Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz

Keratin & Yangu Oil. Keratin Fix. Fortifies & Renews. Dry Hair • Replenish. True to Nature Since 1967. All-Natural Ingredients. Sulfate-Free • Phthalate-Free. Paraben-Free • Cruelty-Free. Gluten-Free. Strengthening shampoo replenishes and smoothes hair fiber and prevents breakage from heat styling. Great for weak damaged hair. Exotic Desert Amber scent!  . Features. Benefits. Keratin. Fortifies; seals in moisture & nutrients. Yangu Oil; Organic Jojoba Oil & Aloe. Rich in vitamins & nutrients; restore moisture & softness
Overall rating:
3.96 / 5
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
19 out of 25(76%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Review 1 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
squeakyclean55
fromOut West
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
EXCELLENT
 August 23, 2013
"Have been using this shampoo (and only this shampoo) for over 3 years now. It's the ONLY hair cleansing product I've found that does not eventually give me dandruff (including other Aubrey products). Leaves your hair very clean without drying it out. My hair is long and fine so I do use a conditioner (easier to comb through when wet) but could easily go without. ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT !!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
toubleonvitacost
fromJoplin MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Bad smell
 July 3, 2013
"I trust the consumer who said you need a lot to clean your hair
especially if you have product on it.
The worse thing is the smell. It reminds me of bug killer, not pleasant
at all.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
HolBronwyn
fromMaine, USA
Gender:Female
I'd Hoped For Better.
 February 16, 2013
"This shampoo is ultra-thick, doesn't lather and smells, well, odd. I usually like this Line so I won't give up on AO. I will try other products, but I've tried a lot of shampoo in my days and this is one of the worst.
(Is it possible I got a bad bottle? ... I see many Positive Reviews so I will leave an opening for that possibility.)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
corygoddess1
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Greasy Hair
 October 17, 2012
"I don't think this shampoo washed the oil out of my hair, felt slimy as soon as it dried"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
TryingToGoOrganic
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Okay
 May 22, 2012
"I had difficulty getting my hair clean with this at first. Now I squirt the shampoo into a little trial size bottle, add water, shake it up and use that to wash my hair. I can't go without some other product afterward--too dry. But my hair is clean. Seems a bit expensive for what you're getting. I'll try something else next time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
uptosnuff
fromGreat Plains
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
No Lather
 January 23, 2012
"I have shoulder length, slightly coarse hair and have a love-hate relationship with this product. I do really like how well this cleans and makes my hair look, HOWEVER I hate how much of it I have to use and how hard I have to work to get any kind of lather at all. It comes out as thick brown gunk and just sits on your hair. Doesn't lather up at all. After much trial and error I have found that if I squirt some on my palm and rub my hands together and then rub them on my totally drenched scalp, then squirt some more on my hands, rub together then work it into the rest of my hair it seems to work the best. When my hair is wet and I have to work that much just to get lather, it ends up breaking my hair and I get a ton of it down the drain. If this would just lather up and work through my hair better, I would give it a better rating."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LovingOrganic
fromBuffalo, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
JAY Shampoo
 March 30, 2011
"Great natural product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bjgf
fromStevens Point, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good shampoo
 April 24, 2010
"I really like this shampoo. The only thing I do not like is that I have long hair and it seems to take quite a bit of shampoo to cover my hair. I typically don't use much shampoo, just because I don't think much is needed to clean my hair. This shampoo doesn't seem to slide much down the hair shaft. Other than that, it is really a nice product!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
LovesDancing
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
too heavy
 April 15, 2010
"I tried this because my hair was extra dry this winter. Colorado is very dry and being indoors with electric heat makes for even drier conditions. But this product left my hair heavy and limp."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Luscious Shampoo
 April 13, 2010
"JAY shampoo is filled with wonderful herbs - it lathers well and there is no need for conditioner. Every time I try another shampoo I always come back to this one."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
naturopath58
fromWashington DC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love Aubrey Organics
 April 10, 2010
"This shampoo is wonderful and very rich and thick. Concentrated, so makes a lot of lather, and smells subtle and lovely. Great products...great price at Vitacost."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TropicalFemale
fromNetherlands Antilles
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great shampoo
 September 28, 2009
"I loved this shampoo. Made my scalp clean.
I like it much better than the Honeysuckle shampoo which was very drying. It's a good thing I had to add conditioner after the wash with the Honeysuckle shampoo.
But the J.A.Y. shampoo is great for my hair!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthyhair
fromCA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Fantastic
 May 14, 2009
"Gentle, no harmful chemicals. Feels great"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rah2282
fromBay Area, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Shampoo!
 March 26, 2009
"Great shampoo, does an excellent job without all of the chemicals that are in most other shampoo products. The entire Aubrey Organics line is fantastic!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Atrox
fromMiami, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Too drying, but great as a shaving gel!
 January 21, 2009
"Too drying as shampoo for my fine hair, but I discovered it works great as a shaving gel- I am reordering for that purpose!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aubreysaddict
fromColorado Springs, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Thank heavens for Aubrey organics
 January 12, 2009
"This is a god send for anyone who lives in a dry climate like Colorado. In the winter our skin gets dry, itchy and flaky ... including scalp area. For me this is the only product (with the Jojoba and Aloe conditioner) that gives me relief AND it makes my hair silky and shiny. Love, Love, Love ... hope Aubrey's never stops making this because I am a customer for life."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AllNaturalMama
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good Cleansing
 December 28, 2008
"It is a reasonable cost for a truely "all natural" shampoo. I gave it a 4 star satisfaction review because it does strip the henna dye from my hair...but at least I know it cleans well! Smells okay."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hate
fromRochester, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great for dry hair
 October 17, 2008
"If you have fine dry hair or scalp this product helps with interment use. If you have course can use as often as you want"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Genet
fromFort Worth, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Decent for the money
 August 23, 2008
"I liked the fact that the shampoo was very affordable and a good product overall, but I didn't like that the shampoo doesn't lather well at all. I'm sure this is due to not containing soap; but I like for my shampoo to lather. My hair always felt clean after using this product, but I had to wash several times in order to get this clean feeling. If one doesn't mind not having a shampoo that lathers, well this is a good shampoo for you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aubrey JAY Shampoo Desert Amber -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tai2
fromSan Francisco
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
My favorite
 July 4, 2008
"This is one of my all time favorite shampoos, I use this daily. It lathers well and keeps my hair soft and shiny. Good stuff."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next