Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Organic Beauty or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz

Uplifting. Repairs Skin Damage from Environmental Stressors. Smoothes and Softens Skin. Leaves Skin Silky and Well Hydrated without a Greasy Residue. Desert Essence Organics Spicy Vanilla Chai Hand and Body Lotion contains organic Shea Butter and organic Jojoba Oil to deeply hydrate leaving skin soft and smooth. Organic Black Tea and organic Vanilla Extract are packed with antioxidants to protect skin.
Overall rating:
4.411 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
47 out of 56(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KatRene
fromSpokane, WA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Lovely!
 January 18, 2014
"As another reviewer said, you will either love this or hate this. I love the smell, a wonderful spicy scent that works well with my body chemistry. I'm not into very "foody" scents, so I do not care for most vanilla-scented items. This, however, has enough spice to make it more sultry and unique. Another bonus is the formula, which is organic and free of harmful chemicals. It is a great moisturizer without being heavy or greasy, and I feel safe putting it on my body. If you are a fan of this lotion/scent, please try the Alaffia Black Soap in Savanna Spice! They really compliment each other."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keaki
fromWisconsin
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Dessert Essence
 November 29, 2013
"I am never without this lotion. I even purchase it as gifts and everyone loves it as the fragrance is soft and wonderful. The best part is, it's good for your skin and contains organic ingredients. Dessert Essence wins again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OnlyMeandYou
fromCA
Great lotion overall
 June 26, 2013
"Smells incredible and yet subtle. Absorbs quickly, works great on dry areas of skin. Favorite hand lotion too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kaleidoscope
fromUnited States
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 June 12, 2013
"This lotion works perfectly when my skin needs light hydration. It's very lightweight and absorbs quickly. I don't think I would find it quite as useful in the winter, but for the warmer months, it's perfect."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GW2013
fromDenver, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells wonderful!
 May 14, 2013
"Not overpowering. Absorbs easily and moisturizes great. My favorite scent in their line of lotions. People always ask what it is because they say it smells so wonderful."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
OneidaGirl
fromOneida, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Just Average Lotion
 April 8, 2013
"I like the vanilla chai scent, but this lotion just seems to soak in and disappear. It doesn't seem to moisturize much."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrsC93
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very good hand and body lotion
 March 28, 2013
"This was the first Desert Essence product that I purchased. I was looking for a completely gluten-free body lotion and Desert Essence is free of gluten and so many other things that don't need to be put on our skin. I liked the smell and feel of this lotion. It is not greasy at all. Makes your skin feel pampered! I did react to the tea that is in this product and so, I have switch to Desert Essence unscented body lotion and have had no problems with it. Still would recommend this lotion, (even though it didn't work for me to use it), and all Desert Essence beauty care products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
iammamacoley
fromManti, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 February 11, 2013
"I really like this lotion. It is one that none of my family have any reaction to, and the ingredients make me feel a little more comfortable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runt13
fromMontana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Get some!
 February 10, 2013
"Wow! This is my favorite scent of the Desert Essence line. It is the perfect combo of spice, sweet and vanilla. It almost seems you could eat the stuff! I'm one that can't tolerate a flowery scent and this is so much more lush anyway. "Creamy" is a good way to describe not only the scent, but its properties as well. Goes on nice, not greasy and my skin thanks me! Yours will too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
abriejane
fromThomasville, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazing!
 November 5, 2012
"I was looking for a gluten free body lotion and I LOVE the smell of chai. I couldn't wait to get this in - and it did not disappoint. It smells absolutely amazing! It isn't too heavy and the fragrance isn't too overwhelming once you put it on. It's perfect and I will definitely be ordering it again. :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
acaciagriffin
fromPa.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful
 August 4, 2012
"I love this product. I have been using Vanilla Chai Lotion for years. I use it everywhere, hands, body, face and neck, goes on easily, never sticky or greasy, and smells wonderful!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Julieee
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
HORRIBLE SMELL!
 July 18, 2012
"I would really love to give this lotion a try but i just can't stand the strong smell! I am a huge fan of vanilla lotions but this smelled more like gingerbread, it has a really spicy and strong scent. I would never use this lotion ever again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
testr
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Spicy formula = bad smell
 March 21, 2012
"I used the love the smell, but the new formula smells really weird. It's a pity they changed it. Before it smelled like vanilla and tea. Now it smells too much like clove and the smell is too strong to wear it during the day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
beckles
fromMelbourne, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Key Word: SPICY!
 February 1, 2012
"Did not see the "spicy" in the main title, so thought would be getting a vanilla typed smell lotion, not the case. I love, love all Desert Essence products, but the smell of this one is very overpowering with clove..if you love the smell of clove, this is for you, but me, not so much, can not smell any vanilla, only clove..did I mention the smell of clove? Yes, clove, all clove"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Genegenie
fromLawrenceville, nj
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
chai vanilla scent,lotion
 January 25, 2012
"Love the smell & feel of this lotion. Cannot wait to buy the body wash in this scent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raintown
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good Effect
 October 30, 2011
"This lotion has a long-lasting effect, both in feel and visually. My hands feel comfortable without being greasy and look less wrinkly long after applying it. There is also a fragrance-free type that is just as good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
happytimes
fromohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 July 16, 2011
"Great organic product. I wish it was a little more moisturizing but it does a pretty good job.
Soaks in nice.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
janetandrandy
fromBothell, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Desert Essence Organics LOVE IT
 May 19, 2011
"I have been using this lotion for 4 years or so and it is lovely!! Smells great and works even better!! Hands don't stay greasy, rub in well and it all evaporates into your skin!! I use it for my hands, arms and elbows and I love it!!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
stinky08
fromPA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
te BEST smelling lotion!
 March 3, 2011
"I have been using this hand lotion for a few years and absolutley LOVE the smell!! I am a nurse and wash my hands very often so I do reapply seveal times a day but don't mind due to the lovely scent!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Hand and Body Lotion Organics Vanilla Chai -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jelk
smells yummy
 February 14, 2011
"My kids and I love this hand lotion. It smells like delicious chai tea, and soaks in to leave hands smooth but not greasy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next