Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Food Combinations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)

Delicious easy-to-make shake provides energy antioxidant protection immune support and more.* No blender required! More than 25 vitamins and minerals. What are Vitacost Whole Food Shakes? Vitacost Whole Food Shakes are a great-tasting convenient way to obtain vitamins minerals and other essential nutrients for daily nutritional and total-body health support. Formulated with high-quality all-natural ingredients derived from whole food sources Vitacost Whole Food Shakes provide energy antioxidant protection immune support digestive support and more!*.  . How do Vitacost Whole Food Shakes support health? Packed with vitamins minerals protein and antioxidants for excellent daily nutrition.*. Provides digestive enzymes to promote enhanced nutrient absorption and digestive comfort.*. Supplies essential fatty acids involved in more than 50 percent of what makes up brain tissue.*. Provides a synergistic blend of fruit vegetable and green-foods to help provide additional health-promoting properties.*. Supports the health of the cardiovascular system.*. Adequate folate in healthful diets may reduce a woman’s risk of having a child with a brain or spinal cord birth defect.*. Why choose Vitacost Whole Food Shakes? Delivers a synergistic blend of fruit vegetable and green foods to help provide additional health-promoting properties.*. Supplies 16 grams of protein and 15 grams of soy. Contains 24 fruits and vegetables (including antioxidant-rich blueberries blackberries pineapple carrots beets and more). Not produced using genetically engineered ingredients. Offers exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.117 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(171 reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 171 reviews
5 Stars
99
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
6
1 Star
17
134 out of 171(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
healingone
frommidwest
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
nutritional, balanced, yet . . .
 April 10, 2014
"I purchased this recently from Vitacost, because I was impressed by the nutritional value in terms of protein and greens. I was hoping that I would be able to simply mix it up with water, milk or juice per the directions and find it tasteful, as I do like green food smoothies and shakes, but am often stretched for time and find it cumbersome to both mix protein powders, greens powder, and any other ingredients. Since I tend to like vanilla flavored protein powders, I thought I would give this a try. Unfortunately, the taste with either milk or water is not something I can tolerate, even with the addition of additional Stevia. I will thus be having to mix this with fruit and fruit juices to be able to enjoy the benefits. If you are looking for something quick and tasty, this may not be the one for you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanielleIsabelle
fromShelbyville, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I highly recommend this shake.
 March 18, 2014
"I ordered this shake and was kind of iffy about it after reading some of the reviews. Some of the reviews stated that the shake was gritty and was hard to get down, and also that it tasted awful. I concur, this is the best green shake i have ever had. I can't taste any of the suggested green taste. I can only taste the vanilla. I absolutely love the taste of the shake. I am used to the green taste of my occasional green smoothies which contain spinach, broccoli, parsley, spirulina, and a banana. This shake is like a dessert to me. I love it. I foresee myself purchasing this product for years to come."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromJohnson City, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Decent taste, good ingredients
 February 16, 2014
"I like to use this product when I haven't been eating enough vegetables, or when I don't have the right foods on hand for a balanced meal - or just when I feel like I want more vitamins. It does have a "green" taste but I don't mind it. It stirs easily into liquids so not having a blender handy is not a problem."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SFRinAZ
fromArizona
Great Meal Replacement shake
 January 30, 2014
"This is the best meal replacement shake I can currently find on the market given its nutrient and protein content. Flavor is very good and VitaCost customer service and shipping makes it a good value I cannot pass up."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gypsyseller
fromUtah
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious, excellent product
 January 23, 2014
"This shake is super easy to make- I keep a bag of this at work and have a shaker cup. It is great with just water and is packed with vitamins, protein and fiber. It is nice to have it all in one shake without even having to use whey, it is all vegetarian . I will be sure to always have this on hand. It is fairly smooth and tasty."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RayShine
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily vitamin intake
 November 19, 2013
"I really like this shake. This is great for when I don't want to take pills. When I mix it with orange juice and the recommend scoops of plant protein, it feels me up for 4 - 6 hours. It gives me energy. This is a stable in my home."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jem11
Gender:Female
Excellent product!
 October 28, 2013
"Great ingredients, good taste and affordable! 2nd time trying the Whole Food shake and will definately purchase again!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kktt
fromMcCormick,SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 October 27, 2013
"Great product, was as I expected, but it does bloat a little"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MizzV
fromVentura, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This product is well balanced.
 September 30, 2013
"My husband and I were looking for something to add to our diet that would help us cut calories, be full of vitamins and minerals, and help us feel a good kind of full. This product went above and beyond our expectations, taste great, and has become a huge part of our routine."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cindyshealinggarden
fromAustin,Tx
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best ingredients
 September 29, 2013
"This product has the best ingredients for the best price compared to many other choices."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
cater
fromnyc
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
green benefits
 September 14, 2013
"I would have given this product a five if I did not taste the cilantro in it. I ditest cilantro,but I wanted the benefits of the rest of ingredients.I will have to try cinnamon to try and drown out the taste of the cilantro."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tohavetohavenot
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
more energy
 July 25, 2013
"this shake is not bad tasting at all and the added energy it provides is fantastic. i will continue to add this to my morning routine. Vitacost is the best."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MMurry
fromCentral US
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Product
 July 20, 2013
"I rarely eat veggies, and this product gives me everything I am missing in my diet. When I am not really hungry for a meal, I mix up a shake of this and it satisfies my hunger. It does have a "green" taste to it, but the vanilla helps. Overall, the taste is pretty good. I love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gk2012
fromColumbus oh
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Shake!
 July 19, 2013
"Pleasantly surprised by this shake! At first put off by the green color but mixed with vanilla almond milk it doesn't taste bad at all. Can't beat the ingredients- everything I wanted in a morning shake with a great mix of vitamins, protein, green food blend, and flaxseed. Will buy again."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
holycowelsie
fromEuless, tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
So full of vitamins!
 June 16, 2013
"Great addition to a smoothie, for someone who is just starting out. If you are eating healthy, the vitamins might be overkill."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shaika
Best overall shake mix!
 May 20, 2013
"I have this shake almost every day and sometimes twice a day. I feel so good when I make shakes with this. Avacado helps smooth the taste , cacao, too? Highly recommend !"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
gfunk
fromPA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I listened to reviews . . .
 May 20, 2013
"I have been on the hunt for a protein powder that both my husband and I like to save on cost. I read tons of reviews for this Whole Food Shake and was so convinced it was going to be awesome, I ordered two containers. My husband and I found it to be extremely vitamin-y and it had a really thick texture. I couldn't wait to finish the two containers even before getting half-way through the first. The reviews said that it was great tasting for a great price but I was not satisfied at all with the taste, though it had a great price. If you like a strong taste of vitamins, this is the protein powder for you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bb41
fromElkhart, IN
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 May 13, 2013
"The contents of this shake mix are great. However, the taste alone is awful. I mix this with another shake mix, a little peanut butter and honey."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NikkiP
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Better with juice
 April 27, 2013
"While I don't care for the taste of this product. The nutritional values can't be beat anywhere for the price. The two scoops make the shake very thick, with an irony taste. It is more palatable with a cup of juice and some water added to thin it to a more desirable consistency. I prefer pineapple juice or a tropical mix. Use a blender or mixer."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Whole Food Shake Vanilla -- 21 oz (585 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smartcookie
fromNorth Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
using for many years
 April 14, 2013
"I like to drink many of my vitamins and make sure i get them first thing in the morning. I add a scoop of the Whole Food Shake to my plant protein with a teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa. You can add other things to, like Maca, which give you great energy. Makes for an easy & good breakfast for less than 200 calories and it fills me up for a couple of hours."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next