Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz

Science-Based Nutrition™. -- Supports healthy energy levels in heart and muscle tissue. -- Maintains normal heart function. -- Decreases free radical formation during exercise. -- Suitable for Vegetarians. Ribose is an essential pentose (5-carbon) sugar utilized by the body to synthesize DNA RNA and produce energy.  Ribose is a fundamental building block of adenosine triphosphate (ATP – the substance in which the body stores intracellular energy) the preferential source of energy for skeletal muscle and heart tissue. Studies have shown that ribose supplementation can enhance cardiac energy levels and support cardiovascular metabolism.  .  . Further studies suggest that ribose plays a role in supporting energy recovery after exercise. Exercise increases free radical production in muscle tissue. Ribose may strengthen and support the body’s crucial antioxidant defenses.
Overall rating:
4.083 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
9 out of 12(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Review 1 for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love it!
 February 6, 2016
" Wonderful product! I will not be without it. I mix a scoop with orange juice and can't even tell it's in there. I use it for any muscle soreness including after a car accident, my soreness was gone within a day or 2. It's a must post work outs for sore muscles. I keep it and reorder long before I finish because I really hate to ever run out. I highly recommend! :) "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHouston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works great - Energy.
 October 28, 2015
" Works great for exercise recovery and general fatigue. I take this with Revitalization Energy Mix I get from Vitacost also. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromAppleton Wisconsin
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Good Product
 November 8, 2014
" I have been using this product for about six months now. In my opinion I feel like it has contributed to more energy during my workouts. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Didn't work for me
 July 22, 2014
" In comparing d-ribose powders, I liked the Vitacost product much better. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 June 7, 2013
" My husband takes it with L-carnitine & Co-Q10 for his heart. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frompalm Harbor, Fl.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great product!
 July 29, 2012
" My cardiologist told me to get this supplement for my heart. I feel that it is definitely helping and the price at Vitacost is the best! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromhawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
LOVE IT
 March 26, 2011
" i love this d ribose in powder form. It takes about a month to really kick in. It improves my energy and moods. I take a little more when I need extra energy. I can tell a difference when I don't take it. I'll keep using it. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromPennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
D-Ribose
 May 1, 2010
" I initially ordered D-Ribose because of the recommendation of a TV host doctor saying it will give you more energy. I use it almost everyday since I purchased it and when I don't use it I feel exactly the same. I have not notice any change in my energy level. Save your money and buy a sweetner that's less expensive. I am very disappointed with this product and will not be ordering it again. "
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
I liked this one best
 October 8, 2008
" this ribose is best of several I tried as a substitue for sugar. texture and dissolvability are best too. actually tastes like sugar in morning coffee. I highly recommend. "
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Doctor's Best D-Ribose -- 250 g - 8.8 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
2 out of 3 recommend this product