Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz

Volumizing shampoo for fine and oily hair. this unique oil-free formula combines the superb cleansing properties of citrus and nautral plant conditioners to remove dulling residues and leave hair energized. The fresh orange scent will delight your senses.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
18 out of 21(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Diana555
fromNew York, NY
Not natural at all
 January 24, 2014
"I regret buying this product without checking the ingredients. There is not much natural about this shampoo. SLS on the second place. I didn't use it and had to discard because of SLS.
Ingredients: Water, sodium laureth sulfate, TEA-lauryl sulfate, cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium chloride, hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat germamidopropyl betaine, citrus medica limonum (lemon) fruit extract, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) peel extract, citrus grandis (grapefruit) seed extract, polysorbate 20, sodium hydroxymethylglycinate, potassium sorbate, citric acid, fragrance (parfum). No animal testing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kissliss
fromBrooklyn,NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
New bottle
 November 14, 2013
"I bought this shampoo before. Ordered it again . They change the bottle. I'm not sure if they also changed something in the formula. I think shampoo from the new bottle gave me scratchy scalp. Will give it another chance next week."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pipsqueak3
fromQueens, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
bought for my hubby
 October 16, 2013
"He really likes it and it's not easy to find shampoos that are for oily hair so this was the perfect find! The scent is not too strong and leaves his hair smelling and feeling fresh."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
familyroom
fromRoanoke, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smells great. Feels good.
 October 11, 2013
"This shampoo's scent is light and energizing--very citrus-y. It does not weigh down my hair, and my hair is definitely less oily too. It is also not drying."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
memeisme
fromIowa
Love this shampoo
 August 6, 2013
"Really works for oily hair. Added benefit helped clear up my teenagers acne. I wish it came in a larger bottle."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ainky
fromwestern ky
Great scent and cleaning
 April 5, 2013
"Part of our family has oily hair. This has helped with that. My husband would tend to have oily hair towards the end of the day, and that has greatly improved. He still can't go 2 days without washing his hair, but this definitely has improved his night time oily hair problem"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delee
fromNew England
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Terrific scent, deep cleansing, and super shine!
 March 7, 2013
"My favorite shampoo (my daughters love it too). Great citrus scent, cleans really well- sort of strips all of the oil from my (colored) hair so I use it every 3rd shampoo along with it's complementary conditioner. In between I use Herbal Gate Jojoba or Hemp shampoos along with Herbal Gate Herbal conditioner, which is nice but doesn't clean as deeply. I get super shiny hair after I shampoo with the Earth Science Citrus shampoo and conditioner despite my aging, colored hair ; )"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
loving2bmom
fromSeattle WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Cleans well and leaves hair light
 March 4, 2013
"I bought this for my pre-teen daughter who is struggling with oily hair. Her hair has a fine texture and this shampoo does very well. We also tried the Desert Essence lemon shampoo as well. I preferred the ingredients of the Desert Essence product but this brand did a better job at keeping her hair from looking like a grease slick by the end of the day."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
anetka
fromWashington Twp PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love it!
 February 10, 2013
"Love it!!! Smells wonderful, Leaves hair clean."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
TanyaO
fromSparkill, Ny
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Has sulfates!
 January 26, 2013
"I missed that this shampoo was not sulfate free. What a waste."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Inxsfan
fromOxnard, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fantastic shampoo.
 September 24, 2012
"Love, love, love this shampoo. My home has hard water so after I wash my hair it never feels super soft. This shampoo is able to solve that problem and really leaves my hair feeling clean. It does not feel like it stripping my hair or a harsh shampoo, just clean and smelling like fresh citrus. Wonderful price for a wonderful product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Creativegal
fromWestern NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Effective Shampoo
 January 13, 2012
"I bought this shampoo for my daughter for Christmas along with the body wash and lotion in the same scent. She loves the whole set."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natalia
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Love this shampoo
 November 2, 2011
"Definitely best suited for oily hair types. Smells wonderful and lathers well."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CDFG
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Oily hair
 June 21, 2011
"Of all the shampoos for oily hair, I like this one best. My hair is fine and most shampoos for oily hair dry the ends out. Not this one!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Excellent Product
 February 21, 2011
"Finally a product that actually reduces the oil in my hair. I actually go two days without washing my hair with this product. It makes my hair feel squeaky clean and it smells great."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
USMC82
fromNorth Brunswick, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Cleanser
 January 27, 2011
"Works great as a cleanser. Has a nice smell to it. Doesn't make your hair oily, but also does not volumize it. It's probably great for people with longer hair. But if you have receding hair or thin hair, I think there are other better shampoos for that. Probably a great shampoo for those that straighten their hair that have thick hair."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MJJJ
BEST SHAMPOO!
 September 27, 2010
"This is the best shampoo if you have hair that gets greasy fast, especially greasy bangs. Do yourself a favor and buy it!!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hsmama
fromSierra Foothills
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
The only shampoo I use
 February 15, 2010
"I have oily hair and this is the only shampoo I've found that doesn't make my scalp itchy. I wash my hair just about every day, it's so oily."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SensitiveSkin65
Nice Clean Hair
 September 10, 2008
"I wouldn't use this every day as it is pretty drying, but once in awhile it is excellent for getting hair squeaky clean and leaving a nice, fresh citrusy scent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Earth Science Citress Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LateNite
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Shampoo for Oily Hair
 March 13, 2008
"I have used this shampoo for over 5 years and it is the BEST shampoo ever for oily hair. Before finding this shampoo at a health food store, I couldn't find shampoo for oily hair anywhere. They sell lots of shampoos for dry hair, but none for oily hair. I have had oily hair all my life and it hasn't gotten any better with age. So for me, this shampoo has been a godsend. I would recommend this product to anyone who has oily hair. It definitely takes out the oil without stripping the hair of its natural oils. It is very concentrated so lasts a long time. Great product at a great price at VitaCost!!!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next