Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Selenium or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules

Powerful antioxidant.* Protects against oxidative stress.*. What is selenium? Selenium (Se) is a trace mineral found in soil and water. It is also found in certain foods. Brazil nuts are the best source of selenium while yeast whole grains and seafood are also good sources. Selenium has been well studied and is recognized for its importance in human health.*.  . How does selenium support health? Important free radical scavenger*. Supports the cardiovascular system*. Maintains a healthy immune system*. Supports the health of the thyroid gland*. Functions in a number of antioxidant enzyme systems in the body such as glutathione peroxidase (GPx) thioredoxin reductase (TrxR) and iodothyronine deiodinases (IDD)*.  Why choose Vitacost Selenium SeLECT? Features Selenium SeLECT a more readily absorbed form of selenium*. Supplies 200 mcg per single-capsule serving. Contains 300 servings per bottle. High quality—great value! PLEASE NOTE: This product now features a smaller easier-to-take capsule and is packaged in a smaller bottle. The formula remains the same. .  . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease. 
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
37 out of 39(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joyful236
fromStrongsville, OH
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Selenium 200 mcg
 July 26, 2014
"Just what the doctor ordered. Feel no real difference but it was affordable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MT174
fromBronx, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 June 5, 2014
"Great product at an excellent price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AshleySB
fromNorthern Utah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Seems to work well
 February 2, 2014
"I haven't tried any other brands of Selenium, it seems to be working well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mySharrona
fromArroyo Grande, ca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I love small pills
 September 25, 2013
"This product is excellent. The pills are small, not like other
brands who stuff it with fillers. Do they think we feel we're getting
more for our buck if it is bigger? Not.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Msg11
fromNevada
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
As Described
 August 6, 2013
"A quality potent selenium in a small easy to swallow capsule at a wholesale price..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KayBo
fromFort Collins, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
easy to swallow
 June 11, 2013
"Easy to swallow..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
princessat50
fromLake Arrowhead
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great product.
 December 12, 2012
"This product does what it needs to do and does not cost as much as other brands. Worth every penny."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
idahocntyboy
fromIdaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
We do not have in our soil
 December 2, 2012
"I am a gentleman farmer and raise cattle but we do not have selinium in our soil so i have to supplemet them and myself. I constantly re-order this product and very happy with it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ziggyspal
fromFallbrook Ca
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Same Selenium, lower cost
 September 11, 2012
"I've been using Vitacost products for many years. The 200 mcg Selenium, is the same as other brands, but less cost and most of the time I get free shipping too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cntinuum
fromVancouver, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Better Finger Nails
 August 24, 2012
"I was taking this product, along with other things to improve my nails. Not knowing what worked, I stopped taking Selenium and within weeks, my nails were back splitting and very brittle. I ordered some more and am pleased that my nails are no longer an issue for me."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cavenroj
fromAnchorage,AK
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
selenium
 September 22, 2011
"Bought it for my wife, she is very satisfied with the product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sfgraham
fromLos Angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good stuff
 June 20, 2010
"I noticed a difference from the previous discontinued brand I used. More energy and alertness."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
liliboom
fromFrance
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 May 26, 2010
"Bon rapport qualite/prix."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
XJ40
fromLiverpool, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent Product & Value
 May 7, 2010
"The best price anywhere for selenium."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
douchka
fromparis,france
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
selenium
 April 17, 2010
"the capsules are nice and small, the softness is perfect.In other words vwry "swallowable"."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SeemaT
 April 15, 2010
"recently learned that one should avoid dicalcium phosphate. Was disappointed to learn that this Selenium had it in."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Frusterbated
Broken Capsules
 September 8, 2009
"With the first shake of the bottle, over half the capsules came out with between 1/4 to 3/4 of the content missing. Much of it is free-floating in the bottle. The price was great, but the quality control is poor."
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GASLIGHT
GREAT PRODUCT!
 September 6, 2009
"SELENIUM IS GOOD FOR YOUR THYROID AND SUPPORTS COQ10. SO, IT GIVES ME THE ENERGY THAT I NEED TO GET THROUGH THE DAY! IT IS ALSO AN EXCELLENT ANTIOXIDANT!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Transam02
fromNew Jersey
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
nice selenium
 July 16, 2009
"although you cant really tell how well selenium works in your body unless if you have issues in the 1st place, this is a cheap product (costwise) and gives you almost a full year supply. very worthwhile!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Selenium SeLECT® -- 200 mcg - 300 Capsules
Based on the average of (20) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
20 out of 20 recommend this product