Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs

Advanced Carbohydrate System / ACS - Alpha-L-Polyactate™. Building Athletes From The Inside Out. Sustained Energy & Electrolytes. Maximize Endurance. Beat The Burn. Pre and During Workout. Now with STEVIA and Natural Flavors. CYTOMAX® SPORTS PERFORMANCE DRINK delivers energy faster and more efficiently than many sports drinks. The ADVANCED CARBOHYDRATE SYSTEM (ACS) which incorporates multiple carbohydrate energy sources including the proprietary acid-buffering alpha-L-Polylacate™ takes advantage of the body's natural ability to transport and deliver different energy sources (carbohydrates) through multiple unique pathways. Other sports drinks containing fewer energy sources are not able to deliver as much energy over the same time interval as Cytomax. Cytomax also incorporates an AMINO ACID PEPTIDE BLEND to  help fuel working muscle and support muscle recovery.  . The carbohydrate sources in Cytomax utilize the following pathways:. Maltodextrin and Dextrose follow the Glucose Pathway; Crystalline Fructose uses the Fructose Pathway; alpha-L-Polylactate relies on the Lactate Pathway. Water utilizes the Aquaporin Pathway.
Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
20 out of 22(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Review 1 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
whyaz
fromajo, az
Gender:Female
great hydration for the desert
 April 8, 2014
"product disolves easily and tastes great"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CYTOMAX
fromGlenville,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great product
 October 10, 2013
"Mixes easy. Tastes great. Good value for the money."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jhernand
fromQueens, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Excellent
 March 13, 2013
"I have used consistently and I have not experienced any stomach problems. I feel full of energy. Also, it tastes great and it is easy to prepare."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VandySJ
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great product, works!
 December 31, 2011
"I trail hike and climb hills alot, and have used bottled sport drinks to hydrate. I was looking for something better, and that cost less - Cytomax is it. The powder mix does cost less, and for me it does a better job of hydrating me before, during, and after my hikes. Choice of flavors too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DugongBaste
fromHouston, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
It Works !
 November 22, 2011
"It works ! I have been using Cytomax since I started my cycling hobby about 16 years ago at age 40. It extends the physical effort needed to exert more. Although, may I add, that I would not recommend using Cytomax with a sport gel."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
libbertybike
fromNE Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
great tasting
 October 4, 2011
"I am an avid cyclist & use this during long rides as well as working out @ gym. It provides much needed energy & hydration. I like that I can control the strength by mixing it myself. Compared to bottled sports drinks, his product is not as sweet & does not have a syrup-like after taste."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jmark
CytoMax Rocks
 June 11, 2011
"CytoMax is the best sports drink I have found. I'm an avid cyclist and racer, 150 to 250 miles per week. I have tried most others, but always come back. Hammer Heed comes close, but just doesn't have the kick or electrolyte profile that Cytomax does. I especially like the Tropical Fruit. I can mix it a little stronger than the other flavors without it being sicky sweet, and it's the only sports drink flavor I have ever found that is at least semi palatable when warm. Been consuming this product for a lot of years, and VitaCost has by far the most competitive price. Quick ship too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SportsTrainer
Quality needs improvement
 May 9, 2011
"I have purchased Cytomax many times but the last few there have been hard chunks through out the container as if it was old or not stored in the right environment."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
agile1
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Clumps in Cold Water
 April 10, 2011
"Bought this product on-line when my local stores stopped carrying the larger sized containers. I found this batch left clumps in the bottom of my shaker when I used ice water. Even cold water caused some clumping, but not as bad as the ice water. I had never experienced this before with Cytomax."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
json
poor quality
 December 21, 2010
"I bought powder drink. When I open, It's hard like a rock.
Waste of money!!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAJR
fromPA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Really works to hydrate.
 July 9, 2010
"If you need to beat the burn while working out, try this 20 minutes before workout then during workout. It works!."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
L0KI
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great product, great price!
 June 21, 2010
"This stuff is excellent. I mix some each time I go for a mountain bike ride or a long run. I've only tried this flavor so far but I really like it. I would definitely recommend this."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tomr
Performance Drink
 September 26, 2009
"I use this in my drinking containers while riding my bike and working out.
I have noticed a big difference in my performance and overall way I feel.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bnaxxx
fromSuisun City, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Workout Truly Enhanced
 September 6, 2009
"I find myself working out for longer periods than ever before. I do not workout anymore unless I have this product on-hand."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
runninfar
Great Product!
 March 10, 2009
"tastes great good 4 long runs"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PKan
fromBay Area, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Excellent product
 November 19, 2008
"This product is really working great, reduces soreness and tastes great also."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
James111
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
The best
 September 12, 2008
"As a method for re-hydrating during sports and training this is the best I know of. It provides low glycemic index carbs and some acid buffering capacity. The only thing that would make it better is more potassium and vitamin C. I usually keep a separate bottle with emergen-C to add the C to my intake on a long day.
A heads up: This stuff absorbs moisture from the air so keep it sealed tight!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vchase
fromCalifornia
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Cheap solution to sore-free sport
 August 22, 2008
"I prepare Cytomax every workout, and usually drink 2 to 4 scoops a day. I have never felt better. Can play tennis a couple hours, cycle a couple hours, run a couple hours. Rinse and repeat.. less soreness--less fatigue. Highly recommended for any endurance sportsman/woman."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for CytoSport Cytomax® Sports Performance Drink Tropical Fruit -- 4.5 lbs
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product