat) the 'Nutritional Giant' Indigenous to Central Asia where it still grows wild nutritionally excellent buckwheat is not wheat at all. Buckwheat groats when ground into flour have a more distinctive flavor than wheat. It is commonly used to make an array of nutritional dishes such as soba noodles blinis crepes and pancakes.
Overall rating:
4.747 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 83 reviews
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
79 out of 83(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Review 1 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromJacksonville, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Best Gluten Free Flour
 February 11, 2016
"I've been using Bob's Red Mill all-purpose gluten free flour for years, but tried this Buckwheat flour recently. Absolutely delicious! It also has some of the best nutritional benefits of any gluten free flour I've seen! Totally worthy of 5 stars. I use this in 1:1 ratio with any recipe that calls for gluten free all purpose flour. It's especially good in pancakes and cookies."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smithgal
fromBoise, ID
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for baking!
 January 14, 2016
"I made some delicious, healthy muffins for my parents with Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour, and they turned out fabulous. I get peace of mind knowing they are eating foods which won't cause inflamation and irritate their sensitive digestive systems!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kbartle
Fantastic
 December 18, 2015
"I use Arrowhead Mills Buckwheat flour to make the best pancakes and waffles ever. Sometimes I don't even cut it with another flour. Feeling better since gluten free!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
uniquely
fromNebraska
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great pancakes
 December 13, 2015
"I love this stuff. It makes fluffy pancakes, but have to admit is kinda pricey."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HolisticGal17
positive addition to kitchen supplies
 December 10, 2015
"I have used Arrowhead Mills products for years. They provide a variety of flours which gives one choice in cooking. I like to make a crepe like pancake and buckwheat flour is one of my choices. Delicious, with a little nutty flavor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMoonEye
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Using to bake.
 November 30, 2015
"Great mixed in with Tapioca Flour. Gives it better texture and taste!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
InaG
Good Buckwheat Flour
 October 23, 2015
"I use it to make buckwheat pancakes and crepes. Very good buckwheat flour."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Williusha
fromCentral PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Makes great gluten-free pancakes!
 October 15, 2015
"This flour is excellent for our gluten-free pancakes. I add some ground flax seeds and whey (instead of water). My son is on a strict gluten-free diet. And he eats those practically every morning - we just change the topping... Pancakes hold together nicely and do not crumble. They taste delicious, too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeChat
fromFayetteville, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great alternative to wheat flour
 September 28, 2015
"I have given up eating wheat products and found this product to work very well. It is organic and non GMO and works great in baking
This is a super product. I will keep using it. .
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
sum123
Okay baking flour.
 September 21, 2015
"Not my favorite but I will definitely finish the bag."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OLMC
fromIllinois
Age:75+
Gender:Female
LOVE THE FLAVOR OF BUCKWHEAT FLOUR
 July 27, 2015
"I have used buckwheat flour for the past year to make gluten free muffins. Arrowhead buckwheat flour works very well in all my recipes. When using gluten free recipes it is important to follow measurements carefully in order to have good results with the finished product. With some gluten free products results were dry and hard and unedible. The products I obtain from VitaCost have been the best to use in gluten free bakery."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Celiac2
fromIL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great!
 June 27, 2015
"Go & get it , very good!
Just know that buckwheat is a little bitter, you may use it w/ other flours.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paulybear
fromKugluktuk, Nunavut
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wow gluten free!!!
 June 22, 2015
"I have tried other products that say they are gluten free and this one is truly gluten free, I do not get a sore gut!!! yay"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromKerhonkson, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good Gluten Free Alternative
 April 9, 2015
"I have just discovered buckwheat flour after being gluten free for 10+ years. Wish I had discovered it earlier! I have been using it regularly to make buckwheat crepes. This flour has a distinctive, mildly earthy taste. I have no complaints about the brand. I like it so much, I have ordered it several times without switching brands."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
terrelane
fromsouthern Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Buckwheat is for pancakes and waffles!
 March 25, 2015
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Buckwheat has always been my favorite pancakes and waffles. I mix half and half buckwheat flour with whole wheat flour, or even white unbleached flour occasionally. I add baking powder, sugar, or any natural sweetener, salad oil, cage free eggs, milk of any variety, and salt to taste. These are amazing! I just recently learned that "buckwheat" isn't even related to the wheat plant, and also is gluten free! The photo shows the quart jar I filled with the mix for holiday gift giving."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jessyh
fromarizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent flour when mixed with others or straight
 February 23, 2015
"Used for drop biscuits/pancakes since absorbs fluids easily.
Also listed by some sources as an estrogen-inhibiting food.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
LeanGreenSuperMom
fromNaples, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
sour taste
 February 11, 2015
"I would not recommend this product at all. The flour does NOT compare to freshly ground buckwheat - it is bitter and has a very strong taste."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Potsie
fromLorida, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great for pancakes
 December 30, 2014
"I LOVE BUCKWHEAT PANCAKES....therefore this flour is a staple in my household. Excellent product.....can be used for many baking items....the quantity and the price are excellent also..."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Serphina
Exceptional!
 October 24, 2014
"This is the key ingredient for my gluten free waffles. I mix buckwheat with coconut, teff & quinoa flours. It provides a hearty texture & flavor."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LfromBrooklyn
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great GF flour for pancakes!
 August 25, 2014
"I love making GF vegan pancakes with this tasty flour! I always have it around so that I can have Saturday pancakes. Great taste and texture!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next