Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Dried Veggie Snacks or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz

A seaweed gelatin substitute that is:. Low sodium. Fat free. Easy to use. Kosher.   Eden Agar Agar Flakes (Kanten) is a vegetable gelatin made of a variety of sea vegetables with strong thickening properties.  The seaweeds are boiled to a gel pressed dried and crushed into flakes. Perfect for desserts pie fillings jellies custards puddings parfaits fruit or vegetable aspics and more. The flakes dissolve in hot liquids and thicken as they cool.
Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 14(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Review 1 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
subirous
Gender:Female
Great product!
 April 3, 2014
"This is so awesome! It takes such a small amount to thicken liquids. Just be sure to thoroughly dissolve it and you won't be disappointed. I will definitely be buying more."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BohemianBaby
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazing
 February 22, 2014
"Use as directed. Thickens great and adds a nutritional/therapeutic aspect as Agar Agar is a seaweed and is quite nutritious."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CamilleL
fromArcade, NY
Gender:Female
Makes a great jello
 February 22, 2014
"I make my own grapejuice, then use Agar Agar to make jello. It's a hit with the whole family. It's also good with a pudding recipe I have using Agar Agar and kudzu. I love this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sundi
fromAustin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product, thank you vitacost
 October 12, 2013
"I've always liked Eden as a brand and their agar flakes are no exception. The quality is far better to anything else I've ever found. Vitacost makes purchasing easy with good prices and reasonable ship times. Thank you, Vitacost and Eden Foods."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shukradevi
fromSouth Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great thickening alternative for vegan raw foodies
 April 18, 2013
"Makes a delicious banana "cream" pie!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
earthygirl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 December 9, 2012
"This product works. Follow the directions for propoer usage. I use agar agar to thicken my yogurt. This product does not leave an after-taste, and it does not make my yogurt lumpy. Using this agar agar is a great way to cook without artificial thickeners, dyes, or additives."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AllyTheNatureVegan
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I LOVE THIS STUFF
 September 13, 2012
"This stuff is FANTASTIC for making pudding. The package was smaller than I thought though. I just wish more came in the package because it is a bit expensive which is understandable, but Eden is a great company!
Combine 1 tbs of this and 1 1/2 cups almond milk, let it sit for 5 mins, bring to a boil, simmer for 5 mins, cool for five mins, fridge for about an hour, blend and you're done! Just add whatever sweeteners or fruits you want :)"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WillieG51
fromCanton, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great for creating
 July 2, 2012
"I've used agar before, and I swear you can literally gel water if you wanted. I've used it on any number of things, and it works wonderfully. The price here at Vitacost is great, making it more affordable to use. Now it doesn't get in exactly the same way as "gelatin" does, but it adds no taste. Just be sure you dissolve it as much as possible before adding it to your mixture. It's an amazing product and no carbs for those looking for low carb recipes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sgrplm
fromCalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great thickener
 February 21, 2012
"This is the best price! I use this over gelatin(blah)."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taste:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SisG1
eden Agar Flakes
 January 15, 2012
"It's too small an amount for the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cheeto
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Use in vegan recipes
 July 21, 2011
"Agar yields stronger jelling than the traditional gelatin. Being a seaweed product, it is rich in iodine & has some trace minerals.
It can also be added to whipping cream & egg whites when beating them. Barry Farms website has relevant information for using agar in a variety of ways. As usual, Vitacost offers agar at a great price.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hopeithelps
fromflorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
sea vegetables
 December 26, 2010
"we use sea vegetables A LOT! in all kinds of meals whether cooked or raw. learning to use it instead of salt is great idea!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
butterflyhigh
fromNorth Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
using for low carb
 October 18, 2010
"I purchased this to use as a thickener as my husband is doing the Atkins diet and cornstarch is awful for carbs. So far I've used this in Shrimp Bisque and also in Tacos (I made my own seasoning). It worked great and I plan to continue using this product as a thickener. I would recommend."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eden Foods Agar Agar Sea Vegetable Flakes -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KittyBee
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Well.....
 July 19, 2009
"Here was my plan: Buy Agar Agar and 100% pure cherry juice concentrate and make cherry jello. My jello turned out okay except I don't think I boiled the water and agar long enough becuase it seemed as though there was clear 'rice' in my jello and it had a very unpleasant consistency. I will simmer longer next time and try to dissolve all of the agar. The top layer of my 'jello' was very good, until you dipped down into the little 'rice' peices that didn't dissolve. I only used a tiny bit of the package so I will be able to experiment now. Firmed up nicely with no taste except that of the cherry juice."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.