Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz

  Desert Essence Organics Red Raspberry Shampoo is a gentle but effective cleansing system based on sugar and coconut oil. Organic Red Raspberry Leaf Extract works to clarify the hair and imparts a natural shine.  . Sugar and coconut oil cleansers: Gently lift and remove everyday environmental pollutants without removing hair's natural oils. Organic Red Raspberry Leaf Extract: Rich in vitamins A and C calcium and magnesium Organic Red Raspberry Leaf Extract strengthens hair and imparts a natural shine.
Overall rating:
4.232 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
48 out of 56(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonzai6
fromCalgary, AB, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Cleans well, smells great!
 May 1, 2015
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I have dryer, thick color treated hair (blonde). This cleans beautifully! I condition with Desert Essence Coconut Conditioner, which locks in the moisture! I love these products from Desert Essence because they are natural and work amazingly! Highly Recommend!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dd2u
fromCleveland, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My personal new favorite from Desert Essence
 April 17, 2015
"After trying many natural shampoos, I discovered Desert Essence, which I thought was way too fragrant to be truly healthy. Wrong! I tried the coconut shampoo, as well as apple...which are both great, but this is my new favorite. (same with the conditioner) At 46, I've noticed my hair getting much more dry the past year or so, even with haircuts and not ever dying my hair. (which is a light auburn/brown, straight, long--and I've been told over the years that I have fine hair, but just a lot of it---mix in the red strands---very resistant to even curling) I felt the Red Raspberry conditioner was hands above the best conditioner for my type of hair, and now the matching shampoo makes it a perfect set. I've even given two sets to my mom & my cousin to try--who love them as well."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Southerngospelgirl
fromChattanooga, Tn
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Just ok
 March 31, 2015
"Like I said about the corresponding conditioner- this shampoo smells great, just like fresh raspberries. But other than that, there is nothing super special about this shampoo. It doesn't really make my hair shiny like it claims, but it does work to clean my hair. So if you need a basic shampoo that smells good, you might like this but it leaves some to be desired."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tazchick50
fromRomeoville, illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Ok, but I like the coconut better
 November 5, 2014
"I tried the coconut scent of this brand and fell in love. I like to change up my shampoo and decided to try this one. Even though it says it adds shine, it dried out my hair. The conditioner does replace some of the moisture, but not as much as I would expect. My city water is hard & may be a part of the issue. This one is not the right one for me but may work better for someone else."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hulahooper
fromCA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Adult son loves it
 October 8, 2014
"My 30+ son loves this shampoo and conditioner. He has very thick, curly hair, sometimes pretty long. His scalp can be a bit oily too. He liked the coconut line's fragrance and conditioning, but said that it made his hair get oily too fast. The raspberry works, so I order it for him regularly. The smell is nice too (as are most of the Desert Essences hair and body care products). Vitacost prices are the best!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
suescorner
fromCarlsbad NM
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
NOT ORGANIC
 September 9, 2014
"I bought this b/c vitacost has been out of my Juice Organics Pomegranate Shampoo... which IS an organic shampoo... This dessert Essence shampoo is NOT. It has one or two organic ingredients, but it's not organic... I threw it in the trash... very disappointed that I somehow missed read the info..."
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
slsmwc
fromOKC, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works well
 August 20, 2014
"This shampoo does a good job of cleansing without being over-drying. Smells good. Would purchase again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twinmomma
Makes my hair feel great!
 July 11, 2014
"Love this shampoo. It suds up well and leaves my hair feeling clean and fresh."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sensitiv8
fromGermany
Decent ingredients, works well
 May 12, 2014
"I really try to make sure there are no questionable ingredients in my products, so I'm very picky. This does still have some questionable ingredients, like Sodium Coco-Sulfate and Lauryl glucoside, but it cleans hair pretty well and the smell is amazing. The ingredients could be much worse."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
oversleeping
fromnorthern CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
nice shampoo, but harsh on scalp
 May 1, 2014
"Definitely lvs. hair shiny, pleasant to use, but like many D.E. shampoos, drying for scalp."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NeverPost
fromSteeler country
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Smells great and...
 April 29, 2014
"actually makes your hair shine. This is my favorite of the Desert Organics shampoos."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DELover
Recommended
 April 15, 2014
"This product, like all Desert Essence products, work well without all the chemicals used in typical shampoos. The only downside to me is that the scent, while still raspberry-ish, has a bit of a chemically smell to it, though, I do have a very sensitive sniffer. Others may not notice it much at all."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rissbee
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product
 March 17, 2014
"I love this shampoo. I like the scent and it cleanses my hair perfectly and does not leave a weird residue once I rinse it out. This shampoo is nice to use with the Desert Essence Organic Conditioner, together these products work very nicely and leave me hair feeling very soft, smooth and shiny."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MAG212
fromPahrump, NV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best shampoo!
 March 17, 2014
"I started using Desert Essence Organic shampoo and conditioner a while back. My original reason for buy this product was because it was certified as a NON-GMO hair product.
This product has caused my hair to become more healthier and stronger. I am always getting complements concerning the condition of my hair. Inquiries as to how I get my hair to look so healthy and beautiful. I highly recommend Desert Essence Organic shampoo & conditioner for all hair types. Additionally I use their lemon shampoo & conditioner.
Even my friends have started using this product.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HoneyBird
fromIL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Nice
 February 28, 2014
"I can't say I really notice any extra shine, but it's still a good shampoo. I have a sensitive scalp, and this shampoo does not bother it at all. Nice subtle fragrance. I do prefer the grape version, but this one is a good back up. Raspberry conditioner is great too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JewelBox
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Gives definition to my long hair
 December 7, 2013
"I REALLY, REALLY like this shampoo. I also bought the conditioner and it's the first conditioner that doesn't leave my hair icky. :) I especially like it because I have a few layers in my hair and they seem to be really defined with this shampoo. I have somewhat oily hair and I only have to wash my hair every 3 days with this shampoo. Love it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
justmekimc
fromRoseville CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smells good
 November 29, 2013
"Smells good, works good on my thick curly hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ScarDiary
fromAmarillo, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful
 September 17, 2013
"The smell is nice, and my hair, overall, looks and feels clean. It doesn't weigh your hair down and it does add a little shine. I have colored hair, but this shampoo still made it clean without stripping it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sondancer
fromDeep South
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo----my favorite!
 September 16, 2013
"This shampoo leaves my hair shiny, not dried out. Takes only a little to get lots of lather. I have very fine hair, color treated, and it works well for me. I have been using this a couple of years, and see no reason to change."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Organic Shampoo Shine for All Hair Types Red Raspberry -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
AbbeyG
Desert Essence
 August 22, 2013
"Desert Essence is a perfect name for this product - it made my hair dry and brittle."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next