Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Probiotic Combinations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules

Ultimate Probiotic Formula. 15 Billion Probiotic Cells Daily. 13 Beneficial Cultures with HSOs. Supports Normal Intestinal Function & Regularity. Vegetarian • Gluten Free. The Digestive Health Connection. All organs and systems rely on the health of the digestive tract. Proper digestion is essential for the body to absorb and utilize the nutrients it needs. In addition 75% of the cells necessary for the immune system to function effectively are connected to the gastrointestinal tract.  . Probiotics: Critical For Good Health. Probiotics ("Pro"=Positive "Biotic"=Life) are living microflora that play a critical role in maintaining good health. Present in many live foods but destroyed by heat processing live probiotic cultures populate the intestinal tract where they play a positive role in digestive and immune health.  . Broad Spectrum Protection. Primal Defense Ultra is the ultimate broad-spectrum probiotic formula made to provide 15 billion live cells per daily amount and 13 species of beneficial cultures including soil-based probiotics called Homeostatic® Soil Organisms (HSOs). Primal Defense Ultra nourishes and supports healthy intestinal epithelium lining integrity the front line for the body's defense system and promotes healthy intestinal comfort and function.  . Jordan Rubin formulated Primal Defense Ultra to be the ultimate high potency broad-spectrum probiotic formula. Delivers 15 billion probiotc cells daily. Formulated with 13 beneficial cultures with HSOs. Includes S. boulardii to nourish and support a healthy intestinal wall the front line for the body's defense system. Provides probiotc synergy and compatibility - Bacillus subtillis for promotion of Bifidobacterium and Lactobacillus beneficial bacteria growth. Supports normal absorption and assimilation of nutrients. Promotes healthy bacteria counts and pH levels in the gut. Helps maintain a healthy intestinal bacteria balance. Maintains intestinal comfort and health. May help alleviate occasional gas bloating or traveler's diarrhea. Helps maintain a healthy balanced immune system. Thrives in the toughest digestive environments undeterred by stomach and bile acids. Creates an inhospitable environment for antagonistic or undesirable microorganisms. Supports normal digestion of dairy products. BioProtect® Packaging System for optimum ingredient freshness and potency
Overall rating:
4.933 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
30 out of 30(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Review 1 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
squappa
fine product
 April 20, 2014
"This worked as it should - no complaints."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eve36
fromCanada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
very effective
 April 15, 2014
"I have tried several brands. This one is the best I have used. I feel much more alert and regular and "in tune" when I use this probiotic. I feel the difference when I don't take it for a few days - so now I make sure not to run out! Well worth the cost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luggy
fromWisconsin
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Ultra Primal Defence
 April 1, 2014
"I have been taking these for several years and they do work"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RockyN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra
 March 24, 2014
"This is a very good probiotic. I have been told to rotate probiotics so the bacteria doesn't get comfortable. Keep it guessing. I never use the same brand back to back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ssquist
fromssquist@hotmail.com
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The best probiotic available!
 January 1, 2014
"In my opinion, Garden of Life is the best supplement company on the market. This was the first product I tried. Their quality is superior. I love this probiotic. I love that I don't have to keep it refrigerated and can take it anywhere with me. My husband and I take it everyday for maintenance. It keeps our digestive systems in balance."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KK38
fromnew zealand
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Help with indigestion
 December 15, 2013
"I used to experience indigestion a lot. since I started to take this product. I hardly experience indigestion problem. I have also recommended my friend and it also helped him greatly. I tried Primal Defense HSO. It is a bit cheaper, but it doesn't seem to work as well as this one."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CrohnsGuy
Garden of Life
 September 21, 2009
"Admittedly, I was a bit skeptical of the product, but Garden of Life has done it again. I really feel like the probiotics make a difference in my overall digestive health. If you are in need of some high quality probiotics, then I highly recommend Primal Defense."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
esperance
fromHouston, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Terrific!
 September 13, 2009
"Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra is a great product. Originally recommended to me by my chiropractor, I have been healthier than ever before."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
InLakech
fromfort worth, tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
the best
 July 15, 2009
"plain n simple. this stuff is the best on the market. read about the ingredients and how they are made. it is the top probiotic out there"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stella123
fromSan Diego
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
The best probiotic
 October 19, 2008
"This is one of the best, if not THE best probiotics ever. It combines ionic plant based minerals with a vast array of probiotics. I definitely notice a big difference when I take these."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ruby75
fromBay Area, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
One of my favorite products
 August 8, 2008
"I've been using this product for almost a year now. Before that, I was taking probiotic supplements from another company. This product is gentle on my system which is really important to me. I take it every morning and during the afternoon, both on an empty stomach with a glass of water. I don't eat anything for at least 30 minutes after that. I think this product has contributed to keeping my gastrointestinal tract healthy and regular. Also, I have noticed that my complexion looks clearer. I gave some to a friend and he said that his complexion has improved too. I will continue to keep using this product even though it's more expensive than the others on the market because I think it's high quality."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
erind
The best!
 May 23, 2008
"The truly believe Jordans products are superior. I have been taking this product for about 3 years now and although it is a little pricey his products work in a way that keeps me coming back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jeliejolie
fromMadison, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
a necessity!
 February 1, 2008
"This is a fantastic product, which I keep purchasing for my family and myself. I wish this is less explensive so that I can give my friends who I love for gift."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bekitab
fromNC
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Detoxify
 January 31, 2008
"This product works wonders. It is great at keeping your intestines full of healthy floura. I know it helps my body remove unwanted toxins. It is on my list of have to haves."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KenG
fromBroomfield, Co
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Product
 December 18, 2007
"I definately recommend the Primal Defense Ultra.
My grandson is also using to help with his digestion and bowls. I will continue to use and recommend this to others.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wisconsindidi
fromWisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Probiotic from a reputable company
 October 23, 2007
"My acupuncturist recommended this product and Garden of Life products, in particular. I am very satisfied with this item and know that I am improving my body's ability to function properly as a result of taking this particular probiotic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SIMS
Good product
 October 10, 2007
"My wife and I take them daily and have had better overall immune function ever since. Also, she no longer has digestive problems which plagued her before taking probiotics."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovesign
Greatest stuff ever
 August 11, 2007
"This product is one of the best products we have ever used. We are so regular and feel like we are giving our bodies what they need. The price is unbeatable at Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lilraguo
fromCalifornia
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent Product
 July 28, 2007
"It Works For Me I Would Recommend It!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra -- 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Serioli
Well Worth it
 June 25, 2007
"I have been using this product for over one year now and it has done wonders for my digestion. In particular the 180 capsule jar is worth the price. Less hassle of having to order extra after a month."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next