Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz

OAT the "Enduring Grain." First grown in Western Europe this gem spread rapidly around the globe. Steel Cut Oats have a sophisticated slightly crunchy texture and a lovely toasted flavor for an extraordinary breakfast experience!  . Good Source of Fiber. Organic. Cholesterol Free Food. Sodium Free Food. Good Source of Thiamin. Vegan. No Preservatives. Good Source of Fiber. From America's Heartland To Your Table™. Arrowhead Mills® has been one of America's most trusted organic brands for over 50 years. We remain true to the core values and straightforward business practices on which our company was founded half a century ago. That's why we purchase many of our wholesome ingredients directly from local suppliers. It's why we emphasize environmental responsibility by maintaining sustainable farming practices with no potentially harmful pesticides and herbicides and take decisive steps to shrink our carbon footprint and conserve our planet. We provide pure great tasting grain and food products that chefs homemakers and busy parents rely on as the cornerstone of their nutritional health. It's why every day in all we do we continue to deliver on the Arrowhead Mills® brand promise–simple products straight from nature and as close as you can get to home.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
35 out of 35(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Review 1 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Janski
fromconnecticut
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
one of my favorites
 March 15, 2014
"Great tasting oats. I prepare these 4-5 times per week and my cupboard is never without them. This is my staple. I often have it with organic raisins and cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice. I've tried many different brands but I only settle for the best in taste. This product is one of the best for my health. I love it:)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rbell
Delicious
 February 19, 2014
"This is the first time I have tried steel cut oats, but I don't think I can ever go back to regular oats! Asolutely delicious!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GGto4
fromFranklinton NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Breakfast of Champions
 December 31, 2012
"I have been eating Steel Cut Oats for several years. Healthiest oatmeal on the market and I think Arrowhead Mills is the best tasting. I was spending way more than the Vitacost price at our local health food store. So I was delighted when I discovered that I could buy these through Vitacost. I always buy enough to get free shipping so I am spending much less on my Steel Cut Oats bill. Thanks Vitacost!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oatmealfan
fromSyracuse, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Excellent tasting steel-cut oats!
 November 26, 2012
"I love the satisfying, light nutty flavor and slight chewy texture of this delicious organic oatmeal that brings such comfort on a cold winter's day!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sandlot
fromTupelo, MS
Age:45-54
Great product!
 September 15, 2012
"I've tried several different kinds of steel cut oats but keep coming back to these. Always great taste and texture. The price is great too!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
buffandhealthy
fromBoston, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Wonderful texture and flavor
 July 11, 2012
"An excellent oatmeal--rich in flavor, substantial and crisp in texture, easy to prepare (cooking time is just over 10 minutes), holds up well with added fruit (e.g., blueberries, bananas) cooked together in the saucepan, and complemented nicely with a dash of maple syrup on top. In short, a superior oatmeal that has the flavor and texture of a typical slow-cooked (30 minutes +), porridge-style oatmeal, but with the convenience of a much shorter cooking time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
blupaisley
fromSC
Gender:Female
Great
 April 22, 2012
"The best oats I've ever eaten. Kind of nutty taste. And easy to fix."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
QualitySaver
Healthy and delicious
 January 22, 2012
"This oatmeal is delicious and a great buy on vitacost. I grind my oats in a coffee grinder till smooth and store in an air tight container in the fridge. Grinding the oats drastically shortens the cooking time to 4 minutes or less and yields a rich and creamy oatmeal. I always add 1-2 TBS of nut butter (peanut, almond, sunflower seed) to add creaminess and a healthy fat. I switch off between organic honey, raw sugar or maple syrup to give variety. 1/3 cup oats and 1 cup water yields a good sized breakfast that starts off the work day right."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bkck
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 January 3, 2012
"Great value, excellent quality"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lavaglow
fromSalt Lake City, Utah
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal
 October 18, 2011
"Excellent source of protein, no additives. I prepare enough to put into individual containers, refrigerate and reheat, add 1% milk and fruit black or blue berries great breakfast when I am in a hurry. Verry filling."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
delcocat
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats
 February 26, 2011
"Out of several brands I've tried this is the best. If you like steel cut oats this is a winner."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4ANGELS
fromFLORIDA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
BEST OATMEAL !!!
 February 15, 2011
"Have been using this cereal for years & found Vitacost had the best price on it... Much better for you than regular oatmeal more fiber, a heartier taste & texture & an extra plus organic too"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jlragamuffin
Great product
 February 3, 2011
"These oats werent exactly what I was expecting... they were a bit grittier than I thought they would be, but once I figured out how I liked them (toppings, length to cook, etc) they are awesome! They are a great way to start the day with energy and a full stomache, even with the smallest serving size."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kimpatricepatricia
fromBaroda, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Super in the crock pot!
 February 15, 2010
"I cook my oats in the crockpot over night and have a perfect oatmeal breakfast every time. Check out your perfect recipe online. Kaylin's Crockpot Recipe is a great one. I make one serving using 1/4 cup oats to scant 1 cup water. I place the oats and water in a glass bowl inside my crockpot and then place water around the outside of the covered bowl. YUM! I add nuts, cinnamon, and raisins."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LovinFifty
fromUpstate NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Yummy~Chewy~Organic
 February 13, 2010
"Sooo delicious and healthy. I top a bowl of oats with a spoonful of brown sugar and I have a meal that tastes like a dessert. Love Arrowhead Mills !"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grump
fromNorth West Indiana
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
I couldn't find them at the store.
 October 2, 2009
"Excelent products that I cannot purchase locally."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
droid
Great Product
 July 9, 2009
"This is not going to be a book. I really like this product. I am very satisfied customer. Would buy again no problem."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
utahladyconsumer
fromUSA
Fantastic brand for steelcut oats
 May 20, 2009
"Hi - I have tried this cooked in the microwave, but my favorite and most creamy is when cooked (simmered 10 minutes or so) on the stove. It is not as chewy this way and tastes so much better. I add some butter, cinnamon, and agave nectar to flavor. I generally eat 1/2 cup at a time which is 16 amazing grams of fiber! This product has been of benefit for our family. :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TandA
fromLorain, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
great tasting product
 April 12, 2009
"It has more texture than regular oatmeal (rather crunchy) with a nutty after-taste. It has to be cooked for 10-12 minutes, then I add fat free half/half and sugar free syrup (I'm diabetic}. Steel cut oats have an excellent taste, are easy to prepare, and filling. Would recommend this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Steel Cut Oats Hot Cereal -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JMR5
fromSan Diego
Gender:Female
Great breakfast choice!
 September 11, 2008
"I really like the steelcut vs. regular Quaker oatmeal.....I like the texture and flavor - a little dab of milk and brown sugar and it's fabulous."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next