Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Castor & Pollux Red Rover Pet Toy Moose -- 1 Toy

Au Naturel Series with Squeaker Inside. Red Rover Toys are hand made durable soft and squeak when chewed and hugged which is a lot of fun for dogs but sort of annoying to humans.  Just thought you would want to know.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
6 out of 8(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Castor & Pollux Red Rover Pet Toy Moose -- 1 Toy
Review 1 for Castor & Pollux Red Rover Pet Toy Moose -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MissingMaui
fromHarmony, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Favorite toy - by far!!
 July 6, 2013
"We have an almost-4-year-old, 55 lb, Australian Cattle Dog (a red heeler quite possibly mixed with a bit of shepherd) and "Moosey" is by far her favorite toy. She plays with it so much and so hard that, yes, it occasionally will open up at a seam, especially near the squeaker. But I have upholstery thread that I stitch it back up with and it's good for another few weeks before “Moosey” is making another trip to our home “ER” for a few more stiches. We soon purchased another so we could trade off while one was being repaired or drying out.
We'll throw "Moosey" and our dog will chase after it, grab it near the squeaker, shake it all around while constantly squeaking it (this is the one toy we don't find the squeaking sound annoying.) She then brings it back and either drops it at our feet so we can throw it again or plays tug-of-war with us! Our dog not only plays with "Moosey," butt will also sleep with it, use it as a pillow, cuddle with it and toss it up in the air herself when no one else can throw it around with her. “Moosey’s” been quite the sturdy companion. After a year though, one of the "Moosey's" is about ready for permanent retirement so we want to purchase a few more. Vitacost has the best price, by far, (first one was purchased at Whole Foods) but, unfortunately, Vitacost is currently out of stock. Hopefully, they will get more in soon. All-in-all, despite the occasional repairs, this is the best toy yet for our dog."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Castor & Pollux Red Rover Pet Toy Moose -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rosebud1305
fromAustin TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good even though it was gutted
 June 13, 2013
"My dog really likes this toy. Unfortunately I think that maybe it was not sewn completely as in the middle of its "belly" there was an opening that didn't have any stitching and didn't look like it was torn open by my dog. It almost seems like that's where they stuffed it and it didn't get sewn up. No matter as she loves to toss it around even without stuffing but am thinking of getting a second one to see if it lasts."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Castor & Pollux Red Rover Pet Toy Moose -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
memaandpapa
fromIllinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Dog Toy!
 October 3, 2011
"This toy has held up with two small dogs and humans playing tug of war with it for over a month. Plus, it looks just like it did when it was first purchased. It even came with an 100% unconditional guarantee.
I have purchased two of them, so far, & will continue to buy products from this company in the future.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Castor & Pollux Red Rover Pet Toy Moose -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kelsinator
fromFletcher, NC
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
one tough toy
 July 23, 2010
"This is a great toy! Our Paco has had one for over 6 months and it is still going strong except for the fact that the plush over where the squeaker is located is worn off where Paco bites on the squeaker and he does that a lot, so that's not surprising. The fabric is still holding up, though. This is definitely a toy that will hold up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Castor & Pollux Red Rover Pet Toy Moose -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
virtualmom
A little odd shaped for a moose
 June 11, 2010
"But my son and his fiance's black Flat coat lab loves his moose and goes around squeaking it like crazy. And it is not an annoying squeak either. And it is a very durable moose."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Castor & Pollux Red Rover Pet Toy Moose -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
RawVeganGirl
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
My Dog the Destroyer
 October 20, 2008
"First let me preface this by saying that my dog is not your average dog. She is a Dachshund and seems to be cross-bred with an alligator. She got about 5 minutes of enjoyment out of this toy before I found her removing its white fluffy entrails to get to the "heart" of the toy, which is the squeaker. My dog does this to every toy that has a squeaker, ripping out the stuffing and then removing the squeaker and completely demolishing it, removing all possibility of sound. Then she'll go back to chewing and drooling on the fabric. Perhaps it is because she finds the squeaker annoying just as I do.
I enjoyed watching her have fun with it for 5 minutes while it remained intact. I don't even understand how she got it open. It's not like she has opposable thumbs or anything. If your dog is respectful to toys, this will work great for you; it seemed to be solidly built. Unfortunately it did not withstand the Dachshund Proof test for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Castor & Pollux Red Rover Pet Toy Moose -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wuestman
fromFlorida
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Squeaks!!
 October 10, 2008
"Thought this was a pretty good squeaky toy.
Unless ya squint a little, it doesn't really look like a moose, but then, my dog has never seen a real moose so how would he know? Now.... I do leave the TV on for him sometimes and he likes documentaries so there may have been something about Capreolinae on Discovery channel, but it squeaks so he doesn't seem to mind.
After some time the stitching on the bottom gave way and the squeaker fell out. Since the toy no longer squeaked, looks were again a factor. I had to block Discovery channel so my dog wouldn't be able to compare.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Castor & Pollux Red Rover Pet Toy Moose -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
rosesim5
fromPA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Toy lasted one day
 April 24, 2008
"I have two Westies and they destroyed this toy just playing with it. I was watching them and took it away.
They had the stuffing out of it in less than 5 mins of play.
It said it was a tuff toy..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.