Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop L-Tryptophan or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules

Helps support natural restful sleep.*. What is L-tryptophan? L-tryptophan is an essential amino acid. The body does not produce L-tryptophan; it must be obtained through diet. L-tryptophan is a precursor to neurotransmitters serotonin and 5-hydroxytryptophan (5-HTP) the hormone melatonin and the B vitamin niacin.  . How does L-tryptophan support health? Helps maintain serotonin levels for healthy mood.*. Supports a normal healthy attitude during PMS.*. Plays an important role in supporting natural restful sleep.*. May support a normal appetite.*. Why choose Vitacost L-Tryptophan? Supplies 500 mg of L-tryptophan per 1-capsule serving. Contains 240 servings per bottle. Suitable for vegetarians. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fredgyver
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great help for sleep with no side effects
 January 21, 2013
"J'écris en français pour les quelques français qui vont sur le site ...
Le L-Tryptophane peut être acheté en France mais près de 10 fois plus cher !!!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Straightarrow
fromCamarillo, California
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
WORKS WONDERS
 January 16, 2013
"THIS PRODUCT IS SUPERB AND WORKS GENTLY AND VERY EFFECTIVE FOR A GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP. ABSOLUTELY NO ADVERSE OR AFTER EFFECTS. WONDERFUL TO GET A FULL NIGHTS SLEEP,."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MGem
fromSoutheast
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Effective and Safe
 January 14, 2013
"I tend to be very sensitive to both medications and supplements; therefore, the discovery that this productive is both effective as a calming agent and sleep aid and does not cause any negative side effects was a great relief to me. I highly recommend it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tsobenes
Can't be without it!
 November 8, 2012
"I don't know how I went so long without knowing about this stuff! It is a staple for me and my family and I panic when I run low. It has helped me sleep as well as aided me in weighloss. Love this stuff!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quilt123
fromMinnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 October 1, 2011
"It is good quality with a good price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
samboo
fromLos Angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 March 1, 2011
"I have been using this product for years, and it has always been consistent, and a great value."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Tryptophan purchase
 December 1, 2009
"A great product that was shipping quickly and was as close to the description on the website as I have ever experienced. A very happy customer here!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
zabuchan
back again, great quality
 October 8, 2009
"it's great to have this back again from the FDA clutches. This is great quality & value!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ILBCNU2
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
It works for me!
 October 5, 2009
"That's the most important thing I can say about this product. I take one or two capsules an hour or less before going to bed. I also use 1 mg. of sublingual melatonin which I put under my tongue just before retiring. After this I go to sleep quickly and usually sleep through the night. This product is also a good value, especially when on sale!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wooh
fromOakland, Ca
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great product and value
 February 24, 2008
"It's great. Helps me sleep through the night."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 240 Vegetarian Capsules
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product