Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs

Organic Traditional Barley Malt Syrup. EDEN® Organic Barley Malt - U.S.A. organic whole grain barley. Sprouting creates enzymes that convert starch the complex carbohydrates to sugars. Evaporation concentrates it to rich syrup. To replace sugar use ¼ cup less liquid for each cup of barley malt syrup used. Use one for one to replace honey and molasses in recipes.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Review 1 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
blood
fromSt Petersburg
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best price for that product
 March 18, 2014
"Vitacost has the lowest price for organic malt syrup"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frogymom
fromca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great syrup ingredient
 January 13, 2014
"My kids love syrup on pancakes & waffles. Have you ever looked at what is in pancake syrup? I make my own w/ maple, rice, & barley syrups, black-strap molasses, & vanilla. the kids didn't know the difference, & mom's happy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CNMinnesota
fromMinnesota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Must have for great New York Style bagels
 September 13, 2013
"Use barley malt both in the dough and in the water when you boil your bagels. Molasses does not work as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
MomHealthResearcher
fromFremont, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great health benefits but lacking in taste
 June 20, 2013
"I was looking forward to using this as a sweetener for my oatmeal, tea, etc considering the nutritive benefits...but found the taste a little off putting. I am yet to bake with this, so I am not sure if it will improve my opinion."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
monirod
fromcalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Super honey alternative, great in tea!
 October 14, 2012
"We love using this in black teas and roasted green teas. We don't use it for baking (we use brown rice syrup instead), but it's an indispensable part of our alternative sweeteners department in the kitchen."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
missy4
fromBeaumont, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Stuff
 June 3, 2012
"Very flavorful and what a bargain. Will buy again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuperNature
Great product!
 May 26, 2012
"This Barley Malt is the best of its kind and it comes from one of the best health food companies. I mostly use in making bagels, which gives them that wonderful "New York" flavor. It can be used to give cookies or bars that "old fashioned" flavor. This is the way a good sweetener is made."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
veggieliving
fromOklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Make Waffles With This!
 March 29, 2012
"This stuff makes the best waffles in the world. It imparts a wonderful malty flavor that's just heavenly. I use the Chelsea Waffles recipe from Vegan Brunch. Trust me on this!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GASLIGHT
 March 3, 2010
"Barley malt is made from fermented malt. Therefore, it has hundreds of natural enzymes. I think that it really helps with digestion. I like to add a little to tea or coffee for a richer taste. I also make little balls with sunbutter and chocolate for a healthy, energizing snack."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acemoose
fromEast Coast
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Wow -- can make BEER with this?
 September 2, 2009
"Awesome.
I love this stuff -- it's thick and gloppy -- even tho I have Hypglycemia I end up sticking a tablespoon in this and slurping it (a one-time spoon use only, I never reuse the spoon, becuz this barley malt is probably a GREAT culture growing medium too).
"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JJGB
fromHouston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good sweetener
 May 1, 2009
"Barley malt syrup is low glycemic and I'm learning ways to incorporate it into our diet. So far we have used it to sweeten homemade almond butter--it comes out very stiff but tastes great!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eden Foods Organic Barley Malt Syrup -- 1.4 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
minuteman
fromsouth Mississippi
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Eden Barley Malt
 August 6, 2008
"I use this product in making homemade beer. The quality and taste are excellent, and very consistent. It is very rich and thick, with a pleasant malt odor and flavor.
I recommend this product, for home brewers, or for those seeking an alternative to sugar for sweetening.
minuteman
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.