Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz

Gluten Free. Wheat Free. Whole Grain Flour. Dairy Free. Rich In Fiber. Low Fat. A Sodium Free Food. Vegetarian. Give your baking a truly distinctive flavor with Arrowhead Mills Buckwheat Flour. An excellent source of fiber Buckwheat is actually not wheat. Buckwheat berries are ground into flour can be used for an array of international dishes such as soba noodles blinis crepes and pancakes.
Overall rating:
4.774 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
51 out of 53(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Review 1 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyFoodChoices
fromPA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Delicious Gluten Free Pancakes +
 April 3, 2014
"When I was a youngster, my Mother often made a stack buckwheat cakes for all of us - one of my fond memories of childhood. These days we eat a very healthful diet of wholesome real foods and gluten free, so I hadn't had pancakes in a very long time. Someone reminded me that buckwheat was gluten free and I was elated, so looked to Vitacost, my favorite 'store'.
This flour makes wonderful pancakes. I wanted the pure flour, as other buckwheat 'pancake' mixes have additives we don't eat. My husband likes them much better than my old whole wheat pancakes I made years ago.
Vitacost also sells an organic, Grade B Pure Maple Syrup which is excellent with these pancakes. We consume very little sugar, so use it sparingly, but it truly makes the pancakes a special treat.
The buckwheat flour is also useful for so many other recipes, breads, muffins, dutch baby pancakes, crackers, etc."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JessieRene
fromYork Haven, Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Glad I finally took the plunge
 February 21, 2014
"I had heard wonderful reviews on this flour, however I always ended up either forgetting to add it to my cart, or just skipping over. Since I finally took the plunge, I'm extremely satisified and will continue to purchase."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthyjenn
fromWI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Kids like the nutty flavor
 February 13, 2014
"In my attempt to add nutrition to the foods we eat, this flour has been well-received by my kids. It is nutty and a bit sweet, not bitter like regular wheat flour. I add it to pancakes, waffles, and muffins. I love the convenience and price of buying it online."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
margma
fromCA
Excellent and non gluten
 February 13, 2014
"This buckwheat flour is of excellent quality, texture, and taste. Most important it is gluten free. It's versatile for all baking needs---pancakes especially, either alone or mixed the other flours, Delicious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
spamy5
fromKansas City, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Gluten Free Buckwheat
 February 8, 2014
"Good price for this product. I like to add just 1/4 a cup to my bread recipe and about the same for my pancakes or waffles. This is will last a long time in the frig and worth the investment to add some other good grains in our gluten free diet. It has a distinct taste and adds a different weight to baked goods, so my recommendation is to add a little at a time until you know how much you actually like it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rakki
fromCloster, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious
 December 31, 2013
"Super for pancakes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wilj
fromSomerset, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great product, best grain
 November 5, 2013
"Great taste of buckwheat, if you like that. It's a very heavy grain, which I like. Gluten free. Cooks up nicely."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ktdidtoo
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Helps me stay Grain-Free!
 October 19, 2013
"In my quest to stay as grain-free as possible,
this buckwheat flour, mixed with coconut flour is
a great combo for healthy baking.
*has much more flavor than wheat flour too!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zoomama2
fromLouisville, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great gluten free staple!
 October 16, 2013
"Great buckwheat flour. I actually don't use any other buckwheat flours. It makes wonderful, fluffy pancakes that my boys love."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bunnies
Organic Buckwheat Flour
 October 8, 2013
"I am pleased with the flavor and grind of this flour. It's been a tasty addition to the blend I put together. It seems to back well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luckygirl77
fromUtah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tastes great in pancakes
 September 23, 2013
"Made gluten free pancakes with this and they turned out great! Family loved them and it's super healthy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Easy to work with
 August 26, 2013
"I love the versatility of this product and how easy it is to work with. I enjoy that buckwheat doesn't give gf bread-like things a weird texture. I tried this on a whim, buying it from vitacost and have purchased it 3x's since within the last 6 months. I have been able to find easy recipes for pancakes, rolls, and desserts. Though 32 oz's doesn't go a long way if you are only using buckwheat in things it still is a pretty good value for the money and i love that it actually has good nutritional content. I will keep purchasing this product and have already let non gf friends sample things made from it!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
c4lestial
It's just alright.
 July 31, 2013
"To me, it is just average quality buckwheat flour. I have tried better quality brands. I like Bob's Red Mill Buckwheat Flour better. I have yet to try Hodgson Mills Buckwheat Flour. That may be a good one too. I have tried Hodgson Mills Buckwheat pancake mix and really liked that."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
aprilflowers
fromOakland, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Scrumptious!
 July 18, 2013
"Every Saturday my husband makes pancakes for our 5 children & himself. I always had to opt out of this family tradition because I have a gluten sensitivity. However, with the discovery of the Arrowhead Mills Organic Buckwheat Flour, we now use this product for our pancakes, & I can enjoy them with everyone! All 7 of us are fans!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthyhappymomma321
fromHudson, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This is perfect for gluten-free baking!
 June 26, 2013
"Amazing flavor, mixes easily with any liquid and makes excellent pancakes, with or without adding any leavening or binders. This is a staple at my house--every morning's breakfast!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Enob
fromAltoona, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent glutin free substitute.
 May 31, 2013
"Two favorites are a simple, quick cracker(s) by simply adding a salt to taste and then add water until it's able to be rolled or patted flat. 7-10 min. in 350 degree oven and voila!
Secondly is pancakes. To just 1/4 c. of flour add 1 egg, salt, dusting of baking soda, and, if preferred, add cinnamon, ginger, and/or blueberries.
Delicious!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyJo
Makes Wonderful Pancakes
 May 10, 2013
"This flour is the real deal. I am on my second or third order. I make blueberry buckwheat pancakes and freeze them for later, since I am the only gluten free person in the family. However, everyone else loves them too, so they don't last very long. I served them to my family who were visiting and they ate them up like crazy. Had bought supposed buckwheat pancake mixes in the past only to discover they were mostly other flowers with a little bit of buckwheat. So happy I can buy buckwheat flour and make my own hearty and healthier flapjacks."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
jennvil
Very bitter after taste
 April 14, 2013
"I've tried this flour several times. When I would bake something it would have a bad after taste that was bitter. I thought that was how buckwheat was kind of like a quinoa taste that you couldnt hide. I tried a different brand and it had no after taste. It was the dark color just like arrowhead mills product. The new brand I can use 100% in a recipe without having to mix other flours with it to hide the bitterness."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthnutMAC
makes the best gluten-free pancakes!
 March 29, 2013
"Sometimes gluten-free flour just doesn't make for good outcomes . . . especially in pancakes!! This works well in conjunction with almond and coconut flours as substitutes for all-purpose flour to make a great fluffy breakfast pancake."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
crazycook
fromAdams,Or
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good flavor.
 March 27, 2013
"Like the flavor and texture it gave the soda bread. Used in combination with 4 other breads. Good results."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next