Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Body Lotion or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz

Alba Botanica® - With alpha hydroxy acids and antioxidants - Hypo-allergenic. This unique therapeutic formula blends certified organic aloe vera green tea and chamomile extracts with natural plant emollients and vitamin antioxidants to soothe nourish and revitalize dry sensitive skin.  Fortified with alpha hydroxy acids to help exfoliate dull surface cells and stimulate circulation for a fresh and healthy appearance.  Provides effective SPF 16 sun protection yet is light textured and non-greasy.
Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
11 out of 13(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BB4B
fromFLORIDA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My Favorite all-over sunscreen!
 February 1, 2014
"I take this on all my trips and excursions outdoors, both to the beach and around my home. It is a also a wonderful moisturizer!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
daisyj
fromLong Island
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Protective but heavy lotion
 May 31, 2013
"I bought this lotion as a light daily sunscreen, but it is much too heavy for hot and/or humid weather. It's so heavy you sweat under it. My skin is dryish and our local climate runs dry but it is still too heavy for me. Am saving it for cold weather use, when it would be more comfortable and a plus to have a heavier, protective lotion plus sunscreen. Think it also may be useful in warm or cold but WINDY conditions when the heaviness would also be a plus."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
doclydia
Love it!
 March 11, 2013
"Awesome. Not too thick and rubs in nicely."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lcrutch
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
love it!
 August 1, 2011
"Bought on a whim. I live in the desert so finding a good lotion is tough especially one with an spf. This lotion locks in moisture and improves the texture of your skin. After two weeks got a comment from my husband how shiney my legs looked when I hadn't even put the lotion on that day."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyWithAlba
Alba Botanica Lotion
 May 23, 2010
"Hands down the best lotion I have ever used! And the sunblock is a wonderful bonus. Great stuff!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MusicalMagpie
fromArkanas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Catch 22
 August 13, 2009
"This is a great idea for a product, being a lotion and sunscreen in one. It also contains gentle, natural ingredients. I never used it, however, and gave mine to a friend after choosing to avoid products with OXYBENZONE. It is not listed in the ingredients on the website, but is on the bottle."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nikirn
I like it!
 June 4, 2009
"Smells like cinnamon rolls!?!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bran
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Unpleasant smell and texture
 September 14, 2008
"I was surprisingly disappointed with this lotion. The texture is very thick and does not rub in to the skin very well, often leaving a film on my skin if it's too dry. The smell is not what I was expecting based on the ingredients. It smells almost like bug repellent, and the scent, while not overpowering, lingers on the skin all day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
OnlineBuyer
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Benzophenone-3 is really Oxybenzone
 September 12, 2008
"I was looking for a lotion with SPF that didn't contain Oxybenzone. Unfortunately, I didn't do my homework. The ingredient listed as Benzophenone-3 in the Product Details IS Oxybenzone. I was disappointed to see that Alba Botanica uses this chemical in some of its sun products. I disposed of it without even opening it, and that's why I gave it an overall one-star rating. (The higher star ratings are for most of the other ingredients in the lotion.) I couldn't even give this product to someone else in good conscience knowing the concerns that have been expressed about Oxybenzone. I do use Alba Botanica Very Emollient Body Lotion Original Unscented and love it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kalaniw
fromHonolulu, HI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great for Your Skin
 July 15, 2008
"Great on hands, dries quick."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lookingforanswers
fromMission Viejo, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Nice Lotion
 June 3, 2008
"I like this lotion a lot. It has a nice smell-dosen't smell like sunscreen-yet provides daily SPF. I highly recommend it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kimberly2
fromOutside Houston Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
This is my Holy Grail daily SPF!
 April 29, 2008
"I searched high and low for a primarily natural daily sunscreen that wasn't greasy or chalky. This is the one! It doesn't have a strong odor (mildly citrusy--scent fades quickly) and doesn't clash with my fragrances. I really hope Alba doesn't discontinue or reformulate this lotion :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Body Lotion Daily Shade Formula SPF 16 -- 12 fl oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product