Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop DHA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels

With Vitamin D. Natural Triglyceride Form. Supports DHA Maintenance during Pregnancy and Lactation. High Concentrate Purified Fish Oil. DHA is necessary for proper infant development of the brain eyes and nervous system. DHA also provides mood and nerve support for mothers. All Nordic Naturals products surpass all national and international pharmaceutical standards for freshness and purity and are free from heavy metals dioxins and PCBs. Every batch is thrid-party tested to guarantee exceptional freshness and purity levels.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
21 out of 22(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Review 1 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamsl
Happy with product
 August 17, 2013
"No complaints about this product. Have been happy using it during pregnancy and will continue while breastfeeding."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
icrnk
fromTX
Gender:Male
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Fish Oil
 November 12, 2010
"No fish burps or after taste. Pricy but worth it to those that can't stomach the cheaper products' fish taste. Pills also appear somewhat smaller."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kaeka
fromTX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Prenatal DHA
 August 15, 2010
"Great product! I wish it were flavored with lemon like their other fish oil products, however. Makes more sense for a product that will repeat on someone who is often nauseous."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
NAP1981
Awful!
 January 27, 2010
"The fish burps were just awful! I stopped taking after one dose."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
meerkat
 November 25, 2009
"Seems to be a good product. I only have occasional fish burps."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boymom
fromBakersfield, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Smaller Pills, Fewer Burps
 September 24, 2009
"I like that the highly concentrated product comes in smaller pills than fish oil supplements I have taken in the past. That's especially important when you're pregnant! They don't seem to worsen my morning sickness and as long as I take them with a good drink of water I don't get the dreaded fish burps. They are pricey but I think you get what you pay for."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ally241
Very burpy
 June 29, 2009
"I hate fish and I've never taken an Omega so I didn't know if this was normal. Every morning I'd take this pill and then after 30 minutes I'd start burping up fish. Gross. I talked to my parents who take DHAs and have never had that problem. So if you're pregnant and get nauseous a lot DON'T take this product! It does make my joints feel better though."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mbarno
Great all natural
 April 27, 2009
"Some fish oil/DHA supplements you can tell are not good quality - you can tell by the smell or taste or have concerns about mercury level. I love this stuff bc it's natural and good quality with the above concerns. My dr said every baby she has seen who took prenatal DHA supplements has healthy, well developed "beautiful" brains"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
julie3love
fromMesa, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Wonderful product!!!
 April 6, 2009
"I love that the soft gels are small, so it makes it very easy to sallow. There is no added flavor to them, which I don't mind at all. I never burp up fil oil after taking me, so I would highly recommend this product. And the ingredients are all natural, which makes this product even better."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous9
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
More mg than Expecta LIPIL
 January 30, 2009
"Expecta LIPIL DHA recommends 300mg of DHA daily but their supplement only supplies 200mg. Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA supplies 450mg. I very rarely eat fish, so this supplement helps me meet my daily needs. I would recommend taking the capsules before bed, as burping fish oil is not very pleasing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JulsVern
fromCrescent City, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Recommended by my Midwife
 December 31, 2008
"This product was not sold locally at our health food store, so I ordered it on line. Fast service btw! I was taking another form of fish oil, but this is the one that my Midwife wanted me to take. She is all about putting the best things into your body when you are trying to conceive."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bensmom
fromChicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great DHA!
 October 29, 2008
"I was taking the Nordic Naturals Cod Liver Oil, and that stuff is great, but they're HUGE pills! The Prenatal DHA is a LOT smaller, and suit my circumstances better, anyway. I've found that since starting to take the Cod Liver Oil (and now the DHA) my memory has GREATLY improved. Being of Scandanavian descent, I know the value of fish oils in my diet, and I will continue to take the Nordic Naturals brand for their quality and effectiveness."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
calypso
fromIdaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA from Purified Fish Oi
 August 26, 2008
"This is great for women who are not pregnant and still want a purified fish oil formula who need more DHA count than EPA count, I take one capsule of From the Sun Black Currant Oil with it to get the GLA, ALA, etc. and 1 1,000 mg NSI Vitamin D3… For my arthritis it works perfectly…tried the DHA formula with strawberry scent for those who like the smell of strawberries it is the exact same formula. As for Black Currant Oil I replaced Primrose Oil formula with Black Currant Oil as I react to Primrose Oil, bennefits are the same with either Primrose or Black Currant Oil."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TeaJunkie
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great find!
 May 24, 2008
"I was very happy to find this product! It was a great way to get DHA while pregnant and also now that I am nursing. I do wish it came in flavors, but it isn't an issue most of the time. Pregnant ladies and those with touchy stomachs...don't take anywhere near drinking a hot beverage!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
jellobutt
One thing
 October 22, 2007
"One thing I have noticed, is with being pregnant, you tend to experience indigestion. Unfortunately, when you experience this shortly after taking the DHA, it tastes of fish. Which does not help my nasuea. They may need to flavor this product."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product