Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz

Sea Algae hydrates and detoxifies skin. Plant-derived sugars provide deep effective cleansing without soap or detergents. Ylang Ylang Essential Oil helps soothe and heal. Fresh Cleansing Gel is a  non-foaming cleanser that refreshes and purifies skin with mineral-rich sea algae. Natural sugars remove excess oil makeup and surface impurities without stripping skin's moisture content. Fresh Cleansing Gel is mild soap-free excellent for sensitive skin and also works wonderfully as a shaving gel. Also suitable for rosacea.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
19 out of 21(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Review 1 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ivankatarina
fromAlbuquerque NM
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nice cleanser
 December 10, 2013
"Leaves face feel in clean and refreshed but not dry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
nutrimich
fromGrand Rapids, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not Fantastic
 November 7, 2013
"Scent is nice, texture of gel is nice, and that's about it. I did not find this removed makeup well at all; I wear a BB cream for makeup, and that is it, and it took 3 washes at night to remove all makeup. It doesn't foam at all, which I do not mind, but for me, it just did not work. I ended up using it in the a.m. only when my skin had no makeup on it. It worked okay, no breakouts or anything, nice natural ingredients, etc. But for the price, you can find a better natural face wash that does a good job of removing makeup."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NaavaHealthNut
fromSanta Rosa, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great for dry senstive skin
 September 3, 2013
"I LOVE Zia Skin Basics Cleansing Gel! I have very sensitive skin which tends to be allergic to many products, and even more so as my skin matures. I searched for YEARS to find something that would work for me, and Zia is it! No itching, just clean skin. And VitaCost's price is about $5 less than my local health food store. One bottle lasts me about 3 months. Love it! Love it! Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
YveM
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good for sensitive skin
 July 29, 2013
"I like how this leaves my skin after cleansing. It looks healthy and does not feel dry. It does require a generous quantity to remove makeup, massaging on the skin about 60 seconds, and cleansing the skin twice to make sure it all comes off. It will not remove waterproof makeup (concealer, mascara.) So it makes nightly cleansing a bit tedious. For that reason and the price I am debating whether to buy it again because it only lasts about a month. I most likely will because it really makes your skin look so even toned and healthy. It is perfect for acne-prone and sensitive skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EKay
fromcolorado springs
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is absolutely the best make-up remover!!!
 June 6, 2013
"Once you try this you will not use anything else. Make-up melts off your eyes and I use alot of mascara so this works great!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ocoeegirl
fromOcoee, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
gentle
 December 20, 2012
"I love this face wash. I struggle to keep my cheeks from getting dry and flakey, but at the same time most products give me acne issues. This wash improves the moisture in my cheeks and doesn't give me any acne at all. I searched for a long time for something that agrees with my skin, and this is it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
DawnCast
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not really good
 May 4, 2012
"This product didnt do anything for me, I will not buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Doctorknockers24
fromTwin lakes . WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
SLIMY YET SATISFYING
 April 26, 2012
"Buying this as a makeup remover face wash, it does the job good! It does not foam or bubble so I second guessed it at first. I can not get over the slimy texture and am not fond of the scent but it isnt overpowering. I would buy it again despite the texture and scent due to how good it works. I also like the twist top how it opens up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CeeBee
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
 July 11, 2011
"This is a good, gentle facial cleanser."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
grasie
 October 25, 2010
"I have used Zia products for many years now. I have super sensitive skin and find that this cleanser is best by far for me. I also use with the toner. Highly recommend"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pheona
fromDenver, CO
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 May 8, 2010
"I have been using Zia Cleansing Gel for over 16 years & would never consider using soap on my face again. I've told family & friends & everyone seems to like it too. I also, get a lot of compliments on my skin"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
grace4u
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Hard to find but worth the search
 February 1, 2010
"I had been purchasing this product from a large health food chain for years-they suddenly discontinued it! Well good for me because it's cheaper and more readily available through this site.
My face is extremely sensitive and this is an incredible product that does what it says=balances & nourishes skin. I use this in the shower, close my eyes and breathe in the smell of the ocean. I use the Sea Tonic Rosewater & Aloe Toner afterwards followed by Daily Moisturizer (with Ylang Ylang) daily. This combo is perfect for humid or arid climates. As an aside: Spritz the toner over applied makeup (not cream foundation) for a younger dew-infused look.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momers88
Love this stuff
 December 7, 2009
"Cleansing without being too harsh and great for your skin. Sad I can't find it in stores anymore, but luckily it's still available here."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Counseling
fromDallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product!
 March 31, 2009
"I have been using this product for nearly 10 years and absolutely love it! It takes off make up without making your skin feel dried out. There are no harsh soap substances in this product so it actually nourishes your skin."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
snowmonkey
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I love Zia products.
 February 5, 2009
"This gel cleansers smells so good, it makes me me happy every time I wash my face with it. I also love how it does not dry out my face but still leaves it feeling clean. I recommend using the Zia Bamboo Scrub along with this product during the week."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katinTX
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
 July 25, 2008
"This product leaves your face feeling very clean. I find it very effective for removing makeup."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ztiwokles
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Also good for men
 May 31, 2008
"This is one of the few face washes that cleans but doesn't dry out skin or facial hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
goingnatural
fromOrange County, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Gentle and Effective
 April 11, 2008
"Since the beginning of the year, I have been testing out 3 different natural facial cleansers and I keep going back to this one. Zia has no added fragrance to its line, you get the natural fragrance of the ingredients. This cleanser is ohh so gentle and if you add a couple drops of water lathers to a creamy cleaner that is great in removing every spec of mineral makeup. I am in the process of ordering my second bottle."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for ZIA Skin Basics Cleansing Gel with Sea Algae -- 8.3 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product