Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Aids or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz

Eden Organic Kuzu Root Starch is a versatile superior thickener that doesn't separate after cooking like others.  Great for sauces pie fillings gravy desserts and soups.  Kuzu is a long valued health food for soothing the stomach and strengthening the intestines.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
d8agrl
fromSnowflake, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Healthy & Deliciously!
 September 7, 2014
"Easy to work with, Soup, gravy"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AllyTheNatureVegan
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
It works
 May 26, 2014
"It definitely works, just gotta mix it with a liquid and boil it for it to thicken. For the amount you get though, I'd probably just go with arrowroot next time, unless you specifically need kuzu starch"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
food4life12345
fromwalnut creek, ca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
works great... use it in my macrobiotic cooking
 October 7, 2013
"works great... use it in my macrobiotic cooking 2-3 times daily. is a great product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fakeleg
fromPiedmont, SD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
It is a healthy product!
 September 2, 2013
"This is a costly product but it is cheaper here than anywhere else I have found. It is great to use for a thickening agent. I also make a drink with it, olive oil, salt, and fresh lemon."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LilyP
fromNew Zealand
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
GOOD FOR ONES INTESTINAL HEALTH
 May 2, 2013
"I read up on kuzu root and chose it as a thickener as opposed to cornflour etc as it is good for ones intestinal health, I only wish this was not so expensive !
Product thickens well, have used in sweet n sour sauces.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
3 / 5
3 / 5
23skidoo
alternative thickener
 February 4, 2010
"kudzu starch is a healthy way to thicken soups, jellies etc.. It is a stomach soother and works well in cooking."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
petruska
fromSC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
A great thickner
 May 3, 2009
"My husband likes pie. I find using this with fresh fruit, makes him a good topping-pie without the crust. If one has sugar problems they need to be careful, it can cause sugar levels to rise. I find it is a great substitute thickener."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LALanie
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Healthier Than Cornstarch
 September 6, 2008
"I do a lot of cooking from scratch. I bought this to try as it is high in fiber. Kuzu is great for thickening stews, sauces, soups, anything where you want more body/thickness and no added taste. It is also clear. One of my quick desserts (less than 5 minutes) is to make a topping for assorted frozen berries. Using a colander, I run water over the frozen fruit to 'defrost'. In a sauce pan heat on med/low heat (about 2 tblsp or so) butter/coconut oil, then stir in about 1/8 c of honey or other sweetener. Kuzu as pkg directs (1-2 tblsp or more) and stir well into the hot butter mixture, then slowly add milk or substitute stirring constantly over med/low heat to desired consistency. Pour directly over fruit. The heat from the sauce cools nicely on the cold fruit. You can also add vanilla flavoring or other spice like nutmeg or cinnamon to your sauce. It's yummy!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Eden Foods Organic Kuzu Root Starch -- 3.5 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product