Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Mood Health or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules

All-natural herb and amino acid formula combines St. John’s Wort and 5-HTP to support mental well-being.*. What is Vitacost Mood Plus†? Vitacost Mood Plus† is an all-natural combination formula that supplies 210 mg of St. John’s Wort with 100 mg of 5-HTP. St. John's wort (Hypericum perforatum) is an herb that has been used for 2000 years for health purposes. The genus name Hypericum is from the Latin word hyper meaning "above" and icum meaning "spirit." The species name perforatum refers to puncture-like black marks on the underside of the plant's leaves. St. John’s wort especially its tiny yellow flowers is a natural source of hypericin and other flavonoid (antioxidant) compounds. Hypericin a natural pigment and the active ingredient in St. John’s wort has become the subject of intensive biochemical research over the past three decades. 5-Hydroxytryptophan or 5-HTP is an amino acid that converts to serotonin in the body. Serotonin is a substance that acts as a neurotransmitter or chemical that helps relay signals from one area of the brain to another. How do St. John’s wort and 5-HTP support health? St. John’s wort supports mental and emotional well-being.*. 5-HTP can elevate levels of serotonin which is associated with good mood in humans.*. 5-HTP can increase a sense of well-being.*. Why choose Vitacost Mood Plus†? Unique formula combines St. John’s Wort and 5-HTP in one convenient formula. Contains 60 servings per bottle. Incredible value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . †* These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
11 out of 14(79%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
denise2cu
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Did not work for me
 May 5, 2014
"Did not have the affect i was hoping for."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MindBodySpirit
fromDelray Beach, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Don't be fooled by price...this is a life saver!
 April 22, 2014
"I was looking for a cheaper alternative to the $65 bottle supplement from Apex Energetics that I was using for serotonin support. This Mood Plus has very similar ingredients and turns out has worked just as good as the expensive Apex product. I will continue to buy these for as long as I need them :-)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JCP2012
fromboise
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
love this product.
 January 1, 2014
"This helps me get through the winter blues! Thank you VitaCost!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rpisces
fromSan Diego, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love it!
 November 21, 2013
"Love that it has both St. John's Wort and 5-HTP!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JKRacing
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Takes the edge off!
 September 17, 2012
"I work an off shift and that normally means choppy or not enough sleep. I bought this product to see if it could help to take the edge off some days when sleep isn't that abundant or life is just piling on.
I've taken it for about 6 or 7 weeks now and there is a slight difference. It's not the euphoria I was hoping for but there are times when I know I would have blown my stack before and now it better.
Placebo effect or actual results? Don't know - don't care - I'm still going to take it since either way it's helping me.
I seem to get a little bit of seasonal depression in the fall so we'll see if it helps with that. Also I read that this can make some people drowsy, so I take it before bed just in case it does it works to my advantage."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
getfunky
fromCO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
feel better!
 May 29, 2012
"I definately feel a difference when I take these. Kinda pricey, but worth it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
zackd
frommass
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
eh
 July 12, 2011
"notice little difference if any. Not worth the money."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
dukren
No effect
 May 19, 2011
"haven't seen or felt any difference taking these supplements."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2BabyMama
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Stress Buster!
 August 12, 2010
"Excellent product if you are under a lot of stress, and these days, that's most of us! While the price is great, I find it a better value to purchase the 5-HTP and St.John's Wort separately. But if you want value and the convenience of a combined product, then buy this! It's a lifesaver! It keeps me calm when my children are pushing my buttons. I can address any stressful situation more calmly when taking this product. Highly recommended."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
beah
fromHouston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great value, effective
 October 12, 2009
"This product is very effective. The only drawback is that I must eat when I take it or I feel a bit nauseous for awhile. Other than that, I can tell a calming and balancing effect within a day or two. The longer you take it, the more effective it is."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chrell
fromAtlanta, Ga
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
save pill volume, and money
 February 8, 2009
"Such a good idea to combine suplements thae are better taken together in one pill!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Mood Plus† with St. John's Wort & 5-HTP -- 60 Capsules
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product