Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz

Environmentally friendly and natural botanicals. Ark’s Neem “Protect” Spray is environmentally friendly gentle and a non-drying formula for pets including: dogs cats and horses. It’s perfect for animals with skin and coat issues including insect bites and skin and coat irritation. The active ingredients in our spray are Neem and citronella. Neem is a tree native to the Indian subcontinent. Neem has been used for thousands of years by the people of India Southeast Asia and Africa.  In the natural product world it has many uses. Specially formulated for Ark Naturals by our herbal scientist and veterinarian using premium natural botanical extracts. Neem oil may help reduce the risk of infections itching and dermatitis from insect bites. The Neem tree is native to the Indian subcontinent it's a member of the mahogany family and is a tall spreading tree with white flowers -- very often used as a shade tree. Both Neem seeds and leaves contain unique phytochemical properties that have many uses in the 'natural' world. Neem is a popular medicinal plant in India and other places where the tree grows. Ayurveda the traditional Indian system of medicine lists over 60 applications for neem. Modern research has confirmed that Neem seed oil and leaf extracts are anti-bacterial anti-viral and have wound healing properties. The primary active phytochemical in Neem oil and extracts are a group of related compounds called 'azadirachtins'
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
15 out of 18(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TCfan
fromTraverse City, MI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Love this product
 May 11, 2012
"Our scotty hates flies/bugs buzzing around her ears. this product keeps them away!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sbomb
 August 28, 2011
"Overall a good product but it smells very strongly like citronella."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
STLmom
fromSTL, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Itchy Scratchies BE GONE!
 July 9, 2010
"Simply the best, for you pets, for your kids, for YOURSELF!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Krat828
fromBelle MEad, NJ
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good value and effectiveness thus far.
 April 16, 2010
"I have a lot to say about this product. The first thing is that it costs me over 200 a year to keep my dog on frontline. This stiff costs me much less. I would say 3 bottles a year at most would cover it. Also, any product that makes fleas drop dead by biting your pet means there blood stream must be jacked up with chemicals in order for that to take place. I don't want that for my dog. Yes, this stuff has a strong smell. But commonsense will tell you that bugs don't like bad smells just like us. Spray it outside and let your pet dry in the sun before bringing them back inside. I cover my dog with this really well, let her dry and than the smell honestly does not bother me at all. My family does not complain either. Effectiveness? So far, I have been using over winter and until mid April. No fleas seen at all. One tick stuck on a sucked blood on the area on her neck where I did not spray. I promise, if my dog gets infested with fleas after being sprayed with this, I will come back on here and say so. It is mid April 2010. Think of all the poisons you are keeping your dog from by not using Frontline. Yes, this is a commitment as you must spray weekly, but you will be happy for the money you save as well."
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shamrog
fromRedwood City, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Too Pungent
 November 21, 2009
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Although I generally like Ark Naturals, I was very disappointed with the Neem Spray.
The first time I used it I made the mistake of spraying it on my dog in the bedroom at night. Not only did he loathe it, but the bedroom reeked for many hours. It was so pungent that I finally had to open the windows so I could sleep.
The next time I used it, in conjunction with the Ark Natural Shampoo, I sprayed it on a cloth and rubbed it into my dog's fur. Even this way he loathed it and as before ran around the bedroom trying to rub the spray off on the carpet and bed.
I didn't find it was that effective at keeping fleas off Seamus anyway."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SignedbyHim
Great for Children too!
 October 12, 2009
"I use this on my granddaughter and well as my dog! It works well and has a very pleasant smell!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Backache
Found second usage for product
 September 18, 2009
"It also works on plants to kill aphids."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Saraswati
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
natural flea spray
 September 10, 2009
"smells too strongly of citronella for my taste--prefer the smell of neem oil straight--like the fact that it's safe, soothing on irritated skin, and all natural..."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
TrueReview
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Not so great
 June 29, 2009
"I tried this & found it barely worked at all AND the smell is so strong, it gave me a sore throat & burning nasal passages even though I left my dogs outside in an attempt to allow it to dissipate somewhat.
I'd never buy it again. Waste of money.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Vdogs
Doesn't work against ticks!!!
 March 31, 2009
"I bought this product to keep ticks off my dogs - it had the opposite effect! I've never pulled off so many ticks!!!!! And my car and house still stink the day after I sprayed it on them - YUCKO! I'll stick w/ the Burts Bees product, thanks, it may cost more, but it works and smells nice!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
melamarus
fromFL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
it doesn't kill fleas but it keeps them away.
 March 19, 2009
"i love it because it's not poisonous at all. If your dogs get fleas, get rid of them with a shampoo...then when they dry, spray them with this to keep fleas away. It works."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LacysMom
fromLake Placid, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Keep your pet safe
 September 1, 2008
"We have used this for several years on our German Shepherd. We live in SW Florida and mosquitoes are terrible this time of year. She doesn't like to be sprayed so I spray a paper towel and wipe her down especially her legs face and ears and it keeps the mosquitoes and biting flies off of her. You should not use regular OFF on your pets and this is completely natural. I use it on myself too and it works great."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3Goldens
Excellent Flea Repellant
 June 27, 2008
"I bought this mainly to use on my Golden Retriever as a flea repellant. I love the fact that it's natural & doesn't cause any irritation. I only have to spray it on her once per week to maintain its effectiveness! It doesn't leave any residue in her hair, it's stinky for a little while but the smell goes away, & its safe & gentle. This is a definite repurchase for me."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bettalivin
fromMcDonough, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good product
 June 3, 2008
"I use it on my cat and dog when I see them scratching and it seems to help."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AbsolutelyNoone
fromSaugerties, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good Results So Far
 May 29, 2008
"We've been using this spray for a couple of weeks now. The smell isn't bad although you do get a big whiff of citronella after you spray it. Our cat hates to get sprayed of course but he hasn't had any side effects from it. If anything, his coat is softer and he smells better. To top it off, he's scratching less and I've noticed less fleas in the house. We'll continue to use it and hope that the good results continue."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Murlynne
Didn't work for what I wanted it to
 September 25, 2007
"I originally got this for my dog who constantly itches. Apparently he's allergic to this, too - he got hives! But - my husband was spraying our field for weeds and his legs were eaten up by bugs. He couldn't sleep, so I had him spray this on his legs and he was asleep within 5 minutes. So - it is good for bug bites!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Ark Naturals Neem Protect Spray -- 8 fl oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product