Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(491)
Amino Acids(1,283)
Calcium(3,416)
CoQ10(2,285)
Coconut Oil(3,018)
EFAs(3,305)
Fish Oil(1,427)
Iron(505)
Krill Oil(707)
Magnesium(1,617)
Melatonin(980)
Multivitamins(10,621)
Omega-3(4,619)
Algae(716)
Bee Pollen(258)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(82)
Chitosan(39)
Chlorella(127)
Choline(123)
Collagen(202)
Colostrum(169)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(363)
DMAE(73)
EFAs(103)
EpiCor(28)
FOS(2)
GABA(154)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(32)
Iodine(40)
L-Lysine(142)
L-Theanine(191)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(218)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(308)
Lycopene(89)
MSM(368)
NADH(44)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(68)
Pycnogenol(128)
Quercetin(122)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(97)
Taurine(73)
Yeast(69)
Probiotics(4,662)
SAMe(534)
Spirulina(78)
Vitamin A(127)
Vitamin B(4,228)
Vitamin C(2,573)
Vitamin D(2,247)
Vitamin E(456)
Vitamin K(241)
Whole Foods(1,138)
Zinc(332)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Betaine Hydrochloric Acid or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules

Natural support for healthy digestive function.*. What is Vitacost Betaine HCl? Betaine is a source of hydrochloric acid or stomach acid. Betaine HCl supplements are typically used to increase levels of hydrochloric acid in the stomach. This formula also contains pepsin a digestive enzyme that assists with the digestion of protein.  . How does Vitacost Betaine HCl support health? Designed to support the stomach’s digestive capacity for individuals lacking sufficient stomach acid.*. May be used at mealtimes to support the acid needs of digestion.*. Certain health challenges may require supplementing with HCl for proper digestion.*. Why choose Vitacost Betaine HCl? Combines betaine HCl and pepsin. A better value when compared to other brands. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
41 out of 44(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
SupplementforHealth
Beware - Contains Diary
 July 17, 2014
"This Vitacost product contains Diary. Several other name brands are derived from sugar beets and have no diary and a lot less fillers."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigCitySF
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
If you have Acid Reflux, this will help!
 May 28, 2014
"If you have Acid Reflux, I highly recommend trying this supplement. It supports your digestive system and for me, it really works. I no longer have the symptoms of Acid Reflux (or they are very minor) after using this with dinner."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
judgeit
fromnewberg or.
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
a great product
 May 3, 2014
"I was using an expensive most pure best product which worked good . I tried tbis product and had same and maybe better results"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cindar
fromEverett, Wa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
seems to help digestion
 January 2, 2014
"I have a difficult time with digesting my food and this seems to help."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoeStak
fromBoston
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Betaine HCL makes a big difference!
 December 13, 2013
"Since I've added 2 Betaine HCL capsules with each meal that I eat protein it feels like the whole meal gets through me quicker and easier. I don't have the bloat I used to have."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Uchkuduk
fromGlenview, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Terrible smell
 September 30, 2013
"I was buying this product few times before, but the last time it was a disaster. Pills smelled so terrible that I had to throw away a whole bottle! When I opened the other one ( I ordered two), same story. I was really disappointed by the quality of the product. Don't recommend to buy it until Vitacost fix the problem...."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mrothhb
fromHermosa Beach, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Quality has decreased over the years.
 August 21, 2013
"I have been using this product for some time now. I have also noticed within the past 6 - 8 months, the overall quality of this supplement has dramatically decreased. The past 3 - 4 orders i have received, the capsules were a dark yellowish, spotted discoloration, and the bottle/pills gave off a foul odor.
This was never an issue in the past.
My guess is because of how well this product used* to work, more people started purchasing it. Now the demand for more has forced Vitacost to use a different/cheaper supplier of Betaine HCl, and the consequences are a lower quality product (this happened with Solaray Betaine HCL) . That or they are selling expired supplements. Either way, this needs to get fixed quick, otherwise I'm going back to Swanson Betaine Hcl."
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alicatdt
fromMeridian, Texas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
It Works!!!!
