Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Digestive Health or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets

Natural enzyme that aids digestion and helps prevent gas and bloating.*. What is alpha-galactosidase? Alpha-galactosidase is a natural enzyme derived from Aspergillus niger. Taken before a meal it can help prevent gas and bloating before it happens.*.  . How does alpha-galactosidase support health? It works naturally with the body's digestive system assisting in the breakdown of complex carbohydrates known for creating gas in the digestive system.*. Complex carbohydrates are sugars found in vegetables grains legumes nuts seeds beans cereals and whole-grain products. Complex Carbohydrate Intolerance (CCI) is caused by a deficiency of alpha-galactosidase an intestinal enzyme needed for complete digestion of complex carbohydrates. CCI often results in gas cramping flatulence and bloating – complications that can be uncomfortable and often embarrassing. Why choose Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase? Easy-to-take chewable tablets (may also be swallowed). Contains the most potent and highest quality ingredients. Contains 60 servings per bottle. Great value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.307 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
8
65 out of 75(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Review 1 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LEH1
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best I've ever used
 July 11, 2014
"This product is chewable and is the fastest acting remedy for bloating after a meal that I've ever used! I've experienced relief in minutes vs hours and I am a loyal fan."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
oceanvistas
It works!
 June 27, 2014
"I take two of these before a meal and no bloating, no gas! And they're chewable....how easy is that!! Highly recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
susgan92
fromJasper Ga
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this!
 May 20, 2014
"I really like Gas Enzyme. I love that it's chewable and not chalky. I seriously helps my stomach!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikerchic
fromSouth Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
very effective product
 May 16, 2014
"I've been very pleased. Have used for about 5 weeks and already bought another bottle to keep at work. It works."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Normme
fromOttawa, ON
Equal to Beano at half the cost !!
 March 10, 2014
"Awesome A+ for quality, accuracy, packaging & fast shipping to Canada !!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okapi
fromNew Brunswick, Canada
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product has been working for me.
 March 9, 2014
"For several years now, I have had problems digesting cooked vegetables. I get a lot of gas and feel very uncomfortable. I am getting older and experience this problem even with raw vegetables now. After trials and errors, I found out that the enzyme Alpha-galactosidase helps. I like the Vitacost gas enzyme because the price is reasonable and it does not taste like chalk. I do take much more than the recommended dose though and add a simethicone softgel with my evening meal.
This way, I can eat anything and very rarely have gas.
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alyssa321
Works like a charm!
 February 22, 2014
"This is exactly the same as beano for 1/2 the price. It works wonders for me. Highly recommend. :-)"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Agh4t
fromPotter County PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
These work
 February 5, 2014
"These gas enzyme tablets go everywhere I do. I chew 2 of them about 5 mins. prior to eating and I feel they do help minimize the bloating and gas that I would normally have."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GlutenFreeGale
fromcolumbia, Sc
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
pretty good
 November 28, 2013
"it seems to work 75%. We like the ease of it being chew-able ."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fredgyver
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Does not much
 November 28, 2013
"At recommended dosage, it is close to unefficient (at least for me) !"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turboshopper
fromNorthern California
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Works Better Than Beano
 November 26, 2013
"Not only is this cheaper than Beano, it works better. I eat fourteen to fifteen servings of vegetables a day, and this product has helped reduce gas. I chew two tablets about ten minutes before eating vegetables, and it's made a big difference."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HawkMoth
fromCarbondale, IL
Age:35-44
Works as well as the big brand name
 November 6, 2013
"The tablets work at preventing gas, taste good, and are conveniently chewable."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lln56
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 September 29, 2013
"This product works very well. Highly recommended!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
tdl01
fromMassachusetts
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Effective, but .......
 September 3, 2013
"These pills work, but they're so repellant that you might not want to use them. First of all, they have an overpowering medicinal candy orange fragrance and taste that clashes unimaginably with just about any food you'd want to use them with. Also, they're much larger than they need to be and composed almost entirely of excipients; just not the most pleasant thing to chew. As I said, they do work well, but I must deduct stars for the non-sensible form in which they come."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromKansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
works for me
 May 24, 2013
"Everyday after lunch my stomach would gurgle and rumble so loud it was embarrassing! That was often followed by bad gas, which was even more embarrassing! This product plus Vitacost Mega Spectrum Enzyme has helped tremendously."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donnachka
fromVirginia Beach, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
IT WORKS!
 May 19, 2013
"I feel free to eat beans and other gas producing foods when I'm out because Vitacost Gas Enzyme prevents bloating and gas. I keep it with me at all times."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bayliski
fromGA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works as well as Beano... cost much less.
 May 8, 2013
"Another Vitacost performer."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
ValueConscious
Something changed
 April 20, 2013
"I have been using the Vitacost Brand Gas Enzyme for several years, so I purchased four bottles in my last order. When I opened the first bottle, the tablets had a strong chemical odor and when I ate one it had a bad flavor and bitter aftertaste that the enzymes hadn't had before. I don't know if they are being purchased from a different manufacturer, or if the formula was changed. I hate wasting money and would have returned them if it wasn't past the thirty day return limit. Not sure if I will risk using them or throw them away. I will not purchase them again."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SEngevold518
fromHudson, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great product if you're eating a lot of greens!
 March 24, 2013
"I have been eating a lot of greens lately due to a new diet and noticed stomach "issues!" This has helped significantly in gas relief from eating all the greens. Simply take before eating and you're set."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Gas Enzyme Alpha-galactosidase -- 300 GalU per serving - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zebrastarlight
fromHolladay, UT
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
High quality product.
 March 7, 2013
"Vitacost alpha-galactosidase is proof that high quality should not be confused with "brand" name (i.e., Beano). For enzyme-challenged persons, Vitacost Gas Enzyme is a pure, high quality digestive enzyme at a reasonable cost; I'll never look back..."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next