Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules

Natural amino acid supplement containing 5-hydroxytryptophan. What is 5-HTP? 5-Hydroxytryptophan or 5-HTP is an amino acid that converts to serotonin in the body. Serotonin is a substance that acts as a neurotransmitter or chemical that helps relay signals from one area of the brain to another.  . How does 5-HTP support health? 5-HTP can elevate levels of serotonin which is associated with good mood in humans.*. 5-HTP can increase a sense of well-being.*. Why choose Vitacost 5-HTP? Free of the compound “peak X” for health safety reasons.*. Great quality great value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.559 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
33 out of 34(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BraveMom
fromToledo, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Decreases Anxiety
 August 27, 2014
"I am very happy with 5-HTP. I have noticed a decrease in my anxiety level. My pre-teen and teen daughters have been using 5-HTP for a few weeks. They take one capsule at suppertime. Their moods have leveled out. This is, of course, next to miraculous. Fewer mood swings, fewer melt downs, fewer dramatics. What's not to love about that?"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leucadiaS
fromLeucadia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
5HTP
 January 11, 2014
"I have been using this product for a very long time... and with the great prices on Vitacost you can't beat it!!!! It helps with sleep and keeps my serotonin levels good... l"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RunningFish
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent value, good product.
 July 30, 2013
"I have been taking this supplement for a few years now, and have always been happy with the price and quality of this brand. Recommended."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LADYonthehill
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
 April 1, 2013
"Great mood stabilizer."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dani1472
Not quite as effective as other brands.
 October 1, 2012
"This was my first order of Vitacost brand and have taken other brands with the same dosage. It does not work as well as Jarrow and Source Naturals. Noticeable difference in my mood."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SGAtchley
fromAlbertville, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
It works!!!!!!
 July 2, 2012
"This helps great in loosing weight. I will be purchasing more for me & my husband."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SharonS53
fromDenver
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great value
 May 10, 2012
"Great value, high quality!"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
austinanna
fromaustin texas
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
great price
 May 15, 2011
"I shopped around, and found this to be an excellent price. Good product."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
NormB
fromNorthern Virginia
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Have to give it some time.
 May 1, 2011
"This is not a product that one can evaluate results right away - this the average ratings. I need togive it some more time before giving it higher or lower ratings. However, from a satisfaction and value perspective I rate it good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kennanss
So far, so good...
 October 24, 2010
"The only reason I gave this 4 stars is because I'm still not convinced 5HTP is doing anything for me. I like Vitacost & the NSI brand. It is a LOT cheaper than other brands, which is good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VIVIANEMP
EXCELLENT 5-HTP
 October 4, 2010
"THE 5-HTP IS AN EXCELLENT PRODUCT"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcoker
fromAustin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Very Effective
 August 6, 2010
"Take this in the morning and before bed, and it's just as effective as the brands and costs much less."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BevB
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
100 mg HTP
 August 1, 2010
"vitacost was the cheapest place that i could find htp. I purchased
it and i am happy with it. I purchased 100mg most places sell only the 50mg.
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
puppyclaw
fromsouth central Pa.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
 June 20, 2010
"Good for calming me, but not for getting me to sleep."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Providencia
fromCT
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Does what it's meant to do
 May 28, 2010
"I originally purchased this product with the intention of helping me *feel* better - mood-wise; and it did! Yet, I also discovered it helped me alot to sleep more soundly. So, I now take it only right before going to sleep. I not only sleep better, but the *good* feeling last all day long! Great product NSI! (as always)"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ML47
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Amazing supplement
 April 16, 2010
"Really helps me sleep well. Also helps with mood. Well worth while. Would not be without."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
coco214
great vale
 March 27, 2010
"this product works. bought it after reading ppls review and used it the 1st time the other day. had a great night sleep and woke up feeling refreshed. can't wait to use it again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
gutarman
frompasadena
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
nsi5 htp
 December 15, 2009
"Best natural deep sleep agent I've tried for the short term."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kaye1177
fromAuburn Hills, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Excellent Product!!
 November 26, 2009
"I bought 5-HTP for the first time and I am amazed at the results. I feel calm and relaxed. I'm a type A personality and sometimes just can't let myself slow down. After taking this product, I felt like I was enjoying each moment more and feel happier. In addition I feel more energy and don't wear out quite as fast as I normally would."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sallylou
fromky
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
excellent
 November 22, 2008
"excellent supplement. NSI is a great value. Best price. This is my feel good supplement also helps me deal with stress and sleep better. Everyone in my family uses it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next