Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Facial Toners or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz

Natural hyaluronic acid and nine herbal extracts - for oily/combination skin. Corrects and controls "over-active" skin.  This toner provides blemish control by tightening pores and substantially reducing oil production in the skin.  It also prepares the skin to be more receptive to further treatment.  Extracts of Witch Hazel Sage Rosemary Horsetail Cucumber Sea Kelp and Peppermint provide gentle astringency.  Sulfur Camphor and Zinc combine to help reduce oil flow.  Natural Hyaluronic Acid delivers oil-free moisture.  pH 4.0.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 16(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhotoGopher
fromTulsa, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Toner
 May 13, 2014
"I have always thought that toner is toner, however this one has really impressed me. It really seems to get those last bits if dirt and makeup off of my skin before I moisturize - which, with my acne, has made a noticeable difference. I really like that this isn't at all drying."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
safaral
fromThe Woodlands, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Deep cleansing
 February 28, 2013
"Makes your skin feel fresh & clean, but not too dry."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dressagefanatic
fromOhio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love This Product!
 August 17, 2012
"I have tried a LOT of skincare products in my lifetime, and this line is by far the best. I love the way this astringent makes my skin feel; clean yet smooth and soft. I hardly even need a moisturizer when I use it, but I had already bought Earth Science's fragrance free moisturizer so I'm going to use it. Definitely recommend this for anyone from normal to combination to oily skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maric
Great product
 May 14, 2011
"Have oily skin. works great"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ajsmom
fromdallas, pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great skin care
 May 1, 2010
"I have used other types of astringents for oily skin, and this is the only one that does not leave a burning sensation. It cleans well and has natural ingredients. Have no plans to stop using this line. The cleanser and moisturizer are great as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
goolia1
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
 July 17, 2009
"It seems to work pretty well. It does minimize the appearance of large pores, which I was hoping would happen. Overall, pretty satisfied with it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
snowmonkey
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 July 8, 2009
"I bought this to help with my blemish problem. IT has been the best natural toner I have used yet (I have tried many). It really helps clear me up. But I still have break outs around my monthly that it takes a few days to clear up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HomeIsWhereTheHeartIs
fromRichmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great toner for oily, acne prone skin!
 April 3, 2009
"I'm only giving this an average of 3 stars ... this should be labeled for younger skin. I'm 44 and even though it does all the things it claims it does, it is to drying despite using moisturizer afterward. It DOES minimize pores and clears up blemishes though. I'd definitely recommend this product for younger skin!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LhasaApso
Not your standard toner
 February 5, 2009
"I was getting annoyed with my usual toners; the ones from the drugstore weren't cutting it, and my skin didn't feel any different. This toner has a moisturizing feel, instead of watery, and it cleans my skin nicely after cleansing.
I would also recommend the Mint Tingle Purifying Facial Masque - dries blemishes right up!
Go Earth Science!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
leem
 December 25, 2008
"Refreshing and softening, but I can not tell whether it controls oil or not."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GWSgal
fromGlenwood Springs, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
The perfect astringent
 September 13, 2008
"I've recently starting using natural products and this is the best astringent I've ever used. It smells great, leaves my skin feeling clean, is not harsh but really does cut the oil. I'm so glad I discovered the Earth Sciences products, they are great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
swansong
awesome!!
 August 4, 2008
"This is the only thing, combined with the Earth Science Clarifying Facial Wash, that actually keeps me free of breakouts. I've found stuff that kind of works to minimize blemishes, but this completely eliminated them. It's great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Brigite
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:30-60 days
Not a good Toner
 August 4, 2008
"This toner doesn't leave my skin refreshed nor does it help with my oily skin or break outs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MacFreckels
fromSan Francisco
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
One of the best toners I've ever used
 July 30, 2008
"I have normal to combination skin and this toner addresses that. It doesn't over dry and it soothes and cools my skin. Very refreshing. I recommend it if you have mild to moderate acne and don't want to dry your skin out this toner is a great try."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NaturalFan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Didn't know what I was missing!
 April 24, 2008
"I didn't think I needed a toner as I love my face was (Desert Essence Tea Tree with Awapuhi; it washes completely clean without drying my skin out!) But recently I started breaking out more than usual, so I decided to give this toner a go. It's great! Makes my skin really feel refreshed (I hate sounding like a commercial, but it's true!) And the break outs have subsided without leaving me flaky and sensitive. Good stuff!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DBS1
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
wonderful
 February 1, 2008
"It closed my pores on the first use. That's why I bought it. The smell isn't the best but it works!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.