Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz

Gluten Free. Wheat Free. Whole Grain Flour. Dairy Free. Rich In Fiber. Low Fat. A Sodium Free Food. Vegetarian. Give your baking a truly distinctive flavor with Arrowhead Mills Buckwheat Flour. An excellent source of fiber Buckwheat is actually not wheat. Buckwheat berries are ground into flour can be used for an array of international dishes such as soba noodles blinis crepes and pancakes.
Overall rating:
4.736 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
69 out of 72(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Review 1 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OLMC
fromIllinois
Age:75+
Gender:Female
LOVE THE FLAVOR OF BUCKWHEAT FLOUR
 July 27, 2015
"I have used buckwheat flour for the past year to make gluten free muffins. Arrowhead buckwheat flour works very well in all my recipes. When using gluten free recipes it is important to follow measurements carefully in order to have good results with the finished product. With some gluten free products results were dry and hard and unedible. The products I obtain from VitaCost have been the best to use in gluten free bakery."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Celiac2
fromIL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great!
 June 27, 2015
"Go & get it , very good!
Just know that buckwheat is a little bitter, you may use it w/ other flours.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paulybear
fromKugluktuk, Nunavut
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wow gluten free!!!
 June 22, 2015
"I have tried other products that say they are gluten free and this one is truly gluten free, I do not get a sore gut!!! yay"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromKerhonkson, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good Gluten Free Alternative
 April 9, 2015
"I have just discovered buckwheat flour after being gluten free for 10+ years. Wish I had discovered it earlier! I have been using it regularly to make buckwheat crepes. This flour has a distinctive, mildly earthy taste. I have no complaints about the brand. I like it so much, I have ordered it several times without switching brands."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
terrelane
fromsouthern Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Buckwheat is for pancakes and waffles!
 March 25, 2015
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Buckwheat has always been my favorite pancakes and waffles. I mix half and half buckwheat flour with whole wheat flour, or even white unbleached flour occasionally. I add baking powder, sugar, or any natural sweetener, salad oil, cage free eggs, milk of any variety, and salt to taste. These are amazing! I just recently learned that "buckwheat" isn't even related to the wheat plant, and also is gluten free! The photo shows the quart jar I filled with the mix for holiday gift giving."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jessyh
fromarizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent flour when mixed with others or straight
 February 23, 2015
"Used for drop biscuits/pancakes since absorbs fluids easily.
Also listed by some sources as an estrogen-inhibiting food.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
LeanGreenSuperMom
fromNaples, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
sour taste
 February 11, 2015
"I would not recommend this product at all. The flour does NOT compare to freshly ground buckwheat - it is bitter and has a very strong taste."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Potsie
fromLorida, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great for pancakes
 December 30, 2014
"I LOVE BUCKWHEAT PANCAKES....therefore this flour is a staple in my household. Excellent product.....can be used for many baking items....the quantity and the price are excellent also..."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Serphina
Exceptional!
 October 24, 2014
"This is the key ingredient for my gluten free waffles. I mix buckwheat with coconut, teff & quinoa flours. It provides a hearty texture & flavor."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LfromBrooklyn
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great GF flour for pancakes!
 August 25, 2014
"I love making GF vegan pancakes with this tasty flour! I always have it around so that I can have Saturday pancakes. Great taste and texture!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
onelittlebit
fromVentura, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good, but requires getting use to
 June 2, 2014
"I buy this flour mostly because my son is allergic to most all other grains. It's edible if you have a good recipe, but definitely not a favorite. You definitely need to mix it with other flours. It has a strong taste."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glendie
fromIN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for pancakes
 June 2, 2014
"I use buckwheat flour with brown rice flour for healthy pancakes."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dustycounters
fromNew Mexico
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Buckwheat flour
 May 31, 2014
"An indispensable flour for the gluten free kitchen. Even though it has wheat in its name, there is no wheat. It is great in many things as a replacement of white rice flour, which I find to be too gritty."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mantha
fromKingman, Arizona
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A great alternative
 May 28, 2014
"This flour makes the best Buckwheat pancakes. Just follow the recipe on the back! Arrowhead Mills is a good brand that makes great flours for baking!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1GoatherderCA
Gender:Female
My favorite flour
 May 26, 2014
"I love that I can now buy one of my favorite flours on Vitacost"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mohares
fromUnion, MO
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Use buckwheat flour in pancakes.
 May 13, 2014
"Since I eat gluten free, I am pleased with buckwheat flour combined with rice flour in making pancakes. I use 2/3 part rice flour to 1/3 part buckwheat flour to replace regular flour in pancake/waffle recipes. Very pleased with the results."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromDayton, NV
Gender:Female
Great addition to my gluten free flours
 April 23, 2014
"I love the fact that this gluten free flour is so nutritious and the price at vitacost.com is good. It's a great addition to my gluten free flours and I will purchase more in the future."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kissliss
fromBrooklyn,NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great alternative for baking.
 April 18, 2014
"While I myself not a big fan of buckwheat, even I love sour buckwheat crepes. My husband loves pancakes I made from this flour.
Great quality and good price from Vitacost.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyFoodChoices
fromPA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Delicious Gluten Free Pancakes +
 April 3, 2014
"When I was a youngster, my Mother often made a stack buckwheat cakes for all of us - one of my fond memories of childhood. These days we eat a very healthful diet of wholesome real foods and gluten free, so I hadn't had pancakes in a very long time. Someone reminded me that buckwheat was gluten free and I was elated, so looked to Vitacost, my favorite 'store'.
This flour makes wonderful pancakes. I wanted the pure flour, as other buckwheat 'pancake' mixes have additives we don't eat. My husband likes them much better than my old whole wheat pancakes I made years ago.
Vitacost also sells an organic, Grade B Pure Maple Syrup which is excellent with these pancakes. We consume very little sugar, so use it sparingly, but it truly makes the pancakes a special treat.
The buckwheat flour is also useful for so many other recipes, breads, muffins, dutch baby pancakes, crackers, etc."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Buckwheat Flour -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JessieRene
fromYork Haven, Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Glad I finally took the plunge
 February 21, 2014
"I had heard wonderful reviews on this flour, however I always ended up either forgetting to add it to my cart, or just skipping over. Since I finally took the plunge, I'm extremely satisified and will continue to purchase."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next