 August 20, 2013
"I take one in the morning with all my meds and vitamins. I am 66 years old and NEVER have heartburn like all my friends. It works. It's the best thing I've ever used for heartburn or poor digestion. Can't say enough good about this product. Vitacost has the best prices."
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
gabcab71
fromVermont
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Betaine HCI with Pepsin (with reservations)
 August 1, 2013
"I've been using this product from Vitacost for some time now. I reported that my previous order of two bottles had an unusual and unpleasant odor and rec'd a refund. Thank you. I ordered two more bottles and they also have the same unusual and unpleasant odor. Since I have no option but to use the product ...I kept them and am using them but I am not happy with the odor. Vitacost...please find out why this product smells. It would increase my confidence in your company and products. Thank you."
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camino3
fromVA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works well for what it's intended
 May 19, 2013
"If you have poor digestion due to low stomach acid, this product is the best solution. Be sure to take it just before you eat. One capsule before each meal was sufficient for me. Any brand works well but this one is the most cost-effective. The capsules worked better for me than tablets."
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
aliw
fromAustralia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
for indigestion
 May 12, 2013
"My ND ask me to get some HCL to help my digestion. I have slow digestion and sometimes reflux if my meal is a bit big. So now I keep it not too big and have HCL with it, to help with digestion. so I do not feel the dinner just sits there and still feel full the next morning. I like the price, it is the same as the others which is more expensive, it does the job."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erroll
Works for me.
 February 22, 2013
"I first read about Betaine HCL in books by the famous Dr. Joel Wallach and I have been using it ever since to increase digestion thus preventing acid reflux and heart burn after a heavy meal. I purchased the Vitacost Betaine HCL with Pepsin because of the reasonable pricing and found the quality to be good."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
soccerplaya
fromVirginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great value, great quality
 January 18, 2013
"I've bought 3-4 bottles now. I always come back to Vitacost because their value and quality can't be beat.
I've been taking these for digestion and fatigue. I have currently tapered down from 8 to 6 capsules with meals. While they haven't "fixed" me completely, I'm convinced they're vital for me right now.
I'm dealing with a lot of food intolerances, so I don't expect it to solve all my problems. It does what it's supposed to."
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stumpymeadow
fromseymour tn
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
great price for the quantity of product
 January 15, 2013
"Best price I could find for the volume of product per capsule and number of capsules"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BxrLv
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
HCL with Pepsin
 November 1, 2012
"I bought them for my brother. Funds are tight for him and I was looking for a reasonably priced product that also "works". They are working well for him. We both suffer from low stomach acid and low digestive enzymes. It has helped him tremendously!!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joyful236
fromStrongsville, OH
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Product Betaine Hydrocholo=
 October 14, 2012
"This is one product that helps me with digestion. I don't seem to be able to use diigestive ensymes. The Betaine HCl with Pepsin helps me with bloating if I overeat."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanaDiegoAgain
fromSan Diego
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellant.... as always!
 October 11, 2012
"Every single VitaCost brand product has been a SUPER value in cost and potency and their Betain HCL is not different. I am quickly abandoning my previous "name brand" regulars for VitaCost items. COOL!!!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sherryskincare
fromIowa
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great product, great price
 September 20, 2012
"Supports my digestion and I feel so much better when taking this with protein meals."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sylviag
fromVista,CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
high quality,best price
 August 25, 2012
"HCL--When I first heard about the benefits of taking HCL I was not so sure it was a good idea. After much research I did buy from another source and found that it did help me tremendously. Then I took my daughter's advice and started to purchase my vitamins thru Vitacost. This is one of the many vitamins, supplements that my husband and I take and we are very pleased with the quality and the price--Excellent speedy delivery too!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Betaine HCl with Pepsin -- 650 mg - 250 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
writing4life
fromSouthern Calif.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good product
 August 21, 2012
"I have difficulty digesting protein and added HCl several years ago. This brand isn't as strong as another one I've tried, but it isn't available on Vitacost.com. However, this Vitacost HCl works well enough."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next